lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Unique Animation files for models
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-08-2005, 08:36 AM   #1
Daskers
 
Daskers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: I live Locally, some place in England.
Posts: 98
Unique Animation files for models

The other day, I experimented with a modification that makes Hapslash's Count Dooku use a different GLA file. The idea was to make him use Keshires Count Dooku saber stance. I was successful in my mod, as the character used my modified GLA. However, their was a small problem, as the saber was not attached to his hand correctly.

Could anybody suggest a way round this? One that would still allow the model to work in Single Player, if possible (I have a fondness for making my own NPC's)?


Anakin: "Don't worry master. It would take a human sized orange tanned fish with floppy ears and a racially questionable accent to make ME turn to the dark side!"
Obi-Wan: "Where's Jar Jar"
Daskers is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2005, 09:36 AM   #2
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
Can you rule out a problem with the gla? My initial reaction is that the tags are placed wrong, but I can't be sure. Where can I find the file? I've looked for it but no luck.
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2005, 09:42 AM   #3
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
When a model doesn't "hold" a weapon or a saber as it should, it's mainly because of tags problems. But I seriously doubt Hap has something wrong with the tags. Could you post a screenshot illustrating the bug?



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2005, 10:02 AM   #4
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
I was thinking of the tags in the gla, though there are issues with JK2 models tags in JA (Namely two Saber Kata and taunts).
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2005, 10:41 AM   #5
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
There're no meshes in the gla file. JK2 models are converted on runtime to JKA files by the game.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2005, 12:05 PM   #6
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
Um, if there are no tags in the gla file, how does the game know where the saber is meant to be? I know very little about animating, but even I know about the l & rhang_tag_bones. I think you must have misunderstood me, because I don't think there can be any way that a modeller and animator would not know about this.
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2005, 02:52 PM   #7
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
The l & rhang_tag_bone are in the .gla file cuz they're are bones. But the lhand & rhand tags are in the .glm file. The engine know where they are cuz they are weighted to the hang bones.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2005, 07:07 PM   #8
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
Oh, right. Sorry, I'm new at this. Seems what I meant to say was: Maybe the hand tag bones are set up wrong. That's what I would check first, but like I said, I'm new at this.
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2005, 12:25 PM   #9
Daskers
 
Daskers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: I live Locally, some place in England.
Posts: 98
Well, let me elaborate on what I did. I used a txt editor to change the reference for the GLA in the model file from humanoid.gla to humanoi1.gla. I also renamed the modified GLA file to humanoi1.gla.

This resulted in the dooku model using the modified GLA, whilst all other models still used the basic humanoid.gla. All the animations worked, but as I said, the saber and other weapons did not align to the tags.

Its possible that my crude editing of the glm file resulted in the tags being lost.

Maybe if someone made a model from scratch that used the alternative stances, we could see if its possible.

The reason i did this was because I really wanted dooku to use his proper stance, without overiding the animations for the rest of the game.


Anakin: "Don't worry master. It would take a human sized orange tanned fish with floppy ears and a racially questionable accent to make ME turn to the dark side!"
Obi-Wan: "Where's Jar Jar"
Daskers is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2005, 01:23 PM   #10
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Could it be the saber? just to make sure: have you tried with a default saber hilt? Some custom made saber hilts dont line up correctly with the model's hands (the dooku hilt i use has this problem).

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2005, 02:42 PM   #11
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
You could name you custom .gla animations file dooku.gla and ask Hap to recompile the Dooku model using a dummy dooku.gla file just to fool the compiler. Just to be sure your raw editing maneuver didn't bug the file (which I personally think it didn't).



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2005, 02:46 PM   #12
Daskers
 
Daskers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: I live Locally, some place in England.
Posts: 98
Hmmm. I'll take your point. Maybe the game is coded for tags to work only on the Humanoid.gla. Maybe its not programmed to recognise tags with any others.


Anakin: "Don't worry master. It would take a human sized orange tanned fish with floppy ears and a racially questionable accent to make ME turn to the dark side!"
Obi-Wan: "Where's Jar Jar"
Daskers is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2005, 07:42 PM   #13
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
I wouldn't have thought so. Tauntauns, swoops, wampas and rancors all use tags, presumably. I would expect tham to be required for interaction with other entities. Where did you find the gla, because I've been looking for it. Dooku's style would be much cooler than just using Tavion's.
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-10-2005, 11:56 AM   #14
Daskers
 
Daskers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: I live Locally, some place in England.
Posts: 98
The Dooku stance is in Real Kains latest saber mod.


Anakin: "Don't worry master. It would take a human sized orange tanned fish with floppy ears and a racially questionable accent to make ME turn to the dark side!"
Obi-Wan: "Where's Jar Jar"
Daskers is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-10-2005, 04:23 PM   #15
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Hapslash uses the JO skeleton to build his models. He likes to keep them JO and JA compliant. When you replaced the .gla file for your Dooku model, you probably used a new .gla made with the JA skeleton. I think JA only fixes those models pointing to the _humanoid.gla file.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-21-2005, 07:17 AM   #16
Cid88
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 23
The dooku animations can be found on PCGamemods.
Cid88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2005, 08:49 PM   #17
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by CortoCG
Hapslash uses the JO skeleton to build his models. He likes to keep them JO and JA compliant. When you replaced the .gla file for your Dooku model, you probably used a new .gla made with the JA skeleton. I think JA only fixes those models pointing to the _humanoid.gla file.
I noticed that. While there's nothing wrong with it in theory, in practice dual saber style is a complete mess, as it isn't compliant with the JO skeleton (All guesswork, but it fits the facts).
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2006, 06:26 AM   #18
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
You may hit issues by not merging the animations into the main _Humanoid. A lot of the older animations that I did weren't done using the newer carcass that had an option to use a bone index from another file. The glamerge app did that automatically on merge.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > Unique Animation files for models

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.