lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Pure Pazaak: Standalone Multiplayer Pazaak!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-26-2006, 12:08 AM   #81
yunggun
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
i have an interesting problem
I cannot find the button to advance past the "deck management" screen
email me the solution
Private Message me instead.

Sorry yunggun, but we do not permit the posting of email addresses on the forums here. -RH

Last edited by RedHawke; 06-26-2006 at 01:47 AM.
yunggun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2006, 01:53 AM   #82
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by yunggun
I cannot find the button to advance past the "deck management" screen
I'm not too sure what you're referring to. The Continue button is greyed out? The Continue button isn't there at all? A screenshot would be great.

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2006, 10:48 AM   #83
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Web page update
As I've had on the webpage for ages (but never did till now :P), I've created a more proper looking screenshots page.

Screenshots

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2006, 12:55 PM   #84
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Version 1.2.3 update released!
Download

Quote:
Originally Posted by Changes in v1.2.3
- Feature: Made change player into a button
- Feature: In-game keyboard control (BETA, and see webpage or thread for details)
Change player button:
Nothing special; just makes changing player a bit more obvious and easy to use

Keyboard control:
If you're tired (either literally or not :P ) of using the mouse to play Pazaak, or you're so lazy that you don't want to click End Turn even with "auto-turn" on :shifty: , you can now play with the keyboard.
By default, the option is OFF, and the default keys are:
End Turn - Spacebar
Stand - Tab
Play hand card - 1, 2, 3, 4 (corresponding position)
Flip card sign - Q, W, E, R and/or (SHIFT or ALT) + (play card #)
Flip card value - A,S, D, F (green arrow) and/or CTRL + (play card #)
The keys can be redefined. They are not enabled during network matches (to not interfere with the chatbox). The SHIFT/ALT/CTRL modifiers are overridden if you specify a key onto them.
BUG: There is also a weird bug where if you use the Flip keys a lot, the main click sound starts to cut itself off, like it doesn't play fully.

Also, don't blame me if you hit the wrong key >_<


Note on translations:
Future versions from now (including this one) are English only since that's the one they have been built off. You can still submit translations (currently French and German are in), but they will be v1.2.2 only. Not like u miss much anyway...
v1.2.2 "International" will officially be up once German is finalised.

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-18-2006, 12:39 PM   #85
RC-1162
Liquidious Fleshbag
 
RC-1162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,447
Current Game: SW:TOR
Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Helpful! 
just DLed the whole thing today and i think it rocks! its really good to be able to play Pazaak without having to start a game in KotOR.


Duct Tape is ALWAYS the answer
RC-1162 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2006, 09:15 AM   #86
Dirtnose
Rookie
 
Dirtnose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 188
Brilliant Mod, Exactly what RC Said
Dirtnose is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2006, 04:24 PM   #87
Mallux
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Yeah pure pazaak is really great, I have played it with one of my friends, but sadly i can't play it on my computer, as it is a mac. Do anyone know, if there is a Stand-alone pazaak for mac?
Mallux is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2006, 05:49 PM   #88
furio
Rookie
 
furio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 33
W0W, just W0W Duff. After all that time, you manage to upgrade and add some awesome features, I still have your 1st release as a reference on how hard you worked on this project.

Congrats & continue your good work.

Your old pale

Furio


Achuta, Jee Vopa Chuba Tah Kyotopa Mwa KoTOR's ultimate Guide. Du Magi Pa Che Mikiyuna Da Waba Tah Panwa KotOR.
furio is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2006, 12:55 PM   #89
Ambrose
Rookie
 
Ambrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 154
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
The website is down, no one can download it now =/

Is there any place to go if you're lookin' for a game?


My Fan Fics
Virgin Sands | Final Breath (Editor's Choice 2006)
Ambrose is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2006, 05:33 AM   #90
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambrose
The website is down, no one can download it now =/
yeh sorry about that. Actually stopped working a while ago but I've been really busy :geek: (and still am ). Seeing if I can get hosted by Star Wars Knights.

To download Pure Pazaak you can get links to the files from here:
http://hosted.filefront.com/dufflover/

For people who want to see the website/screenshots, I've set up the site on a free hosting thing, so ad/popup warning :
http://purepazaak.freehosting.net/

Stuff like forums and IRC channel have been trialled as a game lobby to find games, but unfortunately the fan base still yet isn't big enough so people can't find opponents. So yeh, still stuck with local friends/family for now - oh and my AI as well.

