lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Are you able to select the number of bots and tickets in a SP match?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-14-2005, 07:49 PM   #1
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
Are you able to select the number of bots and tickets in a SP match?

This was something that was sorely missed in the first Battlefront. With only 32 guys and 300 tickets on each map, the game ended way too quickly. Is there an option to set the number of bots and tickets in a match or is that only for MP?
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2005, 10:36 PM   #2
mr.piercy
Rookie
 
mr.piercy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 130
i read somewhere that in single player u can change it to 1500! this confirmed


Some of the funniest moments in Star Wars:

Qui-Gon Jinn (gesturing to nudge Watto's mind): "I don't have anything else, but credits will do fine."
Watto: "No, they won't!"
Qui-Gon Jinn (nudging harder): "Credits will do fine."
Watto: "No, they won't! What, you think you're some kind of Jedi, waving your hand around like that? I'm a Toydarian! Mind tricks don't work on me, only money!"

Exile: "I believe they call that 'pulling a Bindo'"

Mace Windu:"This party's over!"
mr.piercy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2005, 12:31 AM   #3
Darth Arrow
Rookie
 
Darth Arrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 57
does that mean u can have 1500 running around at the same time?

Or is that just the reinforcement count?


Darth Arrow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2005, 12:35 AM   #4
Darth Andrew
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Indiana, U.S.A
Posts: 943
I would assume it would be the ticket count, as 1500 soldiers running around at the same time would lag the best of computers to death.
Darth Andrew is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2005, 02:02 AM   #5
Darth Arrow
Rookie
 
Darth Arrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 57
But if that was on PS2 or X Box it would be good


Darth Arrow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2005, 02:28 AM   #6
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Andrew
I would assume it would be the ticket count, as 1500 soldiers running around at the same time would lag the best of computers to death.
I would hate to play on that server. Think of the team kills... Throw one gernade and get about 137 team kills.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2005, 04:38 AM   #7
Darth Arrow
Rookie
 
Darth Arrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 57
don't throw grenades :P..

LOL


Darth Arrow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2005, 05:00 PM   #8
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
It would be cool if you could at least up the number of bots to 50 per team so as to make the map more epic. Some guys who made maps went overboard, putting hundreds in which makes for some rather lousy gameplay. You have to be able to add numbers based on the size of the map. Most maps, in terms of size would be great with one hundred bots. Nice and epic, like the movies.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2005, 06:43 PM   #9
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Well you can start a lan game or a game with playercount 1 or with a password and play against bots. Thus you can set any ticket number you wish. I don't know if you could do that in SWBF1, but it seems likely. If nothing else, you can just create a batch file and try it out.

But, as with the ability to have humans on one team vs. bots on another, it may be that these are things that were only added in SWBF2 beta (hopefully they will be retained in the full version!).


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2005, 10:01 PM   #10
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
Hmm, I never thought to start a LAN game with one player and the rest as bots........ How would I go about creating a batch file?
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2005, 02:53 AM   #11
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyler_Durden
Hmm, I never thought to start a LAN game with one player and the rest as bots........ How would I go about creating a batch file?

Though this is for SWBF2 Beta, you can modify the info and try it with SWBF1.

Check the threads:

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=152834

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=153554

Let us know how it turns out!


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2005, 08:38 PM   #12
joesdomain
The Emperor
 
joesdomain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,451
Current Game: The Force Unleashed
I hope we can change the ticket count/reinforcement count. I hated that about Star Wars Battlefront. Playing a game for only 5 minutes and it is over. I turned my single player mode to easy and beat it in 2 minutes. I turned the hard level on one time and played it 7 minutes max. I would like to play one good battle for 15-30 minutes. That would be an awesome.


"You Rebel Scum"

"Wipe them out, all of them"
joesdomain is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2005, 08:45 PM   #13
ParanoidAndroid
Veteran
 
ParanoidAndroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The three dimensional geometric shaped space station of DOOM!
Posts: 787
Yes, it would be more fun if you could increase the reinforcement points/number of units for a nice long battle, or make them smaller if you want a shorter one. This way you could set handicaps for yourself if your just getting used to the game, or create a situation where you really have to fight for victory, like you and 7 friends online vs and entire army of rebel troops.


