lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Requests for New Mod Utilities
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-10-2008, 04:43 AM   #41
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
I'm not sure if i've seen this before so i'll post a request.

A script program.

A program in which you write your script and can actually save it as an NCS or something from the get go.

Or it would probably have to save as NSS first then compile (if possible at the same time or one after the other straoght away) it would be easier to have a GUI program rather than the NWNNSSComp...

The one in KT is a bit dodgy too I find...




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2008, 11:40 PM   #42
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
I wrote a GUI NSSeditor also there was done by Loneferret. Both of them have releases in the tools forum here. Neither of them has been hosted by SWK even though I had requested that of mine more than once.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2008, 04:15 AM   #43
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Both have links to PCGM...

And unfortunately the links don't work..

Do you have the tools on your HD that you can send me?

Or know of another place to get 'em?

-DDD




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2008, 07:49 PM   #44
DarthXANA
Rookie
 
DarthXANA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lurking in the Shadows
Posts: 32
I could really use something similar to Taina's replacer Utility which was supposed to allow you to use edited PC heads and other character models....but the only links I can find are PCGM which is of course dead and gone....anyone think they can make something like that....

or have the utility laying around and can send it to me?


"War does not determine who is right...war determines who is left...." -unknown

"You are the darkness in which all life dies milord....and my life exists to feed your power...I beg you please let me die." -Visas Marr
DarthXANA is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2008, 05:15 PM   #45
Sithspecter
Big things are coming...
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,787
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Question K-Max?

In the recent development of creating new modules, we have come across a problem. It seems that NWmax cannot import and export some of the very important collision...well...whatever the model uses to collide (not walkmeshes). Not a completely new modelling program, just an extension and importer/exporter. I'm not sure if it is possible, and this is a big request, but could come of you great tool making guys work on this problem? Magnus is having trouble decoding some fields, and I know he'd love to work on this. The problems include that you can fire guns right through the walls, and the camera goes through also, some pretty ugly and drastic effects.

Well, thanks in advance for who even considers!

SS



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2008, 01:41 PM   #46
arthurconandoyle12
Lurker
 
arthurconandoyle12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
a simple texture file extractor


arthurconandoyle12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2008, 02:01 PM   #47
EnderWiggin
Sine Amore Nihil Est Vita
 
EnderWiggin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,395
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by arthurconandoyle12 View Post
a simple texture file extractor
Just use KotOR tool. Click on the texture you want and click the "extract" button.

_EW_



Hello, Pot? This is Kettle. You're black. ~ Prime

Yes, I hate you.

J7 - thanks for accepting me as part of the 'family.'
EnderWiggin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2008, 04:47 PM   #48
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: KotOR II
Some kind of mod manager that allowed you to swap in and out launchers would be cool.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2008, 12:23 PM   #49
ForeverNight
nrgurt researcher
 
ForeverNight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,204
Current Game: q2
Cant you just use the KMM and direct it to the Launcher area?

I think that that's all you'd have to do... I don't know though, it's been a while since I've used the KMM...
ForeverNight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2008, 12:42 PM   #50
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: KotOR II
I don't know of a single launcher that comes with a .kmm file.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2008, 06:51 PM   #51
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,509
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Does anyone think they can make a tool for opening up a module and pinpointing the exact coordinates so you can copy them into the gff editor so module building wont be so time consuming.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2008, 09:35 PM   #52
Mav
8-Bit Code Monkey
 
Mav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A House
Posts: 4,043
Current Game: SWTOR
Quote:
Originally Posted by canderis View Post
Does anyone think they can make a tool for opening up a module and pinpointing the exact coordinates so you can copy them into the gff editor so module building wont be so time consuming.
Not exactly sure about a tool, but there are actually "modders mods" out there, I haven't modded in a while, but from what I can recall, I believe DTrips, RH, and Cz all had various armbands with multiple functions, one of them being the ability of telling you the coordinates of the module where your PC is standing. Granted this requires actually running your game, as well as being in the module you want coordinates for, but there are also mods out there with armbands that will warp you from module to module Old school modding at its finest.


