lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: illogical parts to KOTOR
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-04-2005, 02:05 PM   #1
vader815
Rookie
 
vader815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 158
illogical parts to KOTOR

Can i just say that there were a few illogical parts to KOTOR.
One was that when you first start the game you are a Republic officer so you and Carth should have a republic uniform. Next when you use the Sith uniform to sneak into the Undercity of Taris it didn't make sense that the guard didn't ask why Carth, if in your party, wasn't wearing his uniform. After that the dark Jedi robes, why when you were the robes you don't look like the same as when the game wears it. Next is the doors, why don't the doors close behind and why aren't the control panels beside the doors so you can open and close the door at will. Next are the space docks, why is it that on most planets in the game the NCP's (don't know if i said that right), talk as if there are more docks but you don't see any signs of them. Then you have Manaan, if you were to use the back entrance to get into the base and you went to the front of the base the game would still act as if you went threw the front. Next i will talk about the Ebon Hawk, from the inside you see no indication of how you get into the gun turret and why aren't the cannons on the side of the ship ever used. Next is how you die, why is it no matter how you're or the NCP is killed they fall on their knees then the ground if you killed by a frag grenade you should be blasted to the ground, if you're killed by the a force wave then you should fall on the ground get back up and then fall on your knees and die, it makes no sense. These are only a few of the illogical things i can think of.


"Do what must be done, do not hasitate, show no mercy!" ~ Darth Sidious

"Peace is a lie, there is only passion.
Through passion I gain strength.
Through strength I gain power.
Through power I gain victory.
Through victory, my chains are broken.
The Force shall free me." ~ Sith Code
vader815 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2005, 03:32 PM   #2
BattleDog
Terrible in War
 
BattleDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,923
Roleplayer 
Next time if you're going to do this make a list.

1. You're a Commando, not a run of the mill soldier, or your a hired scout or hired hand with a smuggling past. Carth, well yes I suppose he could have been wearing a uniform at the start but it could be because:

A: He just got up.

B: He's just an advisor, he doesn't need a uniform.

C: He's a star pilot and thats what pilots wear when not in their fighters.

2. The Sith uniforms, well it is a little odd but Carth, or you, could be a scout and since the other Sith sees you as a Sith he doesn't feel the need to question you because he's lax a about his job. Gaddon says as much.

3. Yes that is a little odd but it doesn't give me grey hairs.

4. The doors don't close so that you can see where you've been, in point of fact some of them do close, such as the Cantinas on Taris. Adding in control panels so that you can open and close doors is a waste of time and effort, not to mention its easier just to click the door.

5. Just because you don't see the docks doesn't mean they aren't there. You can't see any of the back of the Jedi Enclave and on Kashyyk its specifically stated there are other docks elsewhere. On Tatooine you only see a small part of the town. The same with Manaan.

6. I can't remember about Manaan.

7. The way to the turret is via that ladder just back from the common area, the guns on the side are never needed, they're for making attacks on the big ships and if they aren't fixed foward they aren't fully rotational or auto-tracking. Using them on Sith fighters would require Carth to get on the fighter's tail and he's keeping the Hawk steady so that you can nail them in the turret.

8. Its the engine, live with it.


Fly Fast,
Shoot Straight,
Live Long!
BattleDog is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2005, 03:34 PM   #3
TheGreenGoblin
Junior Member
 
TheGreenGoblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by vader815
Next i will talk about the Ebon Hawk, from the inside you see no indication of how you get into the gun turret and why aren't the cannons on the side of the ship ever used.
There's a ladder near the center of the ship that looks about right for the gun turrets. As for the forward cannons, the Hawk is fleeing in those engagments, meaning their typically not in the right firing position to be of much use.
TheGreenGoblin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2005, 04:40 PM   #4
vader815
Rookie
 
vader815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 158
However in TSL when you use the prologue the ladder lead outside not to the turret. How do you explain that.


"Do what must be done, do not hasitate, show no mercy!" ~ Darth Sidious

"Peace is a lie, there is only passion.
Through passion I gain strength.
Through strength I gain power.
Through power I gain victory.
Through victory, my chains are broken.
The Force shall free me." ~ Sith Code
vader815 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2005, 05:41 PM   #5
TheGreenGoblin
Junior Member
 
TheGreenGoblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
A plothole in TSL, not KoTOR.
TheGreenGoblin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2005, 06:43 PM   #6
Emperor Devon
36 Wings, 365 Eyes
 
Emperor Devon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,479
Current Game: Ass Effect
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
Quote:
Originally Posted by vader815
However in TSL when you use the prologue the ladder lead outside not to the turret. How do you explain that.
Maybe there's more than one level the ladder reaches.

