lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Run a server with a router?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-25-2005, 08:33 AM   #1
Bugsyy
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Question Run a server with a router?

Is there any possible way to have others join my server even though I'm using a router? I gave them the IP address for what it would be if I had just the modem.But that didn't work.I even changed the IP ports but that was a failure also.If anyone has any other idea's on how to,please tell me.
Bugsyy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-25-2005, 08:51 AM   #2
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
I believe this belongs in the server section. You'll get more response there.

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-25-2005, 11:06 AM   #3
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
you will prob get more info there on how to open/forward ports in your router as well. so i'll just move this over there

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-25-2005, 11:20 AM   #4
El Sitherino
The Original.
 
El Sitherino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Planet Funkālnite.
Posts: 14,509
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran LF Jester 
www.portforward.com

What you also need to do is find out your real IP, not your network address.


“This body is not me. I am not caught in this body.
I am life without limit.”
El Sitherino is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-25-2005, 01:03 PM   #5
Kramerika
 
Kramerika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: PA, US of A
Posts: 73
Put your server LAN address (192.168.xxx.xxx) in the DMZ of your router or forward UDP port 29070 to the LAN address of the server. Then find your external internet IP address as was stated above. That's what people need to join your server from the internet.


Kramerika
-------------------------------
The Outlaws of Sherwood Forest
-------------------------------
A community, not a clan!
Kramerika is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2005, 01:35 PM   #6
Marauderboss
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 23
I also tried to get a server working with router but only the lan ip shows.
only with romoving the router the normal ip adres shows up.
Maybe does anyone knows the port for jka the strart trigger port and the end trigger port or something else i dont understand what to do
Marauderboss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2005, 02:24 PM   #7
Kramerika
 
Kramerika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: PA, US of A
Posts: 73
See this thread as it details most of what you should need to know. If it doesn't help, I'll try to expand.

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=150972


Kramerika
-------------------------------
The Outlaws of Sherwood Forest
-------------------------------
A community, not a clan!
Kramerika is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2005, 04:16 AM   #8
shim
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15
if you need help forwarding ports within your router, http://portforward.com/routers.htm is very helpful for begginers for this..
shim is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2005, 05:06 PM   #9
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,329
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Port forwarding is a skill lots of people have to learn when coming into online gaming... perhaps this should be a sticky?


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Dedicated Server > Run a server with a router?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:07 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.