"Women are like sunsets… they’re beautiful, but there will be a different one tomorrow." - Gilder
Mav is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2008, 11:43 PM   #53
assassing3
Rookie
 
assassing3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 61
How bout a tool that allows you to see a complete list of cheats as you type
Like when going into a giveitem cheat
when you type giveitem a list drops down and allows you to see all the items available(and include the override)it would ofcourse have to display the item tag like g_w_lghtsbr06

And of course it would be usable ingame
assassing3 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2008, 06:50 PM   #54
whatthehell
Rookie
 
whatthehell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 133
i got a crazy idea. if anyone has played halo 3 and played forge you will know just what im talkin about.

an in map editor that allows you to place what you want where you want and to change textures on the fly. i know this would take alot of time.

the editor doesnt have to be in game. i was thinking it could render the map and all the stuff currently in it and it would automaticlly do everything that is needed to be placed in game. this would bring the most inexperienced modders out and help everyone show off there creations


If you are reading this, then You Just Lost The Game. Fear my posts knowing you will lose again
whatthehell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2008, 06:10 PM   #55
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,509
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Yes! thats cinda like what i want worded better. Battle Front and EAW have map editors like that so one for kotor would be ausome




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2008, 06:31 PM   #56
TriggerGod
Senior Member
 
TriggerGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: hiding
Posts: 2,415
Helpful! 
If there were maps like Halo Multiplayer Maps, then, it might work. But its not, considering you can go to and from, things change in each module...
TriggerGod is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2008, 04:23 PM   #57
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,509
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Could anyone make a .skp(google sketchup)->mdl/mdx converter. If it is possible this would make module making really easy.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2008, 04:45 PM   #58
HdVaderII
I am le sad.
 
HdVaderII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Space. The final frontier.
Posts: 615
Current Game: Dark Forces. Yeah.
Could anybody make a basic tool for extracting things from the Kotor 1 Bifs? The reason for this is that Kotor Tool can't run on my computer.
Thanks to anyone who tries or even thinks about making this. Also, if there are any floating out there on the web, could someone provide a link.
--HdVaderII


Are you one of those poor Macintosh gamers that are in the possession of Empire at War, yet because of the scarcity of Mac players out there you have nobody to play against? If you are, PM me if you want to set up a game.
HdVaderII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2008, 05:39 PM   #59
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,692
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by canderis View Post
Could anyone make a .skp(google sketchup)->mdl/mdx converter. If it is possible this would make module making really easy.
If you can get Sketchup to export the file as an OBJ you can import it into GMax.

There's an OBJ export plugin for the free version of Sketchup - http://sketchuptips.blogspot.com/200...-exporter.html

There are a number of OBJ import/export scripts for GMax, but the only one I've had success with is Chris Cookson's Wavefront OBJ/MTL Import Utility for GMax v1.1. You can get it here (along with an OBJ exporter) - http://www.the3rdage.net/item-348?addview
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2008, 09:05 PM   #60
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HdVaderII View Post
Could anybody make a basic tool for extracting things from the Kotor 1 Bifs? The reason for this is that Kotor Tool can't run on my computer.
Thanks to anyone who tries or even thinks about making this. Also, if there are any floating out there on the web, could someone provide a link.
--HdVaderII
FindRefs may able to help you there.



tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-26-2008, 09:10 AM   #61
HdVaderII
I am le sad.
 
HdVaderII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Space. The final frontier.
Posts: 615
Current Game: Dark Forces. Yeah.
Thanks TK! I'm going to try it out now!