Not being paranoid doesn't mean someone isn't trying to kill you... or does it?
ParanoidAndroid is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2005, 09:13 PM   #14
RoxStar
Moderator
 
RoxStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,411
Current Game: Everything Zelda
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Arrow
But if that was on PS2 or X Box it would be good
Modern PC's can handle more than a PS2 or XBOX

RoxStar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2005, 10:54 PM   #15
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
In the SWBF2 beta you can change ticket numbers. I imagine you can in the full version as well. They'd be foolish not to!

Still, I doubt this is something they will do for single player. You're probably fixed at each difficulty level and map. But in MP servers can set the number per side, per map in the beta. You could host an offline or private game and have your "single player" experience that way. Also assuming they retain the ability to remove the FPS cap, like they do in the beta!


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 04:04 PM   #16
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
If it's not possible to do any of that I wonder what it would take if someone would actually have to make a program where you could manipulate the number of bots, ie. Battlefield 2.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2005, 05:49 AM   #17
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
You could change the bot numbers for single player games. It would be hidden in one of the game files. Good luck finding it...



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2005, 03:30 PM   #18
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
I figure it would be hidden on a text document somewhere. The problem is extracting it from whatever file names Pandemic compressed it with. Not an easy thing to do I would think.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2005, 03:57 PM   #19
MistressDeath
Rookie
 
MistressDeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
I remember the ticket count in the first Battlefront was the killer for me. 5 - 10 minute battles! No way, I want epic battles with 2000 tickets! Make a map with 5 spawn points with two of them that cannot be taken over, which are the home base for each side. This way it would be about a 30 minute game or more. I don't understand why Pandemic didn't see this in the first Battlefront. It's almost as if they didn't play Battlefield. Which you and I know is an impossiblity! Well, let's hope you can change the ticket number. I really want to come back to this forum and post
"Impressive, Most Impressive"! LOL!

MD


Mara Jade Rocks!
Intel P4 3.2GHZ E Prescott
MSI Neo 2 PFisr 865PE
Kingston 1GB PC3200 2-3-3
Ati Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb
MistressDeath is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2005, 04:34 PM   #20
MachineCult
Vincit Amor Patria
 
MachineCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Disneyland?
Posts: 2,657
It would be cool but think of the lag.



"For where ever there is a n00b, there is MachineCult to make him cry and cringe."
- Halo_92

MachineCult is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2005, 06:37 PM   #21
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistressDeath
...It's almost as if they didn't play Battlefield. Which you and I know is an impossiblity!
I never played Battlefield. You can change the ticket counters, just not in single player mode, at least not without hacking the game.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2005, 09:42 AM   #22
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Well there's your answer then. I changed the ticket counters in the beta all the time. I'm glad they retained that feature (they would have been silly not to!). This may be another good reason to get the PC version, too.

Now my question is... in the full version can you have one team of humans vs. one team of all bots (in Conquest mode?)?


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2005, 12:09 PM   #23
MachineCult
Vincit Amor Patria
 
MachineCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Disneyland?
Posts: 2,657
No way Kurgan the bots would get slaughtered.



"For where ever there is a n00b, there is MachineCult to make him cry and cringe."
- Halo_92

MachineCult is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2005, 02:19 PM   #24
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
I'm not asking you if you approve, I'm asking if it's POSSIBLE to enable it.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-02-2005, 08:06 AM   #25
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Nothing I've seen lets you do that, but I haven't gone through all the modes. (Except one human vs one bot)



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-02-2005, 08:10 AM   #26
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
zerted, try this... start up a server using a batch file, make it so you can select your side (ie: no forced team balance) and see if you can have all your humans on one team...

Shouldn't take long to try that, you just need to convince people to join your side.

You could do it in the beta. Let's see if you can do it in full. I don't have the game yet so I can't try it.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-02-2005, 08:17 AM   #27
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
I've played and beaten the game, but it was off of a friend's computer. I haven't bought the game yet, thus I can't join any servers.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-02-2005, 08:19 AM   #28
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Okay then. Obviously it would be impossible to do what I asked in Single Player, since it will always be you vs. bots.

When you get the game, check it out (and anyone else).

Honestly, it sounds like the people who've been following the game together thus far don't have it yet. It's the new people coming in and going "wow awesome" and going back to playing. Ah well....


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-02-2005, 08:29 AM   #29
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerted
I would hate to play on that server. Think of the team kills... Throw one gernade and get about 137 team kills.
The game would probably crash the moment you "apply" the 1500 reinforcements ticket




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront II > General Discussion > Are you able to select the number of bots and tickets in a SP match?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.