lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: I DONT NEED A MORGAGE CALCULATOR!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-09-2005, 09:25 PM   #1
Kuuki
ZOMG It's Kookee!
 
Kuuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,113
Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! LF Jester Contest winner - LucasCast 
I DONT NEED A MORGAGE CALCULATOR!

the damn ads are starting again!!! >.<

Kuuki is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-09-2005, 11:37 PM   #2
Darth Andrew
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Indiana, U.S.A
Posts: 943
?
What do you mean? Popups? The only ads I've seen make up the border on the right side.
Darth Andrew is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-09-2005, 11:38 PM   #3
coupes.
★★★★★
 
coupes.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Québec
Posts: 2,437
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=151386
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=91454

Yay ! We really needed one more of those
coupes. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2005, 09:50 AM   #4
Leviathan
Senior Member
 
Leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Onboard the Sun Crusher
Posts: 1,008
Scar', you should use WebWasher. In effect, this (free) software allows you to block all pop-up and pop-under windows, remove "skyscraper" advertisements (Or other Flash animations), stop JavaScript, Java or VBS-based scripts, prevent modifications of your browser, etc...
Leviathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2005, 03:31 PM   #5
Joshi
Registered Amuser
 
Joshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wherever the wind takes me... or failing that the nearest cinema.
Posts: 7,196
LFN Staff Member 
Or just use Firefox with the Adblocker addon, I don't even see the border ads anymore.

Joshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2005, 04:00 PM   #6
Leviathan
Senior Member
 
Leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Onboard the Sun Crusher
Posts: 1,008
Yes, it is one of the means to remove those "skyscrapers"... (Nevertheless, if I were you, I'd try WebWasher : It is rather efficient. )
Leviathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2005, 04:52 PM   #7
Kuuki
ZOMG It's Kookee!
 
Kuuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,113
Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! LF Jester Contest winner - LucasCast 
sry guys, it was the computer network. they're spyware clogged up all on it, i confused it with the previous problems that these forums had ^_^;;;

yeah, i COULD use some software IF i had a computer of my own to use right now :sob:

Kuuki is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2005, 06:03 PM   #8
Joshi
Registered Amuser
 
Joshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wherever the wind takes me... or failing that the nearest cinema.
Posts: 7,196
LFN Staff Member 
If it's a matter of spyware, just download and use:

Spybot: Search and Destroy
Lavasoft Ad-Aware

Use them both, if the computer doesn't belong to you, force the people they do belong to use those and run a scan to get rid of said spyware as they reaslly shouldn't have it on their system. That should help you out.

Joshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2005, 10:20 PM   #9
Kuuki
ZOMG It's Kookee!
 
Kuuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,113
Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! LF Jester Contest winner - LucasCast 
yeah yeah yeah

problem with that is is that for some reason ppl who run the computers here, are actually smarter then what most take em for.

they run 2kpro, which imho is more secure then xp (for number of reasons, but i dont want to get into a discussion about, imho), they pretty much secured everything to be written to the HD, and prevented any executables to be ran (cus obvioulsy adminstrator mode isnt on)


so in conclusion, i cant install any of that anyway
stuck with IE


and it was my PC, i would of had those on for the first thing (outside of my needed drivers of course )

Kuuki is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2005, 11:17 AM   #10
Leviathan
Senior Member
 
Leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Onboard the Sun Crusher
Posts: 1,008
Strange paradox : Spywares and other threats can be installed on a "secured" computer (As yours), contrary to removal tools...
I just want to know something else : Can you remove files from your hard drive ? (Like cookies, temporary Internet files, etc...) And can you launch Windows' Registry Editor ?
Leviathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2005, 01:59 PM   #11
Kuuki
ZOMG It's Kookee!
 
Kuuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,113
Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! LF Jester Contest winner - LucasCast 
>.>


I live on a military base where i have to sign in and out to what computer i use. IM NOT F***ING WITH IT

Kuuki is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2005, 02:36 PM   #12
Joshi
Registered Amuser
 
Joshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wherever the wind takes me... or failing that the nearest cinema.
Posts: 7,196
LFN Staff Member 
Heh, fair enough, it is odd though, spyware being able to run on a supposedly secure computer, especially a military computer. Talk to the administrators about it, just tell them they've got spyware, if they're as smart as they should be, they'll be able to sort it.

Joshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2005, 08:30 PM   #13
Kuuki
ZOMG It's Kookee!
 
Kuuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,113
Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! LF Jester Contest winner - LucasCast 
i'm not the cybercafe watch

let them do it ^_^

anyway, the people who work on the network for the base is mainly civilians, which composes of former military anyway, but there are like one or two active navy members (Navy Marine Corps Intranet)

Kuuki is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Forum Help & Feedback Center > I DONT NEED A MORGAGE CALCULATOR!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.