lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: 3-D Space Battles!!! yes!!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-03-2005, 04:03 PM   #1
Nairb Notneb
Forumite
 
Nairb Notneb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: My House
Posts: 669
3-D Space Battles!!! yes!!

What else can I say but thank you!!! Then one down side to this RTS is that evidently there will only be two major civ's. But evidently the effort has been put into the 3-D graphics and then hopefully into the game itself.

Let the early speculation begin.

From our friend DMUK, he has stated that there is Space and ground features in this game. What else do we know besides the near November release date? I suppose that by making a great game based on this time frame, they can always go back and create other RTS games with the same engine in other time periods, prequels, etc., and sell more games and make more money. Good idea I guess. Why put all of your eggs in one game.


Go big or go home.
Nairb Notneb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2005, 03:50 AM   #2
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
As in like homeworld?
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2005, 04:06 AM   #3
Com Raven
Silent Assassin
 
Com Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fortress Europe
Posts: 4,745
LFN Staff Member Hot Topic Starter 
Question is whether it has "true" 3d battles like homeworld, or something along the lines of Conquest.


Back from the dead, back from The End
I'm here to take Revenge!
Soon the deathly dusk will fall
and the Night I've waited for
Com Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2005, 09:25 AM   #4
Nairb Notneb
Forumite
 
Nairb Notneb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: My House
Posts: 669
The big trick will to seamlessly move from space combat to planetary combat and vice versa and still be in the same game.

Question: Will it be possible to have ground and space combats going on at the same time at a planet?

Example: ROTJ and the Battle of Endor????


Go big or go home.
Nairb Notneb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2005, 09:30 AM   #5
Jan Gaarni
Grand Moff
 
Jan Gaarni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5,806
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
My guess is, you'll have to secure the space above before you move to the surface.

But that's just a guess, from thinking not to over complicate the gameplay.

I'm thinking it might be somewhat in the line of Imperium Galactica.
I liked that game, and wished it would be set in the Star Wars universe.
I actually hoped Rebellion was gonna turn out like that one, but I was alittle disappointed it wasn't.

Still, that was a fun game. A small feature I liked about that one was the ability to name my star destroyers.

My hugeass starship list came in good use there.
It even grew as I dug up more and more names from the Star Wars Universe.

I actually hope they insert this small feature into the game, gonna make me love it that much more.




Empire At War Moderator
&
SWGalaxies Moderator

- What we do in life, echoes in eternity!
- May the pants be with you!

A smile is the shortest distance between people - Victor Borge!


Custom Avatar by Wraith 8
Jan Gaarni is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2005, 09:49 AM   #6
Nairb Notneb
Forumite
 
Nairb Notneb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: My House
Posts: 669
Quote:
Originally posted by Jan Gaarni
A small feature I liked about that one was the ability to name my star destroyers.
I agree. I always named my fleets and my ships. I always wanted to name my fighter squadrons too, but couldn't. That will be a plus. Somebody needs to forward Petroglyph this forum so our great ideas will be incorporated.


Go big or go home.
Nairb Notneb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2005, 10:34 AM   #7
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
You can do that in BFME's single player campaign.

It's a very fun, small, simple, yet cool element to add.


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2005, 11:28 AM   #8
Samnmax221
I never Kipled
 
Samnmax221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My hovercraft is full of eels
Posts: 5,784
Current Game: Sex with women
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
It would be nice

but lucasarts never listens to its fans
Samnmax221 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2005, 02:01 PM   #9
Nokill
Veteran
 
Nokill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 832
cool looking space battles whit many grafics and S*T
i hope this will be it
and that the gameplay will be realy good so its easy to play but you keep a lot of options of what you can all do whit your ships and stuf it woud also be nice to be able to have big stardestroyers and then let them launch small tie fighters and boord ships and take over rebbel ships and stuf..... im getting a little carrie'd away i think



Site: Clicky
Nokill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2005, 03:24 PM   #10
Nairb Notneb
Forumite
 
Nairb Notneb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: My House
Posts: 669
Boarding other capitol ships would be a great option, however, I don't think that will happen, but too bad for us.


