lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Glitches?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-17-2005, 08:41 AM   #1
Zetz Darke
Forumite
 
Zetz Darke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In my head...it's warm up there.
Posts: 726
Hot Topic Starter 
Question Glitches?

Uhhh...was it just the copy I rented from Blockbuster or has anyone else had trouble with odd glitches in this game?

Problems I've had.

* It freezes if I accidentally jump on one of the villains in the Meat Circus.

* I have had problems with characters getting stuck IN objects...or...uhhh...I guess it's the other way around when using TK. (Once when Crullers teaching him how, I accidentally stuck a trash can inside Ford, and durring the bull fight, Raz somehow ended up with one of the pens stuck in him...but...apparently didn't notice it.)

* In the clip
spoiler:
right after Raz frees Lili
All of the voices got knocked off by a few seconds. (The characters mouths weren't moving to the dialogue.

* In the last video all of the characters voices were full of static and were very hard to make out. (I had to move closer towards the TV to hear what they were saying.)


All he knew was that you couldn't hope to try for the big stuff, like world peace and happiness, but you might just about be able to achieve some tiny deed that'd make the world, in a small way, a better place.
Like shooting someone.
-Fifth Elephant

My Psychonauts Website: http://thornytowermentalhospital.bravehost.com/
Zetz Darke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 10:50 AM   #2
MrManager
;-*
 
MrManager's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 2,114
LFN Staff Member 
Is that a PS2 copy? I didn't experience any of that with the Xbox version.


Read The Mojo!
MrManager is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 10:55 AM   #3
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,202
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Nor me with the PC. :~


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 10:56 AM   #4
Zetz Darke
Forumite
 
Zetz Darke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In my head...it's warm up there.
Posts: 726
Hot Topic Starter 
yea it was the Ps2 copy. Some of it might have just been the fact that it was a blockbuster rental. (I have a lot of trouble with blockbuster rentals.)


All he knew was that you couldn't hope to try for the big stuff, like world peace and happiness, but you might just about be able to achieve some tiny deed that'd make the world, in a small way, a better place.
Like shooting someone.
-Fifth Elephant

My Psychonauts Website: http://thornytowermentalhospital.bravehost.com/
Zetz Darke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 11:18 AM   #5
SailingToNorway
Rookie
 
SailingToNorway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
I got stuck in those thorn plants in the Brain Tumbler experiment. Y'know, the ones that hiss and move push you back out...well, it didn't.
When I tried walking up the stairs to the second elevator that brings you to Laboto's lab, Raz just completely froze in the middle of it.

Yes, my copy is also for ps2
SailingToNorway is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 11:46 AM   #6
Zetz Darke
Forumite
 
Zetz Darke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In my head...it's warm up there.
Posts: 726
Hot Topic Starter 
Sigh...I really need o get a better comp so i can get the PC version of this game.


All he knew was that you couldn't hope to try for the big stuff, like world peace and happiness, but you might just about be able to achieve some tiny deed that'd make the world, in a small way, a better place.
Like shooting someone.
-Fifth Elephant

My Psychonauts Website: http://thornytowermentalhospital.bravehost.com/
Zetz Darke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 01:00 PM   #7
Rubacava
 
Rubacava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 129
I also had the 1st and 3rd problems you posted there with my PS2 version. Oh well...


It fortunately is have such friends person's. I hat you.
Rubacava is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 01:43 PM   #8
MrManager
;-*
 
MrManager's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 2,114
LFN Staff Member 
Sounds like the Xbox or the PC version is the way to go then. ;


Read The Mojo!
MrManager is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 02:15 PM   #9
Joshi
Registered Amuser
 
Joshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wherever the wind takes me... or failing that the nearest cinema.
Posts: 7,196
LFN Staff Member 
I once got stuck on the PC version. probably just my stupidity, but in trying to get a psi-card on my way up the asylum, I sort of had to jump across a huge cavern and float the rest of the way. Only problem was, once I got to the other side, I just sort of hung there, let go of float, but the floating ball was still there and I couldn't move, it wsa like i was stuck on something, had to quit and start again from a save. Needless to say, it didn't happen again (and I got the psi-card) but it was weird.

Joshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 02:48 PM   #10
Zetz Darke
Forumite
 
Zetz Darke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In my head...it's warm up there.
Posts: 726
Hot Topic Starter 
Unfortunately i'm gonna have to stick to the Ps2 version...unless I want to wait a year or two to even own the game.


All he knew was that you couldn't hope to try for the big stuff, like world peace and happiness, but you might just about be able to achieve some tiny deed that'd make the world, in a small way, a better place.
Like shooting someone.
-Fifth Elephant

My Psychonauts Website: http://thornytowermentalhospital.bravehost.com/
Zetz Darke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 05:24 PM   #11
Smon
Bizarro
 
Smon's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 4,197
Current Game: Payday 2
Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
BudCat screwed up big time, good thing DF did it right! If only they were the ones to port it.


I'm done putting links in my signature because every time I do it just links to some old crap I've long since stopped updating.
Smon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2005, 11:21 PM   #12
torgothewhite
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
I have the PS2 version and I just beat the game with minimal glitches. I found it to be a great game. I'm willing to overlook a few minor glitches for the chance to play it. I would never be able to afford an Xbox or better PC on my current income, and graphics don't really mean that much to me.
torgothewhite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2005, 06:29 PM   #13
Zetz Darke
Forumite
 
Zetz Darke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In my head...it's warm up there.
Posts: 726
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by torgothewhite
I have the PS2 version and I just beat the game with minimal glitches. I found it to be a great game. I'm willing to overlook a few minor glitches for the chance to play it. I would never be able to afford an Xbox or better PC on my current income, and graphics don't really mean that much to me.
Yea...I'm not complaining too much...Psychonauts is excellent with the autosave so that starting over isn't that big of a deal anyway. I just thought the glitches were...odd. And the static in the last video did really bum me out.


All he knew was that you couldn't hope to try for the big stuff, like world peace and happiness, but you might just about be able to achieve some tiny deed that'd make the world, in a small way, a better place.
Like shooting someone.
-Fifth Elephant

My Psychonauts Website: http://thornytowermentalhospital.bravehost.com/
Zetz Darke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-21-2005, 10:17 PM   #14
AgentArcana
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 28
My PS2 version was full of Glitches. The lipsinc was off in several cinematics, the game froze in several spots. (Including one spot in the meat circus that took me several hours to get to. GRRR) and in the reception area raz got stuck behind a bush.
AgentArcana is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-21-2005, 11:35 PM   #15
Zetz Darke
Forumite
 
Zetz Darke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In my head...it's warm up there.
Posts: 726
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentArcana
My PS2 version was full of Glitches. The lipsinc was off in several cinematics, the game froze in several spots. (Including one spot in the meat circus that took me several hours to get to. GRRR) and in the reception area raz got stuck behind a bush.
Lol...stupid bushes.
Yea...my game froze in the Meat circus right after I FINALLY got through that first part with little Olly. I had to do it again...I wasn't happy.
I never got stuck in any bushes, but a bull pin did stick in Raz...and I accidentally stuck a trashcan in Ford Cruller.


All he knew was that you couldn't hope to try for the big stuff, like world peace and happiness, but you might just about be able to achieve some tiny deed that'd make the world, in a small way, a better place.
Like shooting someone.
-Fifth Elephant

