lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Custom .GIT w/Module editor?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-28-2005, 11:21 AM   #1
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,764
Current Game: KotOR II
I also have a small question (apologies for hijacking)...

Could I use a custom .git which I had already been working on in a new module...so I place it in the map's directory and then open up the module editor....?



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2005, 03:19 PM   #2
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
If (and only if) the .git is for a module supported by Kotor Tool's module editor, you would need to first extract the RIMs for the module (right click on the RIM to see extraction menu) into a project folder, then replace the .git there with your custom one.

You also need to copy in any items (ut* files) that are directly referenced by the .git into the project folder, and any that are indirectly referenced (via scripts, encounters, etc.) into the "extras" folder below that.

P.S. I split this post from the other thread because it is a good question all on its own, it really serves users better this way (IMHO), and hijacking a thread with a not-exactly-relevant question is not nice.


Kotor Tool Developer
http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/

"You want to help everyone who asks for aid, answer all of their questions, write that crucial bit of code for which they're searching, and be the hero who saves the day (and their job), but there comes a point when you realize that sleep is sometimes necessary."
—Stephen Toub

Visit the Kotor Tool Forum
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2005, 05:15 PM   #3
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,764
Current Game: KotOR II
Thanks!
Sorry about the thread, but I wasn't sure exactly whether to start a new thread...



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2006, 07:20 AM   #4
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,764
Current Game: KotOR II
I tried this, and I got an error, after it asked me if the .git was for KotOR or TSL...does this mean it's corrupted?



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2006, 09:02 AM   #5
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
No, it means that the file isn't tagged for one game or the other. Since each game version some data unique to it (dialog.tlk, etc.), Kotor Tool has to ask you to identify which one a file is for. Once you've saved a file, it's tagged with the game version number, editing date and Kotor Tool version, so it won't ask again in the future.

Now, if after you specify the game version an error occurs, there might be a problem. If you can view the .git using the View GFF Files as Text function and you don't get an error, the file is OK, but one or more values is out of range for the game. If the View GFF... function fails, your file is corrupt.


Kotor Tool Developer
http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/

"You want to help everyone who asks for aid, answer all of their questions, write that crucial bit of code for which they're searching, and be the hero who saves the day (and their job), but there comes a point when you realize that sleep is sometimes necessary."
—Stephen Toub

Visit the Kotor Tool Forum
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2006, 04:02 PM   #6
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,764
Current Game: KotOR II
Hmm...I think I tried the text dump and it was fine...I'll double-check and get back to you.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2006, 05:49 PM   #7
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,764
Current Game: KotOR II
I tried it again. The file isn't corrupted.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > Custom .GIT w/Module editor?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:45 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.