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-09-2006, 05:47 AM   #91
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Just checked FileFront and noticed the update was no longer there for some reason. It's back now.

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-09-2006, 04:27 PM   #92
Addlcove
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 118
I have a problem, some buttons are missing text, and the computed total is missing from the game, or am I supposed to keep track of that myself?
Addlcove is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2006, 06:40 AM   #93
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addlcove
I have a problem, some buttons are missing text, and the computed total is missing from the game, or am I supposed to keep track of that myself?
Sounds weird. Post a screen shot.

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2006, 05:00 PM   #94
sniper1707
Rookie
 
sniper1707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
nice man can u make the board game that the ppl in star wars play? like the one in the millenium falcon? lol when i first downloaded this i was thinking hmm i wonder if he can make galactic ecenomics lol u dont have to make galactic ecenomics
sniper1707 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2006, 07:59 AM   #95
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Uni midsemester break so been able to do some of small things I've been planning to for ages:
- Rezipped so that you can now get Pure Pazaak v1.2.3 as a full download.
- Can now openly get v1.2.2 International.
- See the origins/history of Pure Pazaak by getting this Pazaak Legacy download which I've put together. (don't expect any support )

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2006, 02:38 AM   #96
Arátoeldar
Flame Imperishable
 
Arátoeldar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Karningul
Posts: 1,574
I had a weird bug. Twice when I used the +1Tiebreaker card I only tied the AI instead of winning.

Is there any way I can brighten the user interface?


Not all those who wander are lost.-J.R.R. Tolkien

I believe in Christianity as I believe the sun has risen, not only because I see it but by it I see everything else - C.S. Lewis
Arátoeldar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 10:24 PM   #97
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arátoeldar
I had a weird bug. Twice when I used the +1Tiebreaker card I only tied the AI instead of winning.
It only works if it's the last card played in the set.

Quote:
Is there any way I can brighten the user interface?
I'll see if I can put in some sort of brightness setting, but at my crappy skills I don't think so.
If I don't get anywhere soon I'll just brighten up some of the pictures and send it to you.

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-10-2006, 10:35 PM   #98
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Pure Pazaak is back on "normal" hosting. A big thank you to fingolfin for his support and generosity in providing hosting space.
http://purepazaak.collateraldesign.co.uk/

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2006, 09:42 PM   #99
H4ku
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
I have kinda weird problem I had 20, and my oponent had 18, and he has won. Here is the screen.

http://img361.imageshack.us/img361/9...zaakbuget7.jpg
H4ku is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-07-2006, 02:39 AM   #100
CaptainWhyNot
Rookie
 
CaptainWhyNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Posts: 40
Current Game: World of Warcraft
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4ku
I have kinda weird problem I had 20, and my oponent had 18, and he has won. Here is the screen.

http://img361.imageshack.us/img361/9...zaakbuget7.jpg
That's because your opponent filled up all the available card slots. You win if you do that. Doesn't matter what your score is in that case (as long as it doesn't go over 20).
CaptainWhyNot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-07-2006, 06:59 AM   #101
H4ku
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Oh, okay, I didn't know that, thanks.
H4ku is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-12-2006, 11:40 PM   #102
logan essex
Rookie
 
logan essex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
i have no buttons ingame, at the deck selection screen, it says out of range

any tips?
logan essex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2006, 08:39 PM   #103
The_Wombird
Rookie
 
The_Wombird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasper_Kazai
Pretty cool. Now all we need is a swoop game.

Man, that'd be so cool.
Yes, I totally agree, I think there should be a stand alone swoop racing thing like the swoop racing in KOTOR, but the pazaak thing is very good


http://www.myspace.com/wombird - eh, check it out if you want

http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fu...oid=1450438469 - also check if you are bored (a movie I made)
The_Wombird is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2006, 03:30 PM   #104
eXtortion
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
#purepazaak on gamesurge server is open again.
How to join:
1. Go to: www.gamesurge.net/chat/ (requires Java)
2. When it loads you'll automatically connect to GameSurge - let it finish.
3. Type into the command thingy: /nick nickname , where nickname is your desired nickname.
4. Type: /join #purepazaak to join the channel
5. If you join and no one is there, I urge you to stay there if you can incase someone else comes along
6. Let's say there's a bunch of people connected. To announce that you're free to play a match, just type the chat message and press Enter.
7. What you want to do now will vary, but to let's say you want start a private chat session to respond to someone's offer (and tell them your details like your or their IP, etc). Double-click their name from the list of people and a new chat window will appear in the Private taskbar section.
8. Organise and play!
eXtortion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2007, 01:01 AM   #105
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Smile

Heya guys!

