lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: My First Mod!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-27-2005, 05:22 PM   #1
PaNzEr gsp
Lurker
 
PaNzEr gsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On An Unknown Planet
Posts: 8
Post My First Mod!

MY first mod should be able for download around Sunday of this weekend if all goes well! It is called Endor: Plains. (sounds contradictory ) It can be played as either CGW or CW. I'm not positive if I should put in vehicles in the map other than speeder bikes. ( It might make it unfair )

Here are a few screen shots:
[url]http://img179.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img179&image=screenshot_0000.jpg
There is a small plateau in one corner
http://img179.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img1...nshot_0001.jpg
A Trading village in another corner
http://img179.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img1...nshot_0002.jpg
A forest in another
http://img179.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img1...nshot_0004.jpg
And a soon to be lake in the final corner. (having trouble with water)


But I have run into a problem:
http://img179.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img1...nshot_0003.jpg
I put a platform on the plateau, but when an NPC walks onto it, they cant get off. (If there's a solution, please tell me)

I'll post any updates or delays ASAP.

Post any coments or Ideas thanks!

Download here


http://pcgamemods.com/10008/


:


Last edited by PaNzEr gsp; 01-30-2005 at 09:35 AM.
PaNzEr gsp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2005, 05:24 PM   #2
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
'Tis looking good!
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2005, 05:26 PM   #3
PaNzEr gsp
Lurker
 
PaNzEr gsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On An Unknown Planet
Posts: 8
I also was wondering:
Whenever I play I am either rebels or CIS. Is there a way to change this?


:

PaNzEr gsp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2005, 06:24 PM   #4
RebelScum!
Forumite
 
RebelScum!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Front Line next to Tk-8252
Posts: 600
Niceness with the map and to answer you question no idea

Wamp-a Wampa


Join the BBF

SWbattlefront name:RebelScum!
Check out my Site
Avatar by Astrotoy7
RebelScum! is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2005, 09:25 AM   #5
PaNzEr gsp
Lurker
 
PaNzEr gsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On An Unknown Planet
Posts: 8
My beta version is up for download at this site.

http://pcgamemods.com/10008/

Please give me some Ideas for improvement. I also need an idea for something to put behind the Kashyyk buildings. Thanks for the feedback.
I think that I should put flyers in, but I'm not sure.


:


Last edited by PaNzEr gsp; 01-30-2005 at 09:40 AM.
PaNzEr gsp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2005, 09:39 AM   #6
Nokill
Veteran
 
Nokill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 832
looks pretty nice ill give it a try



Site: Clicky
Nokill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2005, 11:03 AM   #7
BeBop
Rookie
 
BeBop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Section 9 Public Security
Posts: 221
Well I've played it a good amount of times and It's not bad at all. Good Job. Here's a list of good and bad things I found with it and some suggestions:

Pros:

-Lots of AI Units that's always nice.
-Good AI in most areas.
-Hectic battle at those ruins always takes place. The Ruins make for a good comabt location too.
-Fair amount of hills with out being too hilly.
-The forest over at the Clone/Empire Start CP is designed nicely (Dissipating as it gets closer to the plains)

Cons:

-While there is lots of AI the Reinforcement count is kind of low so the battles end somewhat quickly.
-The Plains themselves could use more vegetation like grass or bushes (that can be walked through) scattered here and there.
-There is no ramp that allows people to walk onto the platform at the Rebel/CIS start CP. (Which I think is the cause of AI getting stuck on it)
-For some reason, sometimes when I play as Clones or Empire All Command posts are captured very quickly by them resulting in a very short battle. I'm not sure what causes this though.

Glitches:

-Every time I play at least one pilot on the Clone/Empire side will get stuck underneath the tree that has the platform with the Med and ammo droids and the turret. I beleive he's trying to build the turret but doesn't know to go up the ramp.
-Every time I play at least one pilot on the Rebel/CIS side will get stuck outside one of the buildings connected to the platform at the Start CP of the Rebels/CIS. Again I beleive he's trying to build the turret housed inside those buildings.
-AI on the Empire/Clone side often gets stuck running against the bushes in the forest. Most of the time they get out of it though. Minor Glitch

Overall I think it is a nice map. I personally would like to see some scattered vegetation here and there on the plains themselves. And Maybe some more tress on the edges of the map. I don't think Vehicles should be added aside from speeders but thats just me. As stated above I beleive the reason AI gets stuck on the platform may be lack of a ramp that leads off. But that's just a theory. Anyway, Nice map for a beta, Keep up the good work.


Tackle Cuddle!
BeBop is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2005, 11:13 AM   #8
PaNzEr gsp
Lurker
 
PaNzEr gsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On An Unknown Planet
Posts: 8
Thanks for the feedback! I am going to work on it some more, and add most of the stuff you talk about. Thanks a bunch!



:

PaNzEr gsp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2005, 01:15 PM   #9
The Air
Rookie
 
The Air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally posted by PaNzEr gsp
I also was wondering:
Whenever I play I am either rebels or CIS. Is there a way to change this?
Click the reinforcements counter before you spawn(even if you're partway thru the level). but you cant change teams in galactic conqest or historical campaign.
The Air is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2005, 04:39 PM   #10
PaNzEr gsp
Lurker
 
PaNzEr gsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On An Unknown Planet
Posts: 8
I have just released version .5 of my map. I have made a few changes which include replacing the tat villiage and the ruins with some kashyyk buildings. This is because I have changed the map name to Kashyyk: Plains. Please download at.

http://pcgamemods.com/10021/



:

PaNzEr gsp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2005, 05:56 PM   #11
PaNzEr gsp
Lurker
 
PaNzEr gsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On An Unknown Planet
Posts: 8
This is version .99 of my first map Kashyyk: Plains. It can be played either CW or GCW, and includes vehicles. I strongly reccomend it and have gotten some good feedback.

I cant wait to hear your feedback!

Updates that will be in v 1.0:
A movie
More foilege
CP Renamed (for some reason localizing isn't working )
And more!

Download link is:
http://pcgamemods.com/10075/


:

PaNzEr gsp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Modding & Editing > My First Mod!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.