I don't see why you're bothering to whine about the stuff you don't like in KOTOR. If you don't like it, then go make your own game.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabretooth
We will be great failures one day, you and I
Emperor Devon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2005, 09:52 PM   #7
90SK
Universal Figment
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Somewhere...
Posts: 4,382
Current Game: Tetris
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emperor Devon
Maybe there's more than one level the ladder reaches.
Precisely. Remember the Millennium Falcon? ANH: Turret. ESB: way on top.

A lot of the "plot holes" in TSL only need a little imagination to bypass. Just because it isn't in the game doesn't mean that it doesn't exist.

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2005, 12:17 AM   #8
StaffSaberist
DECEPTION IS FINISHED! :D
 
StaffSaberist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The United States of America... and damn proud of it!
Posts: 1,092
And as for the Dark Jedi Robes thing, I think somebody made a mod that fixes it. I'm not sure about that, but it wouldn't surprise me.



Deception, the best SP level-set in the world, is done! Get it here!
"Query: What is it you wish, fat one?" - HK-47 at his best
I have begun modding TSL. Check it out here. and My Fanfic
StaffSaberist is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2005, 01:35 AM   #9
RobQel-Droma
Blah
 
RobQel-Droma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Up yours. X0
Posts: 2,216
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
The dark Jedi robes look like that because the dark Jedi have a set appearence, and so when you equip the robes on the dark Jedi they will have their own special look. Kind of like the clothing, it looks different on you than it does equipped on someone else. (correct me if I'm wrong anyone)

There is a way to the turrets, from that ladder in the middle of the ship. Open your eyes up, man.

The Sith uniform: the guy for one might be a total idiot as most Sith, and secondly, remember that Sith woman in the cantina? She was wearing regular clothes, yet she was still a Sith. The guard could have assumed that he just hadn't put on his uniform, and why would he need to if you had your uniform on?

The doors stay open, probably so you can find your way back, secondly, they don't stay open all the time, and thirdly, why waste a ton of effort putting panels and stuff like that when more than half the people won't use it? What is the need for that kind of thing, there is nothing "illogical" about it.

Space docks. Another waste of time. Maybe the reason you can't see them is because they aren't in one big lump, maybe? And maybe it would have been a waste of time and space to try and fit in other docks, especially when they would have had absolutely no connection whatsoever to anything you had to do.

I don't understand what you mean about Manaan. If you are talking about Lt. Gran and the deck officer, there isn't anything there. She doesn't say anything about you coming in the front; wondering how you got and what you are doing there doesn't mean that she is implying you got in through the front door.

As for the side turrets, those are used for shooting in front of the Hawk, like if you were chasing enemy fighters. The only fighters in the game are chasing you from the back, and they never get into position for the cannons to blast them; they have hardly any range of motion.

As for the dying thing, I'll say this: its a RPG, not an FPS. That is just the way the game works, I guess.

Well, I don't really see any problems there, vader815.

Last edited by RobQel-Droma; 12-05-2005 at 10:20 AM.
RobQel-Droma is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2005, 08:50 AM   #10
TheGreenGoblin
Junior Member
 
TheGreenGoblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobQel-Droma

Space docks. Another waste of time. Maybe the reason you can't see them is because they aren't in one big lump, maybe? :xp And maybe it would have been a waste of time and space to try and fit in other docks, especially when they would have had absolutely no connection whatsoever to anything you had to do.

That plus we actually do see other docking bays on Manaan so it's not like the Devs just forgot about them.

The only place I would have liked to see other docked ships would have been Korriban, could have been interesting.
TheGreenGoblin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2005, 10:26 PM   #11
BattleDog
Terrible in War
 
BattleDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,923
Roleplayer 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skye
Precisely. Remember the Millennium Falcon? ANH: Turret. ESB: way on top.

A lot of the "plot holes" in TSL only need a little imagination to bypass. Just because it isn't in the game doesn't mean that it doesn't exist.
Thats a different ladder in a totally different part of the ship, TSL is full of holes and screwups, even if they finished it would still be that way.


Fly Fast,
Shoot Straight,
Live Long!
BattleDog is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2005, 10:56 PM   #12
StaffSaberist
DECEPTION IS FINISHED! :D
 
StaffSaberist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The United States of America... and damn proud of it!
Posts: 1,092
Let me ask you this: Does it affect your gameplay?