Are you one of those poor Macintosh gamers that are in the possession of Empire at War, yet because of the scarcity of Mac players out there you have nobody to play against? If you are, PM me if you want to set up a game.
HdVaderII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2008, 03:42 PM   #62
ghamkingy
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Hello ALL, right hear is my Q, for mods

useing what ever tools,

1.change sats for e.g sith troppers
2.give them more kit, e.g better guns, sheilds
and about a ten more thinks i could do,

ive got as far as useing the kotor tool, editing the sith tropper, but cant work out how to put it back in the templates.bif, so it overwriths the old (and i must say weak one)

any help, or links would be VERY VERY helpful
ghamkingy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2008, 08:43 PM   #63
TriggerGod
Senior Member
 
TriggerGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: hiding
Posts: 2,415
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghamkingy View Post
Hello ALL, right hear is my Q, for mods

useing what ever tools,

1.change sats for e.g sith troppers
2.give them more kit, e.g better guns, sheilds
and about a ten more thinks i could do,

ive got as far as useing the kotor tool, editing the sith tropper, but cant work out how to put it back in the templates.bif, so it overwriths the old (and i must say weak one)

any help, or links would be VERY VERY helpful
All you have to do is save the file in your override folder that same that it was called. so if it was called 'blahblah.blah', you'd save it in your override called 'blahblah.blah' (without the quotes around them)
TriggerGod is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2009, 09:38 PM   #64
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Could someone make a tool(or a edit of kTool if its not released since youd need permission) that you can apply a certain voiceover alien type to a dialog so it would apply random common voiceovers of that species. It would save time of finding the files names then editing the dialog typing the names.

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-19-2009, 10:57 AM   #65
ZimmMaster
Forumite
 
ZimmMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In a Video Game...
Posts: 670
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Veteran Modder 
Is it possible to get a .dlg file merger? There are several .dlg files I want to combine to resolve compatablility issues with a few mods for example the USM with some restoration mods. Can anyone help?


~ I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
ZimmMaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2009, 11:50 AM   #66
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,509
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I would like to request a version of K-GFF editor that allows copying and pasting




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2009, 12:30 PM   #67
Miltiades
Death... by Exile
 
Miltiades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bruges, Belgium
Posts: 2,831
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canderis View Post
I would like to request a version of K-GFF editor that allows copying and pasting
I think you can copy and past using the "Ctrl + C" and "Ctrl + V" combinations.


PSN id: BE_Miltiades

Miltiades is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2009, 01:21 PM   #68
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,509
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miltiades View Post
I think you can copy and past using the "Ctrl + C" and "Ctrl + V" combinations.
Yep, silly me.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-08-2009, 07:42 PM   #69
Yatsookey
Rookie
 
Yatsookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 148
Current Game: Nothin
hey guys, i was playing gmod and started to wonder, is it possible to create a sandbox npc placement/ object placement program for kotor? i figured then that whoever did that would bring kotor modding to the next level and make sooo many things so much easier for we who create large scale expansions. any ideas?


The balance is clear...the objective is not

Yatsookey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-08-2009, 08:35 PM   #70
VarsityPuppet
Master of Puppets
 
VarsityPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,253
Current Game: Chrono Trigger
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I'm sorry if this is a stupid request, but I know there is a tpc2tga converter... is there anywhere to make a tga to tpc converter? The reason I ask is because as an xbox modder, I can only run so many override textures at a time, so I figured that if I could add them permanently to an erf or replace them in the .bif as a tpc, I wouldn't have to worry about freezing issues as much.
VarsityPuppet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2009, 08:13 AM   #71
Demongo
Afro Skeleton
 
Demongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 963
Current Game: Street Fighter IV
Can someone make Whereami armband for K1? I have some problems with cheats and I don't know what can be the problem. Or if D333's whereami armband works for K1, please tell me.



Bink's Sake

"I've barely eaten anything for many decades now. It feels like my stomach shriveled into my back........though i don't have a stomach or back because i'm a skeleton! Yohohohoho! SKULL JOKE!"

