lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Area Modeling Effects
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-19-2015, 06:51 PM   #1
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 992
Helpful! 
Area Modeling Effects

Hey guys, I know it's been a while but I do in fact still toy around with this stuff. Right now I'm working on a more "vivid" void world like the one we saw in KOTOR with the mystery box you pick up on the Ebon Hawk.

It's supposed to be something that looks like it's way on out in space on a very small asteroid. Something barely the size of a typical lot. I'm at having a few other asteroids floating around but I do have a few questions as far as adding in some nifty effects.



1. Pool of Water - How do I go about creating a nicely animated pool of water? There is a small platform which will be accessed by a bridge going across a small trench. I would like that trench to be filled with water.

2. Waterfall - How do I create a waterfall? I want a stationary asteroid which will be very close but above main asteroid you are standing on. I would like to have the waterfall come out of the asteroid above you and land in the pool of water.

3. Water Crest - How do I create a water crest as though water is beginning to rush off the edge of the asteroid you are currently standing on? I'd like to create the illusion that the water will overflow and fall right out into space.

4. Moving Models - How do I make models follow a certain path as well as rotate? I'd like to have other asteroids rotating on their axis as well as following a path as though they are in orbit around the main asteroid you are standing on.



Any help is greatly appreciated.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2015, 09:38 PM   #2
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sleheyron
Posts: 1,804
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
1. Pool of Water - How do I go about creating a nicely animated pool of water? There is a small platform which will be accessed by a bridge going across a small trench. I would like that trench to be filled with water.

2. Waterfall - How do I create a waterfall? I want a stationary asteroid which will be very close but above main asteroid you are standing on. I would like to have the waterfall come out of the asteroid above you and land in the pool of water.

3. Water Crest - How do I create a water crest as though water is beginning to rush off the edge of the asteroid you are currently standing on? I'd like to create the illusion that the water will overflow and fall right out into space.

4. Moving Models - How do I make models follow a certain path as well as rotate? I'd like to have other asteroids rotating on their axis as well as following a path as though they are in orbit around the main asteroid you are standing on.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
1. Probably doable with textures like the water texture on Manaan or the Unknown world. A plane or other flat surface would probably work for this.

2. Again, probably doable by using the waterfall texture from Dantooine. I'd advise importing the Dantooine area models and having a look at the geometry for them. Additionally, placing an emitter at the base and maybe to top would help too. You can reference the ones from Dantooine in KAurora.

3 and 4. I'm fairly certain you won't be able to do either of these. 3 sounds out of the Odyssey engine's league. I don't even know how you'd go about doing that. 4 should technically be feasible, but for some reason I cannot get area models to animate at all. I've tried a number of times, but I have yet to export an area model with animations. But, to animate that, you'd basically set up the path of the asteroids, and then add the rotation as part of the animation. Then, theoretically you'd use MDLOps to compile it. However, as I said, may or may not work for you. I've tried this before and it hasn't worked for me yet.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2015, 09:45 PM   #3
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 992
Helpful! 
Hmmm, maybe the moving asteroids will work if I create separate walkmeshes and export the asteroids as NPCs. That way I can just have them walk waypoints...
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2015, 09:47 PM   #4
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sleheyron
Posts: 1,804
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
That's one way to do it if you don't overlap the walkmeshes. It would still be potentially difficult to make them spin though.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2015, 10:13 PM   #5
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 992
Helpful! 
Well I'm thinking about taking the spinning effect out and just make them move around.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2015, 11:16 PM   #6
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,288
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Animated Placeables will be the easiest to implement.

VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-21-2015, 03:48 AM   #7
Fair Strides 2
Witty Programmer
 
Fair Strides 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 675
Current Game: Master of Orion 2
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by VarsityPuppet View Post
Animated Placeables will be the easiest to implement.
Especially since they'd be able to rotate and move around.


All of my mods are available on Deadlystream.

Always remember modders: "Quality= Effort*Time"

KSE 3.3.4 is LIVE!!! Check it out here.

Check out WalkSwitch, the Walkmesh-changing tool!
Fair Strides 2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-21-2015, 08:25 AM   #8
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sleheyron
Posts: 1,804
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by VarsityPuppet View Post
Animated Placeables will be the easiest to implement.
The problem that I've encountered when trying to do this is that the placeable (or door for that matter) disappears in game when the camera rotates very far past one of the visual hooks or dummies. If you have a placeable or door larger than a few meters wide, this is an incredibly annoying problem.

But if anyone knows the solution, please inform me by all means, I'd really like to hear it.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-21-2015, 08:43 PM   #9
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,288
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
If it's far enough away from the main accessible area, shouldn't have any issues.

For the HK factory, as an example, I redid the moving factory lines with a placeable. (For start/stop animation). Seems to work

VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2015, 12:38 AM   #10
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sleheyron
Posts: 1,804
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Actually, today, I was doing some testing on the Sleheyron door. By adding two additional "lookathook" dummies 10 meters on either side of the door in the ASCII file, I was able to rectify this problem. It still registers the original dummy as the one that gets highlighted for selection and all, but the camera/field of view responds to all three. So no more disappearing door, which was highly distracting in my opinion.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2015, 05:57 PM   #11
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,288
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Bead used this solution once, but I think they have to be pretty far away to ensure it works for certain

VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2015, 09:25 PM   #12
newbiemodder
Gentleman Modder
 
newbiemodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 710
Veteran Modder 
When I was trying to create a Mos Eisley for K2
Show spoiler


The ships I created were 'creatures'. I clipped a ship from an existing module and gave it a take off or landing animation in gmax. it would successfully loop during gameplay. Similar idea to creating a placeable. I just had to create the animation within the context of the new area.


Who's more foolish, the fool or the fool that follows?

Just exactly what is a head-piece to the Staff of Ra?

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206819

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206541

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...t=newbiemodder
newbiemodder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2015, 10:42 AM   #13
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sleheyron
Posts: 1,804
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by newbiemodder View Post
The ships I created were 'creatures'. I clipped a ship from an existing module and gave it a take off or landing animation in gmax. it would successfully loop during gameplay. Similar idea to creating a placeable. I just had to create the animation within the context of the new area.
Interesting, I wasn't aware that making an animation as a creature rather than a placeable would work. I will have to try this out. That will definitely work for any area animations.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Area Modeling Effects

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.