No, there's nothing new with Pure Pazaak. Just that nothing seems to need doing with it, although I did remove the website link from the splash screen incase it changes again or just dies.

So why I have come out of the shadows to post? I recently got a Nintendo DS Lite, and my cousin wondered what it would be like if Pazaak was on it...so I put together a "concept art" pic; and here it is.


or for those who want a superimposed fake on some Googled up photo


What do you guys think?

(I'll just clarify to you now, it most likely won't happen cos I would have no idea how to program it )

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2007, 04:06 AM   #106
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
v1.2.4 Released

I know I haven't touched Pazaak in ages but ah well, back for a little fix here and there.

For those of you who have the weird invisible button thing (see here for example), I have mapped the functionality to some keyboard keys so that you can at least play the game until I found out what's wrong with it and fix it, somehow.

ENTER = Continue
1,2,3 = Deck, Buy, Sell mode change
Space = Trade

Just remember that sometimes the buttons are *supposed* to be invisible, e.g., no card trading in Arcade mode

1.2.4 Released:
- Fix: Assigned keys to menu and deck screens for a button-bug workaround. See forum post.
- Fix: Splash screen "tab order" (pressing tab now goes onto the correct next field)
- Fix: All the drop down boxes in the options screen now correctly make a clicky noise
- Other: Renamed "Normal" AI to "Pure Pazaak" just to avoid some potential confusion with "K2"

Note: You do NOT need to download this if you have no problem playing the game as it is.

Download link: http://files.filefront.com/Pure+Paza.../fileinfo.html

Also, at this very moment, I'm trying to improve the web page (offline on my own comp). I haven't decided on a new design or anything so it'll probably look no different. Just that I'm implementing some of the stuff I've learnt since last update, like CSS, PHP, etc. Plus it "should", even with my n00b HTML skills, be much better than what FrontPage spits out.

btw, for those looking for a Pazaak game where you clear out the computer opponent and don't want to wait for me (especially if I never end up doing it ermm.gif ), you can play his game here; a clone-of-a-clone you could say.
http://pazaakcantina.freeprojekt.org/

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2007, 12:14 PM   #107
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
New website is live and running

It's finally here ... after hours on hours of learning and all handwriting the damn web page, the new site is live and ready to go!
http://purepazaak.collateraldesign.co.uk/index.php
which is a godsend compared to the old site Frontpage job which I used for years:
http://purepazaak.collateraldesign.co.uk/old_site/

The "inspiraton" for the design came from this picture I found while Googling


Ofcourse comments/suggestions/criticisms of the site welcome!

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2007, 03:01 AM   #108
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
For those experiencing the problem of the missing buttons, and obvious screen defects like misaligned wallpaper, text and buttons, it's because of the DPI setting in Windows. Windows has basically enlarged some screen elements like the buttons and game window size, but not others, like card locations and background image size. Much more apparent now when you go back and look at the examples posted from people who have this problem.

Pure Pazaak only works with the Normal 96 DPI setting, not the enlarged the 120 DPI setting, and is a general VB thing, not just specific to this. There are ways to compensate for it though I think so I'll have a look into it.

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-21-2007, 04:42 AM   #109
MandoBlood
Rookie
 
MandoBlood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 10
Hello

I tried to load Pure Pazaak into Windows Vista... No Luck.
Run-time error "429":
ActiveX component can't create object
Any chance you can correct this?

Bump deleted, sorry MandoBlood but if you aren't getting a response in this thread you might need to try a Private Message (PM) or an email to the mod maker, if an address is provided by them in the readme file. Thanks. -RH


Darth En Ghedi
Fan Force Portugal CR & Admin
http://fanforcept.blogspot.com
501st Legion Lusitanian Outpost Admin
http://501stportugal.blogspot.com
Fan Fiction Author
http://fanfictionpt.blogspot.com

Last edited by RedHawke; 09-26-2007 at 12:59 AM.
MandoBlood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2007, 07:08 AM   #110
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Sorry for the delay - got no thread subscription update thingy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MandoBlood
Hello

I tried to load Pure Pazaak into Windows Vista... No Luck.
Run-time error "429":
ActiveX component can't create object
Any chance you can correct this?
Recently had people mention this issue to me as well and turns out to be a common-ish thing with Vista and VB6.

