lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: PLZ HELP Dark screen
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-11-2005, 09:41 AM   #1
adey12
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 127
PLZ HELP Dark screen

Hi i just bought KOTOR 2 for the PC today and i can load up the main menu and i can see the traditional Yellow writing at the start of the game, I can also see an Ebon Hawk fly to some planet but then the screen stays dark and all i can hear is music.

I meet the minimul conditions, my ****ty Radeon 9500 is the only think with a yellow warning sign next to it.

Does any one here play this game with a radeon 9500 with no porblems ?

i hav tried all settings to low but no luck

I can also play kotor 1 with no problems
adey12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2005, 09:45 AM   #2
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Update your drivers. I heard there were some problems with the latest Catalyst drivers (5.1 and 5.2) but I am running the game with Catalyst 4.11 (I have an ATI 9800 PRO 128 MB) and have not experienced any issue yet.


Moving this thread to the work bench.
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2005, 09:45 AM   #3
RasputinX
Rookie
 
RasputinX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 15
Silly question, but this might help...

Do you have the most recent drivers for your card?

www.ati.com
RasputinX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2005, 09:49 AM   #4
Darth Smaug
Veteran
 
Darth Smaug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Elnor
Posts: 864
Have you hit the Configure buton on the screen? then you see if your PC stats match the game..


I'm floating, and something's reaching out.
Darth Smaug is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2005, 07:10 PM   #5
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
@ Darth Smaug-
the configure button doesn't do anything that you can't do from the tsl game menu under options.

@adey12-
heh, i had the same problem trying to start tsl after the first couple of tries.

but, as pointed out by RasputinX, the latest catalyst drivers (5.2) should work for tsl. if not, i recommend using either 4.11 (recommended by Darth333) or the 4.3 catalyst drivers. this should solve your problem.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2005, 10:07 PM   #6
adey12
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 127
thanks everyone for the quick responce, getting the 5.2 video drivers worked.

This game so far is great i love the beginning much better than KOTOR 1

Im a Jedi Sential playing as a goody !

I unfortually have one problem left when i saved and exited the game to windows XP i could not load my save game it gets half way through and the very common windows box pops and
"this program has had a problem"
Any one had this problem ?

does this sound like a reinstall job ?
adey12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2005, 04:46 AM   #7
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
hmm, i haven't encountered that problem yet. and no, i don't think you should try re-installing the game. i have a feeling the game is fine, unless you've been messing with the actual kotor 2 program files.

your best bet: try loading the autosave, if you played the game long enough to get one. otherwise, that means you're going to have to start over.

sorry if i can't offer much more help than that.

edit: the windows pop-up box just simply means that the game crashed on you. that also means that the savegame you're trying to load is corrupted in some way.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2005, 05:35 AM   #8
adey12
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 127
i actually re-installed it and clicked the option to keep saved files and it works perfectally

i can now enjoy this great great game
adey12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > PLZ HELP Dark screen

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:34 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.