My Psychonauts Website: http://thornytowermentalhospital.bravehost.com/
Zetz Darke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-22-2005, 04:32 PM   #16
AgentArcana
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Lol I almost forgot. in Black velvetopia everytime I used confusion but got hit by the bull i found that raz was unable to move until the bull woke up and hit him again.
AgentArcana is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 12:01 AM   #17
sherid999
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
(spoilers) I play on XBOX and have noticed a few glitches such as you describe--getting stuck in places in the game and having a hard time getting unstuck. The major glitch I found in my game was on my second runthrough--somehow, when I had started sasha's shooting gallery, the game got stuck where I couldn't boost the level of censors produced. I tried every trick in the book to unlock the machine that allows you to boost up the censor level (to 6+) (punching the machine and Sasha in frustration, was fun, btw). Anyway, I went about psi blasting the censors with total boredom on level one until the game gave me a message that I had killed all the censors possible at this level and told me to boost the level; at this point, the censor cranker stopped producing new censors. When I tried to talk to Sasha, he just told me to stop fooling around and go "blast him" (there was nobody to blast! This is where I got mad and punched Sasha a few times). This was frustrating. I stopped, went out and came back in, with no different results. This glitch was weird--the only way I could resolve it was to start the game over entirely. I'm not sure what I did that produced the glitch, but on my third runthrough, it went as expected. The only thing I figured I might have done to cause it was maybe getting further along in rank (by collecting psi cards, arrowheads, etc.) than I was supposed to be at this level of the game.
sherid999 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 02:58 AM   #18
Smon
Bizarro
 
Smon's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 4,197
Current Game: Payday 2
Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Hm.. well this is DF's first game... a few glitches are to be expected! Still an Xbox glitch.. did not expect that... *head kerplodes*


I'm done putting links in my signature because every time I do it just links to some old crap I've long since stopped updating.
Smon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 12:22 PM   #19
Prosky
Rookie
 
Prosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 39
you people do realize that every game has glitches, right? And budcat did the best they could to port a game that was developed for the Xbox, to the PS2. I really think your expectations may have been a bit too high.
Prosky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 02:03 PM   #20
Smon
Bizarro
 
Smon's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 4,197
Current Game: Payday 2
Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Yeah, yeah, at least it wasn't anything major.


I'm done putting links in my signature because every time I do it just links to some old crap I've long since stopped updating.
Smon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 05:42 PM   #21
Murray the Chao
Junior Member
 
Murray the Chao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 259
In the cutscene "Psychonaut Showndown" the wrong talking pict for agent Cruller is used.




Murray the Chao is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 05:47 PM   #22
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,202
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Which one is used? I don't normally have those on.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 09:37 PM   #23
Zetz Darke
Forumite
 
Zetz Darke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In my head...it's warm up there.
Posts: 726
Hot Topic Starter 
I was just curious if anyone else had them. I don't believe I was expecting anything in particular of this game. I thought it would be good, it was great. The glitches I can live with.


All he knew was that you couldn't hope to try for the big stuff, like world peace and happiness, but you might just about be able to achieve some tiny deed that'd make the world, in a small way, a better place.
Like shooting someone.
-Fifth Elephant

My Psychonauts Website: http://thornytowermentalhospital.bravehost.com/
Zetz Darke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 10:17 PM   #24
Smon
Bizarro
 
Smon's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 4,197
Current Game: Payday 2
Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Yea...this game has a few... issues... but it is fun!

p.s. I posted this from a PSP!!!


I'm done putting links in my signature because every time I do it just links to some old crap I've long since stopped updating.
Smon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-25-2005, 03:58 PM   #25
Murray the Chao
Junior Member
 
Murray the Chao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrik
Which one is used? I don't normally have those on.

It used fordjanitor_sayline when it SHOULD have used fordninja_sayline.




Murray the Chao is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2005, 02:09 AM   #26
meheeners
Lurker
 
meheeners's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
This was intentional, but still fun. In games where you can move the camera around freely, I always try to get camera glitches. In the ps2 version I managed to get a pantsless Raz by standing under the ramp thing near the main lodge and tilting the camera up and in circles. I laughed myself silly afterwards.
meheeners is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2005, 03:04 PM   #27
Smon
Bizarro
 
Smon's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 4,197
Current Game: Payday 2
Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by meheeners
This was intentional, but still fun. In games where you can move the camera around freely, I always try to get camera glitches. In the ps2 version I managed to get a pantsless Raz by standing under the ramp thing near the main lodge and tilting the camera up and in circles. I laughed myself silly afterwards.
O.o ok....


I'm done putting links in my signature because every time I do it just links to some old crap I've long since stopped updating.
Smon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Psychonauts Discussion at Razputin's Domain > Razputin's Domain Forums > Whispering Rock Lakeside Chat > Glitches?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.