lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Making Items exclusive to a character
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-17-2005, 08:26 PM   #1
Command3r
Rookie
 
Command3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 58
Making Items exclusive to a character

Is it possible to make an item exclusive to a character?

If so how? and what file do I need to edit.
Command3r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2005, 09:10 PM   #2
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(•.°)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
You can edit the item's *.uti file in KT, the property you're looking for is 'PC Restriction'.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2005, 09:38 PM   #3
Command3r
Rookie
 
Command3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 58
Note: this is for KOTOR I.

I cant find it. What do you suggest?
Command3r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2005, 12:21 AM   #4
deathdisco
Bastards of Young
 
deathdisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Left of the Dial
Posts: 718
Veteran Modder Contest winner - Modding 
Depends on which character you are using. You could use a unique feat to restrict the use of an item.
IE:
PC -> Force sensitive
Bastila -> Battle meditaton
Juhani -> Force camouflage

Or you could use one of the classes(Scout,Scoundrel,Soldier,Gaurdian,Sentinel, Consular) to restrict the item.

deathdisco is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2005, 12:42 AM   #5
REDJOHNNYMIKE
Destroyer of Burfday!
 
REDJOHNNYMIKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Your liver... and a hobgoblin's jugular... simultaneously
Posts: 2,967
In KT, in the item's properties tab (where you add things like +5 Defense and Stun 20%) there should be an option for restrictions, I just don't remember exactly what you can restrict it to.


The Binary Theory of Life: Inside the box = bad... Outside the box = good...
Sanity is the highest form of oppression.
REDJOHNNYMIKE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2005, 01:28 AM   #6
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by REDJOHNNYMIKE
In KT, in the item's properties tab (where you add things like +5 Defense and Stun 20%) there should be an option for restrictions, I just don't remember exactly what you can restrict it to.
Not for KOTOR I... the PCRestriction property is a TSL addition.

You will have to do item restrictions deathdisco's way for K1.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2005, 01:31 AM   #7
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(•.°)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
^^^^
That's what I said as well, however I did not realize that this was for K1, in which it doesn't exist.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2005, 05:21 PM   #8
Command3r
Rookie
 
Command3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 58
Ok deathdisco I will go with your option.

What about creating new feats for specific characters and then using
those values on the restricted property.
Command3r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2005, 05:50 PM   #9
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,782
Current Game: KotOR II
Can't create new feats.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-19-2005, 02:37 AM   #10
deathdisco
Bastards of Young
 
deathdisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Left of the Dial
Posts: 718
Veteran Modder Contest winner - Modding 
I might be wrong but I think you can make new selectable feats. They just won't actually do anything. Not that they would have to if you just use it to restrict an item to a certain NPC.
EDIT:
There's also unused feats in the game you could use you'd just have to make them available. In feat.2da unused feats start with "XXXX_".


Last edited by deathdisco; 11-19-2005 at 02:51 AM.
deathdisco is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Making Items exclusive to a character

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.