lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Kotor2 Crashes, Suddenly black screen.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-25-2005, 10:47 AM   #1
Spun
Rookie
 
Spun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 27
Kotor2 Crashes, Suddenly black screen.

Hi, I just bought Kotor2 jeej! ONLY, after i got home really excited, and spending 50 euro's (Live in the netherlands).
I installed it, and found it to be crashing alot! I've met the requirements way by far, I've updated every driver, and still this issues bugs me ALOT, How can i solve this? I didnt spend 50 euro's on nothing!

I also saved the list of the passed reqs, If you want to check my stuff, I can send it to you or post it in here(long one)

Thanks


I used force on a horse...
Spun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-25-2005, 11:12 AM   #2
Spun
Rookie
 
Spun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 27
SWKotOR]
ReportDateTime=25-2-2005 17:28:38
SysInfoVersion=v1.00.60
GameExists=1
GameVersion=v2.01.420
GameInstallLocation=D:\Gamez\LucasArts\SWKotOR2\

[OS]
Name=WinXP
Version=Windows XP v5.1 build 2600
Service Pack=None
Status=Pass

[SwapFiles]
E:\pagefile.sys=768

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=1916
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=10
CPUStepping=0
CPUVendor=AMD
CPUName=AMD Athlon(TM) XP 1916MHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=512
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=25.15GB
D: (NTFS), UNICODE=20.51GB
E: (NTFS), UNICODE=6.51GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=F:\,G:\,H:\,I:\
Drives=ATAPI DVD DD 2X16X4X16,PHILIPS CDD7052

[Video]
Video Card Name=NVIDIA GeForce FX 5700
Video Memory=256
Desktop Resolution=1280x1024x32 @ 60Hz
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=1.5.2
OpenGL Vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer=GeForce FX 5700/AGP/SSE/3DNOW!
NVidia Driver=6.14.10.6693
Vid Card Status=Pass
Vid Card Driver Status=Pass
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass

[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Creative EMU10K1 Audio Processor (WDM)
Status=Pass


I used force on a horse...
Spun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-25-2005, 07:07 PM   #3
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
i'm not sure if things are very different where you are, but i noticed that you don't have either Service Pack 1 or Service Pack 2 installed for Windows XP. not only is this bad for your computer's security, it also prevents DirectX 9.0c from operating correctly.

to fix this, go to www.windowsupdate.com (using Internet Explorer) and get the latest updates. as a warning: since you don't even have service pack 1, its going to probably be a 250+ MB download.

hope that helps.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2005, 04:05 AM   #4
Spun
Rookie
 
Spun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 27
After looking for 30 minutes, Now downloading service pack 1, I hope this will work, I'll get back to you. (Not a threat =p)


I used force on a horse...
Spun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2005, 08:07 AM   #5
Spun
Rookie
 
Spun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 27
Okay, I installed Service pack 1&2.
Installed the Game
---

First try, Sound hangs.
Second try, Got blackscreen after i created character, i still hear sound if i'm correct, Do not know for sure?

What must i do? This is getting really discouring, I want to play the game, Didnt pay 50 euros for it for nothing.


I used force on a horse...

Last edited by Spun; 02-26-2005 at 08:18 AM.
Spun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2005, 07:04 PM   #6
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
you might want to try re-installing your video drivers and then directx 9.0c to make sure everything is configured correctly.

for your convenience:
Forceware 66.93 for Win XP/2000

and directx 9.0c is should be on disc one of the kotor 2 install CD's.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2005, 01:40 AM   #7
Spun
Rookie
 
Spun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 27
I did, I completely wiped my PC, Reinstalled EVERYthing again, So.

Any suggestions left?


I used force on a horse...
Spun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2005, 03:04 AM   #8
Aleggy
Junior Member
 
Aleggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England
Posts: 486
Well you could take a leaf out of Zaphod Beeblebroxes book and tell your computer that if it doesnt do what you tell it to you will get a very large axe go down to its memory banks and give it a reprogramming it'll never forget

admitedly this probably will not help or solve the problem but you will feel a lot better

until you realise you'll probably have to buy a new computer because you just smashed it to pieces with an axe

but heres a link to lucas arts support page maybe it'll help
http://support.lucasarts.com/
good luck and may the force be with you


So long and thanks for all the fish

I pity the fools who have not played kotor
Aleggy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2005, 05:31 AM   #9
Spun
Rookie
 
Spun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 27
I'm already a customer there, also sended a email to them also, so..


I used force on a horse...
Spun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Kotor2 Crashes, Suddenly black screen.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.