lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: C3PO's languages?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-27-2005, 03:30 PM   #1
guybroom
Troezen
 
guybroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 1,223
C3PO's languages?

I'm confused about how 3PO learns 'over 6 million forms of communications' between ep3 and ep4. Does someone teach him / add to his programming, or did he know them from Anikan?


IM NOT GOING TO BE ON THE FORUMS VERY OFTEN NOW! I MIGHT BE ON TIME TO TIME, BUT IVE BASICLY GIVEN UP THE FORUMS NOW!!!!

bye all

Guybroom
guybroom is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-27-2005, 05:07 PM   #2
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
I assume that it's as simple as inserting a disc into their "brain" and they download the language or something... when Anakin built him, he probably installed the six million languages then.
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-27-2005, 05:47 PM   #3
coupes.
★★★★★
 
coupes.'s Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Québec
Posts: 2,437
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
Exactly, I figure it must be done by inserting a disc like TK suggested, or by unsing a chip of some kind containing all the language info...



BTW guybroom, you should empty your pm folders if you want people to answer to you...


edit: fixed the typo... nothing to see here, move along.

Last edited by coupes.; 07-27-2005 at 07:46 PM.
coupes. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-27-2005, 05:50 PM   #4
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
Quote:
Originally posted by coupes.
Exactly, I figure it must be done by inserting a disc like TK suggested
Oh god, HORRIBLE TYPO!

Edit: Awww...

Last edited by TK-8252; 07-27-2005 at 07:47 PM.
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-27-2005, 07:45 PM   #5
coupes.
★★★★★
 
coupes.'s Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Québec
Posts: 2,437
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 


I wrote that !?
coupes. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2005, 05:24 AM   #6
guybroom
Troezen
 
guybroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally posted by coupes.
BTW guybroom, you should empty your pm folders if you want people to answer to you...
Sorry, I thought there was more room.


And thanks for the answers. But when did he learn them? I don't think he says anything about them during the OT. So would that mean that 3PO had some interpretting job on Tantiv 4?


IM NOT GOING TO BE ON THE FORUMS VERY OFTEN NOW! I MIGHT BE ON TIME TO TIME, BUT IVE BASICLY GIVEN UP THE FORUMS NOW!!!!

bye all

Guybroom
guybroom is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2005, 06:44 AM   #7
El Sitherino
The Original.
 
El Sitherino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Planet Funkālnite.
Posts: 14,509
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally posted by guybroom
I don't think he says anything about them during the OT.
He trys to say it to Uncle Owen, he tells it to Luke when he's getting the oil bath.
He also says it to the interviewer droid at Jabba's palace in RoTJ.

Quote:
Originally posted by guybroom
So would that mean that 3PO had some interpretting job on Tantiv 4?
Considering he is the protocol droid of a senator, yes. He was Padme's at the end of AoTC and throughout RoTS until ... well... you know. Now he serves as the protocol droid for Captain Antilles, doubling as the interpreter.


“This body is not me. I am not caught in this body.
I am life without limit.”
El Sitherino is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2005, 07:02 AM   #8
guybroom
Troezen
 
guybroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 1,223
Woops, typo - I meant that he doesnt say anything about it in the PT


IM NOT GOING TO BE ON THE FORUMS VERY OFTEN NOW! I MIGHT BE ON TIME TO TIME, BUT IVE BASICLY GIVEN UP THE FORUMS NOW!!!!

bye all

Guybroom
guybroom is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2005, 08:57 AM   #9
THE VIGILANTE
Rookie
 
THE VIGILANTE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Middle Earth
Posts: 118
^^^^

Well, he uses his languages once or twice during the Clone Wars microseries. Mainly because Padme Amidala tells him to.
THE VIGILANTE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2005, 09:12 AM   #10
guybroom
Troezen
 
guybroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally posted by THE VIGILANTE
^^^^

Well, he uses his languages once or twice during the Clone Wars microseries. Mainly because Padme Amidala tells him to.
i've only seen the first 20 chapters and he doesnt do it in them.


IM NOT GOING TO BE ON THE FORUMS VERY OFTEN NOW! I MIGHT BE ON TIME TO TIME, BUT IVE BASICLY GIVEN UP THE FORUMS NOW!!!!

bye all

Guybroom
guybroom is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2005, 06:14 PM   #11
El Sitherino
The Original.
 
