lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: XWA wont install
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-14-2005, 07:40 AM   #1
darthstinker
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Unhappy XWA wont install

Everytime I try installing XWA, nothing happens. I've tried clicking the "install X-Wing Alliance" button, and the menu just quits after a few moments. Nothing at all happens when i try going directly from the Setup.exe icon. I've tried installing Rogue Squadron, and i got the same results. I've got Windows XP and 2 Cd-rom drives, so I'm thinking one of those might be the problem? anyone know what to do?
darthstinker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2005, 11:02 AM   #2
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,496
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
darthstinker

Are you getting any error dialogs? I know of one possible error, but unless I know for sure you got the error dialog I'm looking for, I can't help you.


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-21-2005, 02:51 PM   #3
darthstinker
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
nevermind, i got it. twiddled with the compatibility stuff for awhile, smacked it around some, and poof! it works
darthstinker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-25-2005, 02:42 PM   #4
FrostyAK
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Hi , i have the same problem (actualy both SWA and SW:Rebellion have this problem) Setup.exe just wont run. After you click on it, it starts does something and quits. No error messages or anything. In SWA installer it jsut gives woosh sound and quits. I tried to play with compatibility settings but no luck. Any ideas ? I have WinXP with SP2 , though setups wouldnt run when i had SP1 ither. Pls pls pls could you give me any solutions ? Realy wanted to reinstall my old SW games
FrostyAK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2005, 11:49 AM   #5
FrostyAK
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Or maybe someone has registry information for XWA so i can just copy files from CD on my drive w/o the installer ?
FrostyAK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-28-2005, 09:31 AM   #6
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,496
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Frosty

Are you getting an error dialog that mentions the file autoexec.nt? If so, try copying the autoexec.nt file from the Windows\Repair folder to the Windows\system32 folder and run your game's installation program again. You should find that it works this time.


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-28-2005, 11:11 AM   #7
FrostyAK
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Nope no autoexec problems. It doesnt give me any errors or anything, just when you start setup.exe coursor turn to the hourglass for a few seconds and thats it. It just ignores me Ant i know that its something with setup because games themselve run just fine. (i managed to half install XWA by copying files myself and it runs for a few missions before asking for CD2).
FrostyAK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2005, 08:45 AM   #8
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,496
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Another thing you guys can try is to go to Windows Explorer w/ the first XWA install disk in your CD drive, call up the Properties dialog for setup.exe, and in the Compatibility tab, set it for Windows 95 or 98.


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2005, 02:39 PM   #9
FrostyAK
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Already played with compatibility setting. Unfortunatly doent change anything.
FrostyAK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-02-2005, 06:34 AM   #10
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,496
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
I just realized (again...it's been off my machine for a while & I just found it again) that XWA is a 2 CD install, so another thing you might want to check on is to make sure Disk 1 is the one you're trying to run.


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-03-2005, 07:12 PM   #11
FrostyAK
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
i`m quite sure of what i`m trying to run.
FrostyAK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2005, 09:18 AM   #12
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,496
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Frosty

Another thing you can try is to click the "Analyze My Computer" button in the menu that displays when you insert the CD. If your system passes all of the checks, you should be able to install it. You might also want to check your free disk space...XWA needs at least 275 MB free for installation and another 200 MB free after installation for in-game temp files. It is also a good idea to close all running programs before installing any application, whether it be a game or an office suite.



Last edited by Wildstar; 03-04-2005 at 11:22 AM.
Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2005, 05:13 PM   #13
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,496
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Frosty

Here's a question I didn't think of that a friend of mine asked me to ask you: Do you have administrative rights on the machine? If you're trying to install something and nothing happens, it may be because you need more access to the machine than you've been given. I don't know your age, but if you're using another person's machine (i.e. parents'), get their permission to install it first.


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-06-2005, 08:09 AM   #14
FrostyAK
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Yup, got access, got space and requirements As i said above, game files can be copied from CD manualy and it will run jsut fine, but because setup isnt run it wont write into registry thus XWA for example will only run until you need to insert second CD.


Its not the problem with anyting besides setup.exe itself or installer, i`m just trying to figure out what it may need to run, maybe theres some servece it needs or some or some specific DLL that may be missig from my windows install.
FrostyAK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-06-2005, 11:38 AM   #15
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,496
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
I'm at a loss, then. I suggest trying to post on the LucasArts support forums (if you have a login on starwars.com, you may use that on that board), post in the "Other LucasArts Games" forum (should be in the "PC Games" subsection) and them everything you've told me. Maybe someone else there has a solution.


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2005, 05:13 PM   #16
^Invader
The Evil One
 
^Invader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: bah
Posts: 388
or you can email support@lucasarts.com



Omega Wing
DS-726
Reaper 9
^Invader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2005, 06:09 PM   #17
FrostyAK
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
K, thx.
FrostyAK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2005, 02:09 PM   #18
Wildstar
Can outbowl most of you
 
Wildstar's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brockton, MA, USA
Posts: 1,496
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Frosty

Ran into someone on the LucasArts support forums who was having the same problem you're having. He traced his problem to spyware that was interfering with the InstallShield program, so you might want to run a spyware scan. Ad-Aware is good enough, but I've found that I love the Microsoft Anti-Spyware beta. I'll repeat this in a PM to you to make sure you see this.


Wildstar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2005, 01:14 PM   #19
FrostyAK
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
thx man , i`ll try that.
FrostyAK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 05:47 AM   #20
splitfire
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Hey Frosty

I'm posting from Portugal. I've been a great fan of XWA for a long time (since the game was realeased), and I'm having the problems you and darthstinker had, I did not undestand how he did it, as, like you, playing with compatibilty mode does not help. Did you ever solved the problem? I'd like to trie everything before disc format (yes, I want to play the new missons that bad... )

I'm all ears
splitfire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-29-2005, 06:43 AM   #21
splitfire
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Problem solved: format and reinstall os XP SP2. It works, but wtih lots of breaks in cut cenes and after mission load...Nvidia MX400, P4 2,4Mhz
splitfire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > XWingAlliance.net > 1. XwingAlliance > Tech Center > XWA wont install

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.