lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Misson load times!!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-04-2001, 04:26 PM   #1
3dmike
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: london, uk
Posts: 4
Post Misson load times!!

Can anyone help? When I used to play XWA on a P2 300 it took about 20 seconds to load a mission. i.e to get from pressing "enter hangar" to arriving in the cockpit, giving me just enough time to review the mission briefing. My brand new hotrod machine with a 52 speed CD drive, 1 gig of DDRAM a 1.8 Gig CPU etc..... takes around five minutes to load a mission! What's going on? I know the drive is fine as it benchmarks up to its full speed and transfer rate. The pc is fast as hell at everything else but just takes too long to load XWA levels. Help me if you can.

Mike
3dmike is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2001, 01:15 AM   #2
The Vagrant
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Valnain, Valendia
Posts: 7
Post

I had the same problem..........except mine would never load.................to fix it make a backup of the game...........it should read the burned cd just fine.............worked for me.
The Vagrant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2001, 01:53 AM   #3
Keyan Farlander
Jedi Master
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 6,948
Forum Veteran 10 year veteran! 
Question

Why do you need such an obscene amount of RAM? Anyway, post more about your system - exact hardware and software specs.
Keyan Farlander is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2001, 01:04 PM   #4
3dmike
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: london, uk
Posts: 4
Post

My hardware spec is:

AMD TBird 1.4 watercooled & stable at 1.8Ghz
1 Gb Micron SDRAM
Abit K266 motherboard
Creative Geforce2 GTS 32Mb DDR
2*30Gb Western digital 7200rpm ATA100 HDDs (RAID 0)
SB Live! 5.1
Sony 40Speed CDROM
Toshiba 52*CDROM
IOmega ZipCD

Etc.....
Running win ME.
The "Obscene" amount of RAM is used for rendering 3D studio scenes and inimations. It's the RAM that really speeds up rendering times.

But why oh why does it take ages to load a mission?
3dmike is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2001, 08:48 PM   #5
Darth Massacator
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question

How much virtual memory are you allocating? Or are you letting windows manage it. Also, and I hate saying it 'cuz you kinda sound like you know a bit about pc's, are you religiously defragging your h/d?
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-08-2001, 09:27 AM   #6
3dmike
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: london, uk
Posts: 4
Post

My virtual memory is set to half my RAM, i.e 512Mb. This is a fixed size file which rarely gets used, Adding "Conservative swapfile usage=1" to the win.ini file stops windows using the swapfile until ALL RAM has been used, because as we know windows memory management sucks.

I of course defrag my RAID array every couple of days, or when I've installed/deleted a big prog.

I guess it's just one of them weird computer mysteries!?
3dmike is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-11-2001, 02:00 PM   #7
NiteFox
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5
Post

Okay, virtual memory should always be set higher than your RAM. Typically it should be about 2x to 4x the amount of RAM you have.
NiteFox is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2001, 10:18 AM   #8
3dmike
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: london, uk
Posts: 4
Post

So yoy really think I should have a paging file of 1Gb or more? I dont think so as windows memory management will actually slow down with any swap file above 768Mb.
3dmike is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > XWingAlliance.net > 1. XwingAlliance > Tech Center > Misson load times!!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:39 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.