El Sitherino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Planet Funkālnite.
Posts: 14,509
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally posted by guybroom
Woops, typo - I meant that he doesnt say anything about it in the PT
I think it's kind of a given, therefore saying so would be unneccesary and redundant.


“This body is not me. I am not caught in this body.
I am life without limit.”
El Sitherino is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-28-2005, 08:22 PM   #12
THE VIGILANTE
Rookie
 
THE VIGILANTE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Middle Earth
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally posted by guybroom
i've only seen the first 20 chapters and he doesnt do it in them.
It was in the fourth or fifth one.
THE VIGILANTE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-29-2005, 05:58 AM   #13
guybroom
Troezen
 
guybroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally posted by THE VIGILANTE
It was in the fourth or fifth one.
Are you sure? I'll check them now....

*EDIT*

The only chapters with 3PO in are when they are on Ilum, and he only translates R2 - which is nothing new.

*MORE EDITTING*

Quote:
BTW guybroom, you should empty your pm folders if you want people to answer to you...
i have, now what?


IM NOT GOING TO BE ON THE FORUMS VERY OFTEN NOW! I MIGHT BE ON TIME TO TIME, BUT IVE BASICLY GIVEN UP THE FORUMS NOW!!!!

bye all

Guybroom

Last edited by guybroom; 07-29-2005 at 10:06 AM.
guybroom is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2005, 07:53 PM   #14
fuzzyfreaker
 
fuzzyfreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The Maw
Posts: 350
Well, technically althogh you don't actually see it, 3P0 is sent to the hyperdrive on the Millenium Falcon to talk to the Hyperdrive, if that counts. And the vaporators on Tatooine he says he can talk to, the times that he does talk in a foregin language are few or not at all.



Xbox Live Gamertag: fuzzyfreaker
fuzzyfreaker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2005, 10:01 PM   #15
DarthTDe
Junior Member
 
DarthTDe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Computer
Posts: 270
He does in RotJ,with the Palace guard-thingy.


Go ahead. Impress me. Do something intelligent.
DarthTDe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2005, 01:45 AM   #16
lil_dude
Forumite
 
lil_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 543
I believe C3PO was wiped after ROTS, so he was obviously reprogrammed with all these languages.
lil_dude is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2005, 01:46 AM   #17
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by lil_dude
I believe C3PO was wiped after ROTS, so he was obviously reprogrammed with all these languages.
Yeah, I never thought of that... quite possible.
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2005, 07:53 AM   #18
DarthTDe
Junior Member
 
DarthTDe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Computer
Posts: 270
Yeah,didn't someone say to give him a wipe in EpIII?


Go ahead. Impress me. Do something intelligent.
DarthTDe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2005, 12:37 PM   #19
Leviathan
Senior Member
 
Leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Onboard the Sun Crusher
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
I believe C3PO was wiped after ROTS, so he was obviously reprogrammed with all these languages.
C-3PO wasn't built by Anakin ; he has re-built it !... So, we can think - as 3PO is a protocol's droid - that it has already a majority of those languages in its memory...
Leviathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2005, 04:16 PM   #20
DarthTDe
Junior Member
 
DarthTDe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Computer
Posts: 270
Even in KotOR (4000 years before),the protocol droids still had these forms of communication.


Go ahead. Impress me. Do something intelligent.
DarthTDe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2005, 10:32 AM   #21
Leviathan
Senior Member
 
Leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Onboard the Sun Crusher
Posts: 1,008
With the same number of known languages as C-3PO ?...
Leviathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2005, 12:10 PM   #22
DarthTDe
Junior Member
 
DarthTDe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Computer
Posts: 270
...dunno...


Go ahead. Impress me. Do something intelligent.
DarthTDe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2005, 01:33 PM   #23
Leviathan
Senior Member
 
Leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Onboard the Sun Crusher
Posts: 1,008
I should re-play to KotOR to get the answer... I remember I must go to Taris and talk to one of those protocol's droids...
Leviathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2005, 03:59 PM   #24
DarthTDe
Junior Member
 
DarthTDe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Computer
Posts: 270
Or Hk-52 maybe.


Go ahead. Impress me. Do something intelligent.
DarthTDe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2005, 05:39 AM   #25
Leviathan
Senior Member
 
Leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Onboard the Sun Crusher
Posts: 1,008
I don't think HK-52 could help me with protocol-related questions... It has an other speciality...
Leviathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars > Prequel Trilogy > C3PO's languages?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:42 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.