lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: placing things in modules
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-20-2005, 07:55 PM   #1
Black_Eye_90
Rookie
 
Black_Eye_90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 22
placing things in modules

hey everyone, a while back I read an excellent tutorial on how to place things like characters and tables and things in to modules

well I can't seem to find that tutorial anymore and I was wondering if someone could help me find it

either that or could someone please tell me exactly how to add characters and placeables in to a module. what files am I working with? how do I make the character appear in the module? ect. ect.

any help would be greatly appreciated thanks


Black_Eye_90
Black_Eye_90 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2005, 08:03 PM   #2
clydeski
Rookie
 
clydeski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 57
try this http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143536
clydeski is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2005, 10:11 PM   #3
Black_Eye_90
Rookie
 
Black_Eye_90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 22
can you give me any more help there? what files am I editing?


Black_Eye_90
Black_Eye_90 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2005, 11:15 PM   #4
REDJOHNNYMIKE
Destroyer of Burfday!
 
REDJOHNNYMIKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Your liver... and a hobgoblin's jugular... simultaneously
Posts: 2,967
I don't know how to do it like the tut there, but one thing you can do is open the .git file of any module with k-gff editor, and look under the tree named placeables to see how it's set up, in the .git (again, open with K-gff) of the module you're working on right click on placeables, there should be an option to add a "struct" just name it the same as it is in the other placeables from the other .git, then right click and add more entries to that struct, the type of entries you want should be labeled in parentheses in the original .git you looked at first, give them the same names as the first example (tag, resref, etc.) then fill the area after the parentheses with the type of info the example uses (you will want to use different coordinates, filenames, etc. but they should be similar to the original .git), save the .git and put it with the rest of your module files and use KT's erf builder to make a .mod file, copy that file (probably in you KT root directory) into the modules file in your kotor directory, start the game and warp to the filename of your module to see if it's there.

Sorry if that's not precise enough, I've only done it once, but that should get you going in the right direction

I'll take a quick look and check back.

edit: Just checked, your struct name should be "9" (if you look at the placeables in the original .git you should see this)

[STRUCT ID:9] that's what you want to see,
then you right click on that entry and add
[FLOAT]
[RESREF]
[DWORD]
[BYTE]
[FLOAT]
[FLOAT]
[FLOAT]
make the first part of each match the original, for example the first line (float) has a first name of Bearing, you should see that in your original placeable entry.
on the other side is a number, you want that number to be different because that's direction it's pointing.
the resref is the item you want placed, you can find the name in .bif->templates->placeables, look at your original example, you should be able to find the name after resref in the placeable list.
[dword] and [byte] just have to match the ones in the original (if you look at all the placeables in the original .git these entries are all the same).
the last three are it's location in X,Y,Z coordinates, use D3 and TK's whereami armband tool ingame to get those coordinates.

I know I'm not skilled at this, but I hope that helps you some
(could somebody else help him now, it's too late for me to be going back and forth to my PC J/K)


The Binary Theory of Life: Inside the box = bad... Outside the box = good...
Sanity is the highest form of oppression.

Last edited by REDJOHNNYMIKE; 11-20-2005 at 11:34 PM.
REDJOHNNYMIKE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2005, 02:51 AM   #5
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black_Eye_90
can you give me any more help there? what files am I editing?
This is clearly stated in the Thread.

Just follow that and you can get a feel for the process to then go off and try one of your own.

@ RJM, repacking an entire module just to add a couple of things is overkill, and completely unnecissary.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2005, 05:55 PM   #6
Black_Eye_90
Rookie
 
Black_Eye_90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 22
I just read the tutorial and a lot of it looks like greek to me

could you be a bit more clearer with that? what tool am I using? is there any way to do this without scripting?

how do I " extract a footlocker" and why am I changing its template resref? and its "tag"?

sorry I don't know to much about this........

could someone help me out please?


Black_Eye_90
Black_Eye_90 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2005, 07:27 PM   #7
clydeski
Rookie
 
clydeski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 57
Your going to have to edit script files. Any text aditor, like notepad is adequate for that.

You'll need Kotortool to extract the files you will need to edit. http://www.starwarsknights.com/tools.php to find the KOTOR tool and many other usefull modding tools.

Scripts are essentialy done in C. You'll need some familiarity with that language.

You'll need the script compiler, I like Fred tetra's, go hear for info on how to use it and where to get it, http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143681

Look at the top of http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisp...s=&forumid=324 for a viriety of tutorials including on scripting.

What specific files you would edit will depend on where you want to put em, and what method in the tutorial in my previous post on the subject you choose to use.

Good Luck.
clydeski is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2005, 12:22 AM   #8
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Black_Eye_90,

What you want to do is an intermediate level mod, and I wrote that to someone who knew the basics, that is why you are having trouble, it is not an easy thing for beginners to pull off. While it is easy once you get the hang of it, the first time is a ton of this Trust me!

TSL is much more unforgiving in several ways, because of the way OE made the game and re-used files scripting is now much more necissary to add content... sadly there is no easier way to do what you want without a script.

Being that everything I could suggest clydeski has already said it, I will leave you in clydeski's more than capable claws... er'.... hands.

Possibly, when I get some free time, I will go in and work on that Tutorial some to try to make it more freindly.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2005, 01:24 AM   #9
Emperor Devon
36 Wings, 365 Eyes
 
Emperor Devon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,479
Current Game: Ass Effect
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black_Eye_90
what tool am I using?
For scripting, KOTOR tool. Although there are other script compilers, there's no point in downloading them... KOTOR tool has one built into it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black_Eye_90
is there any way to do this without scripting?
Yes. Download TK's GFF editor, get the coordinates for the thing you want to spawn, create a new struct in creatures, or doors or whatever, and just fill in the fields.

I would recommend using scripting, though. It's good to learn how to do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black_Eye_90
how do I " extract a footlocker" and why am I changing its template resref? and its "tag"?
Go to KOTOR tool, select the footlocker you want to extract, and click the "extract file" button.

You are changing its template resref and tag because all placeables need to have names. If they all had the same name, they'd all replace each other. If you are making a unique footlocker, it needs to have a unique tag, or else its inventory will be that of another footlocker.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabretooth
We will be great failures one day, you and I
Emperor Devon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > placing things in modules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.