lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: How do you edit units on maps?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-01-2005, 03:36 PM   #1
ZeroG24
Lurker
 
ZeroG24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4
Question How do you edit Mission LVL units?

Hi, I've just downloaded the Kashyyyk: Wookieeland map, but I would like to change the units that you can use from Alliance Soldier, Vanguard, Pilot, Marksman, Smuggler to all Wookiees, e.g. Wookiee Warrior, Rocketeer, Mechanic and Smuggler.
How would you go about doing this?

I've got the file that makes them playable on the original Kashyyyk map, during the clone wars, the one where you can play as ewoks on Endor as well, but I'm not sure how you would go about changing them on this map. I've looked at the differences between the two Mission files using Notepad and I can see what's been changed, so I opening the Wookieeland maps Mission file in Notepad and I can see the lines that relate to the units used, but when I change them to the Wookiee units and then try to load the level in instant action it crashs.

Any ideas?

PO

ZeroG

P.S. I've just downloaded the BFBuilder and if found the mission LUA files under assets, and the read me file for mission LUA shows you how to do it, but thats for maps you make not for other peoples, and besides that there are no LUA files in the map folder so what do I do, and what program should I use, because if I open the Mission LVL file with notepad the text is a mess and there's a lot of gibberish.

Last edited by ZeroG24; 05-01-2005 at 07:54 PM.
ZeroG24 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2005, 01:48 PM   #2
Leviathan
Senior Member
 
Leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Onboard the Sun Crusher
Posts: 1,008
Do you have Kashyyyk: Wookiee Land's source files ? (*.LUA, *.TER files, etc...)
Leviathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2005, 03:39 PM   #3
Baktoid OOM-9
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
if you downloaded the map you do not have the files that can be altered.

LVLs are created by lots of ODFs and other files getting packed together.

If you want to change what your talking about, try copy/pasting an ALLIANCE side.lvl (all.lvl in the side folder) and replacing the one they are using... might work.... might not.


Baktoid OOM-9 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2005, 01:09 PM   #4
Leviathan
Senior Member
 
Leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Onboard the Sun Crusher
Posts: 1,008
In fact, if you sum-up briefly, you want to change number and type of soldiers (Wookiees, Snipers, etc...) on the map you mentioned... Is it right ?
Leviathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2005, 09:07 AM   #5
ZeroG24
Lurker
 
ZeroG24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4
Quote:
Do you have Kashyyyk: Wookiee Land's source files ? (*.LUA, *.TER files, etc...)
Nope.

Quote:
if you downloaded the map you do not have the files that can be altered.

LVLs are created by lots of ODFs and other files getting packed together.

If you want to change what your talking about, try copy/pasting an ALLIANCE side.lvl (all.lvl in the side folder) and replacing the one they are using... might work.... might not.
There is no Side folder, so this won't work.

Quote:
In fact, if you sum-up briefly, you want to change number and type of soldiers (Wookiees, Snipers, etc...) on the map you mentioned... Is it right ?
In a nut shell, yes.

The reason I asked was because there must be a way of changing the Mission file, as some one changed the original Kashyyyk dock level and Endor so that you could play as Wookiees, and Ewoks respectively, so he must have cracked the original Mission file some how in order to do it, because thatís the only file you need.

e.g. You make a backup of the original Mission file and then copy paste the Wookiee/Ewok Mission file over it.

PO

P.S. I just thought it would be more fun/challenging to play as Wookiees or even Ewoks for that matter lol.
ZeroG24 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2005, 10:50 AM   #6
Leviathan
Senior Member
 
Leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Onboard the Sun Crusher
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
The reason I asked was because there must be a way of changing the Mission file, as some one changed the original Kashyyyk dock level and Endor so that you could play as Wookiees, and Ewoks respectively, so he must have cracked the original Mission file some how in order to do it, because thatís the only file you need.
"mission.req" does not have to be changed, because it does not contain the informations related to units' types and numbers... On the other hand, all map's *.LUA files must be modified to do such a thing... But if you do not have source files (*.LUA, *.ODF, etc...), you need to hex-edit "mission.lvl" to change some entries... Thus, you must change "all.lvl" or "imp.lvl" by "wok.lvl" or "ewk.lvl", etc...
Leviathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Modding & Editing > How do you edit units on maps?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.