Go big or go home.
Nairb Notneb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2005, 06:36 PM   #11
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
Maybe you wouldn't be able to control the troops boarding a starship but you could capture enemy vessels using that method.

One thing I learned from my days of the X Wing serie is how to board enemy ships.

Ion canons+boarding vessel.


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2005, 11:02 PM   #12
darthfergie
Q-38 Modulator
 
darthfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,254
LFN Staff Member 
seems like it's gonna be 3D like most of the top down RTSs out there...and not 3D like homeworld...
more of a ST: Armada feel...
it'll be interesting to see how they use starfighters in this game...to see what kind of a role they will play, since starfighters play an extrodinarily pivotal role in the Star Wars universe as opposed to many other sci-fi worlds.


darthfergie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2005, 05:19 AM   #13
Nokill
Veteran
 
Nokill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 832
it woud be nice that a stardestroyer coud also use a tractor beem to get ships in there cargo hall and then take over the ship and if the litle ship is smart thay put comando troops in the ship and thay take over the stardestroyer instead
that woud also be a nice option to fight big fleets whit a few small ships
a good option for the rebbels



Site: Clicky
Nokill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2005, 05:52 AM   #14
Jan Gaarni
Grand Moff
 
Jan Gaarni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5,806
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
With the potential to have around 9000 troops on the star destroyers (seen in the movies) that would be an incredible feat.

And that's not counting the security force that would obviously already be on the ship.




Empire At War Moderator
&
SWGalaxies Moderator

- What we do in life, echoes in eternity!
- May the pants be with you!

A smile is the shortest distance between people - Victor Borge!


Custom Avatar by Wraith 8
Jan Gaarni is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2005, 05:57 AM   #15
Nokill
Veteran
 
Nokill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 832
well if the ship is under fire and many ppl on the ship are dieing then a squad can take over the ship
otherewayes you coud make a squad place boms in the ship and blow it and themselfs up if there to slow



Site: Clicky
Nokill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2005, 07:07 AM   #16
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
Well in Tie Fighter the biggest ship you captured were some med-size freighters I believe. I don't think we can actually expect to capture and SSD. Well that would be crazy.


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2005, 11:15 AM   #17
Samuel Dravis
 
Samuel Dravis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,973
It would take forever. :P


"Words are deeds." - Wittgenstein
Samuel Dravis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2005, 07:49 PM   #18
Nokill
Veteran
 
Nokill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 832
not if that yust make it drive into a Deathstar



Site: Clicky
Nokill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2005, 12:02 PM   #19
Nairb Notneb
Forumite
 
Nairb Notneb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: My House
Posts: 669
I agree with LIAYD. There can be standard basic assaults commands (like boarding a ship, sabotage, etc) that you simply give a command to do and then you never see any action on. Maybe you have a fighter squadron that you assign the mission to, like a Death Star Trench Run, or a kamikaze strike into a SD shield generator. They would be simple to establish in the game.


Go big or go home.
Nairb Notneb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2005, 12:06 PM   #20
Jan Gaarni
Grand Moff
 
Jan Gaarni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5,806
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
And, it's been done in the past: Rebellion.

So we know it's possible.




Empire At War Moderator
&
SWGalaxies Moderator

- What we do in life, echoes in eternity!
- May the pants be with you!

A smile is the shortest distance between people - Victor Borge!


Custom Avatar by Wraith 8
Jan Gaarni is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2005, 07:27 AM   #21
Nairb Notneb
Forumite
 
Nairb Notneb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: My House
Posts: 669
That is exactly what I had in mind. The espionage and sabotage missions that Rebellion had too could be considered.


Go big or go home.
Nairb Notneb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2005, 08:15 AM   #22
Nokill
Veteran
 
Nokill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 832
is there even one guy from a lucasart game reading post on this forum btw?
if there is i woud like to say listen TO US!



Site: Clicky
Nokill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2005, 08:28 AM   #23
DK_Viceroy
Viceroy of the Truist Way
 
DK_Viceroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: My Secret Island Base Plotting World Domination
Posts: 1,313
Someone did mention somewhere that Big Battles may not be nessacery due to raids and the like, perhaps this is also hinting at Espionage


I AM the prophet of the truth the protector of Star Wars Truism

Star Wars Truism by it's very nature is eternal and will outlive Star Wars Purism

Everything I say is a lie for the Truth is always greater than the words we use to describe it

Do you have any last words?