Deception, the best SP level-set in the world, is done! Get it here!
"Query: What is it you wish, fat one?" - HK-47 at his best
I have begun modding TSL. Check it out here. and My Fanfic
StaffSaberist is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2005, 11:31 PM   #13
RobQel-Droma
Blah
 
RobQel-Droma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Up yours. X0
Posts: 2,216
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
Let me answer you: NO, no, no, and did I say no. It doesn't do anything whatsoever. No unfinished quests or modules because of the space docks, no wierd movies because of the ladder you mentioned, nothing because the dark Jedi robes don't make you look like the dark Jedi do. Nothing at all.
RobQel-Droma is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-06-2005, 03:28 AM   #14
Shem
Master of the Force
 
Shem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,900
Current Game: Variations of games
10 year veteran! Veteran Modder Notable contributor Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by vader815
Can i just say that there were a few illogical parts to KOTOR.
One was that when you first start the game you are a Republic officer so you and Carth should have a republic uniform. Next when you use the Sith uniform to sneak into the Undercity of Taris it didn't make sense that the guard didn't ask why Carth, if in your party, wasn't wearing his uniform.
For the most part you are reading way too much into it. But I'll go over these parts. The Republic uniforms. I've changed it so my PC and Carth wear that as their default clothing. I do try to keep it realistic when you are on Taris that you both wear armor to cover up the fact you both are Republic soldiers.

As for the Sith uniform. I've make it at times where I duplicate it so both Carth and my PC are wearing them.


Interested in hosting a your KOTOR or TSL mod at FileFront? Send your mod HERE and we'll validate it as soon as we can! FileFront is a good way to get publicity for your mod as we get 1000's of visitors everyday. Is my LucasForum PM box full again? If you really need to reach me, PM me at YouTube under the username: Shem L -- Watch my KOTOR videos! Download my mods from FileFront!

Shem is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-06-2005, 08:16 AM   #15
Soogz
Forumite
 
Soogz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 506
Current Game: Fifa 09
Yeah I mean obviously it is going to have illlogical parts. If you don't like them fix them. I will take your Carth example. Use cheat codes to get two if it is realy making you mad.


Soogz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-06-2005, 11:26 AM   #16
90SK
Universal Figment
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Somewhere...
Posts: 4,382
Current Game: Tetris
Quote:
Originally Posted by BattleDog
Thats a different ladder in a totally different part of the ship, TSL is full of holes and screwups, even if they finished it would still be that way.
Yes yes, I'm aware. No need to start a debate. I said "a lot", not "all".

I didn't know that about the Falcon; I haven't seen the ESB in a while. You get the picture, though. We never see the actual ladder and where it goes. It's perfectly logical that it would have a port for the turret, and also lead to a maintenance hatch.

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-06-2005, 12:24 PM   #17
BattleDog
Terrible in War
 
BattleDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,923
Roleplayer 
Specifically the ladder on the Falcon leads up and down to the two turrets, which are enclosed bubbles. The thing in ESB is a lift, which is situated either directly above the boarding ramp or in the same place on the opposite side of the ship.

AS to the plot holes, well I'don't play TSL anymore, Just KOTOR.


Fly Fast,
Shoot Straight,
Live Long!
BattleDog is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-06-2005, 06:26 PM   #18
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,413
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
My advice on trying to justify everything that happens in a game is simple: don't even try. These things had to be "illogical" for the game to progress.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-06-2005, 06:32 PM   #19
StaffSaberist
DECEPTION IS FINISHED! :D
 
StaffSaberist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The United States of America... and damn proud of it!
Posts: 1,092
Quote:
Let me answer you: NO, no, no, and did I say no.
Thanks.

Quote:
My advice on trying to justify everything that happens in a game is simple: don't even try. These things had to be "illogical" for the game to progress.
Exactly. If you let it get to you that much, you may need to stop a minute and think about how you don't work for BioWare (or do you?) and you don't need to worry about it. Heck, I just get so absorbed in the plot I just don't care. I played KotOR, and never made the connection between the ladder and the turrets. But I didn't really care all that much. I guess I need a higher awareness level.



Deception, the best SP level-set in the world, is done! Get it here!
"Query: What is it you wish, fat one?" - HK-47 at his best
I have begun modding TSL. Check it out here. and My Fanfic
StaffSaberist is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2005, 01:40 PM   #20
BattleDog
Terrible in War
 
BattleDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,923
Roleplayer 
*Awareness check failed*

[You step in the Bantha Poodoo and land on your backside]

I don't let little things like those in KOTOR bother me. I don't like TSL's holes though.


Fly Fast,
Shoot Straight,
Live Long!
BattleDog is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2005, 02:18 PM   #21
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
Well, some things are done for simplicity's sake, as a game.

Its like, no one ever questioned why there is no washroom in any apartments and things, and clothings never need to be cleaned. SOmetimes simple logical things would cause a big fuss if implemented. That would be an annoyance to both the dev and the players.

As for the Ebon Hawk thing, I think the elevator thingy do lead to both the cannon and the hatch though.
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2005, 12:38 AM   #22
RobQel-Droma
Blah
 
RobQel-Droma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Up yours. X0
Posts: 2,216
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
^You know what, of every single thing in the games or movies that could have bothered me, that did:

Where are the bathrooms!?!?!?!?
RobQel-Droma is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2005, 09:18 AM   #23
lord ignarn
Junior Member
 
lord ignarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: My fortress in Ziost
Posts: 258
It´s a recurrent question, but in some of the SW books of Incredible Locations there are bathrooms, like in Luke uncles hovel, the Outlander Club (from ep II). But in the games... Where are also the bedrooms for the jedi in Dantooine Enclave, the dining rooms? Why is the Republic Embassy in Manaan so little (there aren´t doors for hidding more rooms)? I think that they just simplify the places for them being not so big maps.