Try manually registering the dependencies, so:
1. Install the VB6 SP6 runtimes again. I don't know if there are separate downloads for XP and Vista. If you've already tried installing them as per the troubleshooting, then you shouldn't need to again, not that there's any harm I suppose.
2. Move the two OCX files (comctl32.ocx and mswinsck.ocx into the Windows\System32 directory.
3. Try running Pure Pazaak again (maybe needs a reboot too)
4. If it still has the same error, go into command prompt (Run -> command, or is it Run -> cmd)
5. Run these commands to register these controls manually:
regsvr32 comctl32.ocx
regsvr32 mswinsck.ocx
6. (Reboot?) and try PP again.

No one has confirmed if this works or not yet.

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2008, 10:37 AM   #111
Deepaksternater
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Exclamation Problems

Hey Dufflover,
You had a great idea making that pazaak game. I just wish I could download it. When I tried to download it, it said I needed a password to download it. I really want to play it, can you tell the password? E-mail me at Deepaksternater@yahoo.com.sg. Thanks a bunch.
Deepaksternater is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2008, 10:49 AM   #112
e-varmint
Vapid Pomposticator
 
e-varmint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Abandoned Subway Car
Posts: 760
Current Game: Dragon Age
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepaksternater
Hey Dufflover,
You had a great idea making that pazaak game. I just wish I could download it......
Try this:

http://files.filefront.com/Pure+Paza.../fileinfo.html

It worked just now for me.
e-varmint is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2008, 04:41 PM   #113
herosinger
Rookie
 
herosinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 102
This game is pure brilliance! I found it some time ago, and have been playing on and off ever since. Thanks for all the hard work you put into it.


"We have not even to risk the adventure alone; for the heroes of all time have gone before us..." - Joseph Campbell

herosinger is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2008, 07:41 PM   #114
Kame_yo
Rookie
 
Kame_yo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24
i was reading through your faq and found this

Other common questions
How do I get the custom portraits feature working?

If the keyboard keys are used a lot (like repetively flipping cards back and forth, a sound bug develops where the sounds start getting cut-off and/or distorted.

wtf?


Kame_yo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2008, 01:13 AM   #115
Jedi.Maverick
Rookie
 
Jedi.Maverick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brazil
Posts: 105
Jesus! This is ****in addicting, thanks for this, you are god!


"Recitation: First, weapon selection is critical. If I see one more idiot attacking a Jedi with a blaster pistol, then I'll kill them myself."
-HK-47
"Translation: two per cent probability that the miniature organic is simply looking for trouble and needs to be blasted. That may be wishful thinking on my part, master."
-HK-47 on Iziz
"Statement: Oh, yes, Master. Pain is really the only reliable means by which truth may be obtained... or so I choose to believe."
-HK-47 opining on torture
Jedi.Maverick is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-14-2008, 11:45 PM   #116
dufflover
Rookie
 
dufflover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kame_yo
i was reading through your faq and found this
haha thanks for the heads up. Got a few things to fix and test for people but I've been too busy having fun after finishing Uni and holiday season . Hopefully I'll get around to fixing this all soon.

Thanks HeroSinger and JediMaverick for the complements and glad you enjoy it.

dufflover is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-15-2008, 02:10 PM   #117
rearviewmirror
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
looks like alot of fun, we should get a multiplayer challenge post thing going on so we can play each other. If it worked on the Ds itd be awesome. Can you do multiplayer with another person on your pc?
rearviewmirror is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2009, 10:44 PM   #118
milphis27
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
worked fine on XP. installed vista and now I receive error message. Even re-unzipped the file I first downloaded. I get this message,



any one know the answer? I tried the command prompt idea and moving the file into the system32 folder but didnt fix the problem? any help?
milphis27 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2011, 01:54 AM   #119
Churchee
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
In honor of SW:TOR can you remake it to be Windows 7 Compatible? PLEASE???
Churchee is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2011, 01:26 PM   #120
Shaggoth
Junior Member
 
Shaggoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Estland, Revalia
Posts: 292
i agree with last requester


[ about.me ]
Shaggoth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Taris Upper City Emporium > Pure Pazaak: Standalone Multiplayer Pazaak!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:40 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.