DK_Viceroy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2005, 06:46 PM   #24
jokemaster
The master of jokes
 
jokemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,748
Roleplayer 
I read in Computer Gaming World that the space battles are 3D graphics based on a 2D plane, so basically you control everything in 2D, but the action happens in 3D, for example, you can only click go here in 1 altitude, but when the X-Wing goes there or attacks soemthing, it moves in 3D.


Vader's wife was very pregnant when she died 19 years ago. All of a sudden a 19 year old who is very strong in the force and has a distinct resembalance to him in his younger days rolls in from Vader's home planet with his old Master Obi-Wan (Who was the ONLY other person preset at the time his wife died. And to boot, the kid's last name is Skywalker.

So in answer to your question, he knew Luke was his son because his name is Darth Vader, and not Darth Retard.


-Forum post on why Vader knew Luke was his son.
jokemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-13-2005, 07:40 AM   #25
Nairb Notneb
Forumite
 
Nairb Notneb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: My House
Posts: 669
Then it is not really in 3-D, it only looks like it is.


Go big or go home.
Nairb Notneb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-13-2005, 07:58 AM   #26
starmark2k
Someone's Worse Nightmare
 
starmark2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DTC
Posts: 2,830
LFN Staff Member Roleplayer 
Question

Do you think that you will have to buy fighters or will they be already in the capital ships. will you be able to just control a single fighter or do you need to control squadron. i know that no one actually knows but what do you think and what would you prefer.
starmark2k is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-13-2005, 08:25 AM   #27
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
hmmm... the space battls might be like Star Trek: Armada 2.

And it would make sense to control a group of fighters. It'd get a bit too micro-managing trying to ocntrol wings of TIEs as well as other ships.
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-13-2005, 08:29 AM   #28
starmark2k
Someone's Worse Nightmare
 
starmark2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DTC
Posts: 2,830
LFN Staff Member Roleplayer 
looking at the screens it dosan't look much like armada 2 and seems completely original.
starmark2k is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-13-2005, 12:40 PM   #29
jokemaster
The master of jokes
 
jokemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,748
Roleplayer 
According to the magazine, it's Armada, but better.

Also, you can attack specific parts of larger ships, like engines, hangars and weapons systems.

I also read that you build fighters at bases and space stations, so I guess you build them then station them on a certain ship. Or the game does it automatically.


Vader's wife was very pregnant when she died 19 years ago. All of a sudden a 19 year old who is very strong in the force and has a distinct resembalance to him in his younger days rolls in from Vader's home planet with his old Master Obi-Wan (Who was the ONLY other person preset at the time his wife died. And to boot, the kid's last name is Skywalker.

So in answer to your question, he knew Luke was his son because his name is Darth Vader, and not Darth Retard.


-Forum post on why Vader knew Luke was his son.
jokemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-14-2005, 07:41 AM   #30
Nairb Notneb
Forumite
 
Nairb Notneb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: My House
Posts: 669
I am assuming that the strategy to this game will be in the logistics planning, how you manage your galactic resources and how you move/place your military. Just like in real life.

I would guess that the fighters will be automated. You will probably give out a command to a wing or group of fighters and they will then follow your orders. I think that the capitol ships might work in a similar fashion. The space battles will probably function with the player being in the role of an admilral barking out commands to the crews and pilots.


Go big or go home.
Nairb Notneb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-14-2005, 12:20 PM   #31
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
Seriously, I'm happy that they go the Armada way and not the Homeworld way. I was always annoyed with the camera and spent more time on the tactical map then actually watching my fighters in full 3D flying around.


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-14-2005, 01:24 PM   #32
DarthMaulUK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
They did say that this game will be more like Homeworld, however, the camera will be totally different, so you wont get in a 'spin' and able to easily not go dizzy!


DMUK
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-14-2005, 01:58 PM   #33
Nokill
Veteran
 
Nokill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 832
if only thay woud make a radiant camera in this game *deep breath*



Site: Clicky
Nokill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Galactic Discussion > 3-D Space Battles!!! yes!!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.