lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: room 96 not in room 96
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-05-2005, 04:28 PM   #1
Katie_Raven
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
room 96 not in room 96

Hi,

Sorry if this is a common problem, but search isn't working at the mo'.

I've just got Monkey Island 1 (white label). It starts up fine, then I get this error message when Guybrush walks offscreen.

room 96 not in room 96 at 4697642+0 in file monkey1.00

I started it again then he did manage to get to the next screen, but then it couldn't find the SCUMM Bar room.

I tried again, and again he was stuck on the first scene.

What's going on there, then?
Katie_Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2005, 04:32 PM   #2
James Isaac
Moderator
 
James Isaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,058
LFN Staff Member 
Werr, that's wierd. I haven't heard of that problem before. Are you running it from the CD or are the files installed on your computer? (I'm assuming its CD and not on a floppy disc)

James Isaac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2005, 04:41 PM   #3
Katie_Raven
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Oh dear, I installed the two monkey files and ran it from the CD at the same time. Then I removed the files to see if it made a difference, but it didn't.
Katie_Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2005, 04:44 PM   #4
James Isaac
Moderator
 
James Isaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,058
LFN Staff Member 
Try using SCUMM VM, but I don't really see how it could help.

James Isaac is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2005, 05:01 PM   #5
Katie_Raven
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Oh dear, again. I've already got that installed.
Katie_Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2005, 05:07 PM   #6
Joshi
Registered Amuser
 
Joshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wherever the wind takes me... or failing that the nearest cinema.
Posts: 7,196
LFN Staff Member 
I'm not too familiar with the White Label version of the game, does it actually require you to install anything? Or can you just run it straight from CD? (i'd assume the latter, but like I said, I'm not too familiar with the white lable version)

edit

Okay, forget that, I looked it up, all it really needs to do is sound configuration, which I guess you've already done (if not, look at the referance in the manual). meaning that technically, there was no reason for you to copy the files, but if it's conveinient for you, there's no stopping you fron copying the files. All I can say is that if you do that, make sure you copy everything. if it's anything like my version of MI1 and 2, then the two games should be in indivisual folders on the disk which should be easily identifiable and I suggest you just copy the entire folder (note, the music on mi1 won't work without the cd in the drive).

But for now, and for your immediate problem, just try running it completely from your CD. If that doesn't work, try scummVM (linked in the above post by James Issac) and while your at it download scummvm q+e (just a frontend) from here and install it into the same folder as scummvm and then run that run the game through that.

Hope this helps.


Last edited by Joshi; 04-05-2005 at 05:21 PM.
Joshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2005, 02:54 PM   #7
Katie_Raven
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
At last,

Although it doesn't work through Scumm Q&E, it DOES work through ScummVM.

ScummVM gives you a choice of two; Monkey Island 1 and Monkey Island 1 (alt). It only works through the 'alt' one. Funny, though, as alt does come up in Scumm Q&E.

Thanks guys

Argh! Spoke too soon, it's still going mental....

Last edited by Katie_Raven; 04-06-2005 at 03:41 PM.
Katie_Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2005, 05:14 PM   #8
Joshi
Registered Amuser
 
Joshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wherever the wind takes me... or failing that the nearest cinema.
Posts: 7,196
LFN Staff Member 
Weird that it doesn't work through q+e, it'd using the same program. if it's still going weird, make sure you've got the CD path correct (or the path to the game files) and male sure all of the files are there. if there's still a problem, i'd say it's something to do with your disk (scratched, corrupted)

Joshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2005, 03:50 PM   #9
Katie_Raven
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
It's now working, I hadn't set up the file path fully though it doesn't seem to work directly from the disk.

Excellent!
Katie_Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Monkey Island Discussion > MI Chat > General MI Discussion > room 96 not in room 96

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.