lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: can't access LF through the university...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-18-2005, 07:45 PM   #1
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
can't access LF through the university...

here's the deal: i can easily access LF at home with minimal difficulty, but for some reason, i can't access LF at all using the university's network (i say network because you still can't access LF using the campus-wide wi-fi).

all i get is a blank page with IE or Netscape telling me that its opening the page, with nothing actually being loaded even after 30-40min of time to load.

i don't think that the university has banned LF (heck, they don't even ban porn as far as i know ). so, any ideas as to the culprit??


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 04:09 AM   #2
Joshi
Registered Amuser
 
Joshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wherever the wind takes me... or failing that the nearest cinema.
Posts: 7,196
LFN Staff Member 
I've had this problem a lot lately and seeing as my only internet access is at uni, it's kinda annoying, but I always just put it down to LF downtime. Does this happen to you all the time on the uni network, or just occasionally?

Joshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 06:09 AM   #3
matt--
Network Un-exploder
 
matt--'s Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 3,573
LFN Staff Member Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally posted by Joshi
I've had this problem a lot lately and seeing as my only internet access is at uni, it's kinda annoying, but I always just put it down to LF downtime. Does this happen to you all the time on the uni network, or just occasionally?
I upgraded our database server yesterday to the latest stable version, and that was the last piece of software that was giving us real problems.

What you noticed was probably the downtime resulting from the old software giving out every few hours or so.

We should have much longer stretches without downtime now.

Sorry for any inconvenience.


LFNetwork and LucasForums.com
matt at lfnetwork dot com

Last edited by matt--; 02-20-2005 at 07:11 AM.
matt-- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 06:24 AM   #4
Joshi
Registered Amuser
 
Joshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wherever the wind takes me... or failing that the nearest cinema.
Posts: 7,196
LFN Staff Member 
I assumed as such, thanks for the response.

Joshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2005, 07:46 AM   #5
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
sweetness. i guess i'll find out for sure tommorrow.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Forum Help & Feedback Center > can't access LF through the university...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.