lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: next.think pr0oblem
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-23-2005, 03:31 PM   #1
Jufa
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 72
next.think pr0oblem

I have one function and I want it to run every client frame. Like if u have 90fps it would run 90 times/second. Or u have 33 and it runs 33 times per second.

Now I use:
next.think = level.time

and it runs every server frame (sv_fps). How I get it running every client frame?


Sry for stupid-sounding question,


Jufa :P
Jufa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2005, 12:22 AM   #2
stubert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 227
cg_runframe or g_runframe
stubert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2005, 04:53 AM   #3
Jufa
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 72
w00t thnx
Jufa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2005, 08:29 AM   #4
Jufa
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 72
uhh... how is that supposed to help me?
This function does the movement of flashlight and now it runs every serverframe, so it doesn't match the crosshair's movement (which updates every clientframe).
Jufa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2005, 01:06 PM   #5
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
mmm, I think the short answer is that you can't make the server side code update faster than client side except inside the clientthink process.

This sort of think really should be a client side functionality.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2005, 01:07 PM   #6
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
mmm, I think the short answer is that you can't make the server side code update as fast as the client fps, except possibly inside the clientthink process (which isn't designed to update world models other than the players).

This sort of code really should be client side.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2005, 01:57 AM   #7
Jufa
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 72
hmm... i'll try what happends if i move that function to client-side...
Jufa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > next.think pr0oblem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.