"My eyes have never seen such a pretty woman! But i'm a skeleton so my eyes don't see much."
Demongo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2009, 02:47 PM   #72
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,509
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Could someone make a mass hex editor that has a replacer tool to replace all references of a selected set of text in a lot of files? Or point me to one.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2009, 04:26 AM   #73
Gatherum
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZimmMaster View Post
Is it possible to get a .dlg file merger? There are several .dlg files I want to combine to resolve compatablility issues with a few mods for example the USM with some restoration mods. Can anyone help?
Seconding this. Of course, it has been said that TSLPatcher can do this, but I'm looking for something more similar to the Convert2da and JRLMerger apps, except with .dlg and .ncs files as well.

Failing that, I wouldn't mind someone giving me a rundown on how to use TSLPatcher to do this.

Many thanks. ^^
Gatherum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2009, 07:22 AM   #74
ZimmMaster
Forumite
 
ZimmMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In a Video Game...
Posts: 670
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatherum View Post
Seconding this. Of course, it has been said that TSLPatcher can do this, but I'm looking for something more similar to the Convert2da and JRLMerger apps, except with .dlg and .ncs files as well.

Failing that, I wouldn't mind someone giving me a rundown on how to use TSLPatcher to do this.

Many thanks. ^^
There was a Readme in the form of a pdf in the folder that came with the patcher.


~ I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
ZimmMaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2009, 03:54 PM   #75
jonathan7
Exiled Jedi...
 
jonathan7's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ivory Tower
Posts: 3,676
Contest winner - Modding LFN Staff Member Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I'm affraid there will never be a utility which can combine custom user written scripts, due to the complexities involved as such the only way to combine scripts is manually...



"Love is the only reality and it is not a mere sentiment. It is the ultimate truth that lies at the heart of creation." - Rabindranath Tagore

"Many a doctrine is like a window pane. We see truth through it but it divides us from truth." - Kahlil Gibran
jonathan7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2009, 04:19 PM   #76
ZimmMaster
Forumite
 
ZimmMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In a Video Game...
Posts: 670
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathan7 View Post
I'm affraid there will never be a utility which can combine custom user written scripts, due to the complexities involved as such the only way to combine scripts is manually...
stoffe, if she can find the time, can do it. She made many of the usefull utilities we modders use alot.


~ I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
ZimmMaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2009, 02:10 AM   #77
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZimmMaster View Post
stoffe, if she can find the time, can do it.
You really haven't a clue about what you are speaking, sorry mate but what Jon said was spot on... if you had any, and I mean any programming classes you would quickly understand why this is so.

There isn't going to be any 'easy button' for this, you all just have to roll your sleeves up and learn it yourselves.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZimmMaster View Post
She made many of the usefull utilities we modders use alot.
Yes this is true... but does not change the facts here.

Also another tidbit about your post Zimm is that to volunteer someone like this is considered rude, if they have an interest in doing so they will volunteer themselves.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2009, 07:41 AM   #78
ZimmMaster
Forumite
 
ZimmMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In a Video Game...
Posts: 670
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHawke View Post
You really haven't a clue about what you are speaking, sorry mate but what Jon said was spot on... if you had any, and I mean any programming classes you would quickly understand why this is so.

There isn't going to be any 'easy button' for this, you all just have to roll your sleeves up and learn it yourselves.


Yes this is true... but does not change the facts here.

Also another tidbit about your post Zimm is that to volunteer someone like this is considered rude, if they have an interest in doing so they will volunteer themselves.
My bad. Sorry.


~ I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
ZimmMaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2009, 08:46 PM   #79
Weiser_Cain
Forumite
 
Weiser_Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Here and there about Chicago
Posts: 562
Anyone have a tool that'll convert .max to anything else?
Weiser_Cain is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2009, 08:50 PM   #80
TriggerGod
Senior Member
 
TriggerGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: hiding
Posts: 2,415
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weiser_Cain View Post
Anyone have a tool that'll convert .max to anything else?
if you have 3ds Max, you can export it into a variety of different files. Otherwise, not that I know of.
TriggerGod is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > Requests for New Mod Utilities

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:57 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.