Also it´s illogical Kashiik (sorry if bad written) being so little, where are all the other wookie cities, why are the settlements so little, and how do they comunicate between cities?
lord ignarn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2005, 09:16 PM   #24
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by lord ignarn
Where are also the bedrooms for the jedi in Dantooine Enclave, the dining rooms?
True Jedi don't need food

Quote:
Originally Posted by lord ignarn
Why is the Republic Embassy in Manaan so little (there aren´t doors for hidding more rooms)? I think that they just simplify the places for them being not so big maps.
Probably to keep the loading times as low as possible. Besides, what would be the point in seeing any of those?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lord ignarn
Also it´s illogical Kashiik (sorry if bad written) being so little, where are all the other wookie cities, why are the settlements so little, and how do they comunicate between cities?
There is indeed mention of other cities. You only get to see Zaalbar's part of Kashyyyk though That's the point of the story.


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2005, 11:24 AM   #25
BattleDog
Terrible in War
 
BattleDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,923
Roleplayer 
As to the other two, well we only see a tiny part of Ahto City, maybe that's just the Republic's Public Office. As to Dantooine, again, you only see the public part of the Enclave. The fact the TSL opened that bit up but still made it look tiny isn't Bioware's fault. What does bother me a bit though is the appartments. I mean how hard would it have been to put a door in the back for a 'fresher. It wouldn't even have to go anywhere it could just be marked "Use Refresher." Actually that sounds like the sort of thing Bioware might have done. You could break into someone else' appartment on Taris and say "I just need to use your refresher."

There could be a count so that if you did it enough Carth suggest you go see Zelka.


Fly Fast,
Shoot Straight,
Live Long!
BattleDog is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2005, 03:31 PM   #26
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,413
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
You'd be surprised at how hard that could be. It wasn't necessary to the story, so they didn't do it.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2005, 10:09 AM   #27
BattleDog
Terrible in War
 
BattleDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,923
Roleplayer 
Well they could still put the door in.


Fly Fast,
Shoot Straight,
Live Long!
BattleDog is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2005, 10:11 AM   #28
90SK
Universal Figment
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Somewhere...
Posts: 4,382
Current Game: Tetris
I don't think it was very high on their "to do" list.

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2005, 12:30 PM   #29
Venom750
Veteran
 
Venom750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England
Posts: 885
I was bored so i start kotor 1 again because lets face it its sick so its occured to me your ships under attack your engine are blown and theirs alot of noise and your characters asleep i mean what the f%*k okay you wake up but if your going into battle against the sith fleet i would asume you'd be at the station ready for battle

and also

Do u think you character would have remebed the stuff with bastila and the star maps if he didn't bang his head in the escape pod?


I not paranoid it's everyone else

Venom750 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2005, 01:03 PM   #30
Rain128
Rookie
 
Rain128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the hall on your left, fifth door on your right...
Posts: 81
i belive they had just come out of hyperspace.. as any big ship they have crew rotations thats easy to explain 1 guy cant watch a post 24 hours a day 7 days a week so usaly they are spit into 3 or more rotational shifts.. as Trisk (sp) explains why you may never have met (that and you just got onbord)

as for the noise yeah the battle wakes you up thats why your standing when he runs in, and him not shaking you awake

Also that would be suicide to send one ship into a fleet.. so im guessing they didnt have any intel saying that the planet was under sith control, kinda like when Juhni (sp(yeah i really suck at trying to rember how to spell there names)) tells you when the mandalorians attacked there home world they knocked out intersteller comms first... and all local was then jamed...
so no one knew they were there in the first place..

anyway

as for the rembering thing, i would have ot say yes......
Rain128 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2005, 01:10 PM   #31
Venom750
Veteran
 
Venom750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England
Posts: 885
At the start of the game with the big rolling speech with the music it say Ender spire was going into battle to above the outer rim world of taris to try and stop the sith domination of the galaxy and i not in the miltary myself i would think theired want all hand awake and at their stations.If you watch the movie at the start you'll see what i mean because i'm guess many people havn't watched in a long time


I not paranoid it's everyone else

Venom750 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2005, 07:24 PM   #32
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,413
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Even if Revan hadn't hit his head in the escape pod, he wouldn't have remembered the Star Maps. His loss of memory was not due to the crash, but to the damage his mind sustained when he was captured by the Jedi Council. The Council wiped his memories and reprogrammed his mind. His memories only began to resurface when he was in proximity to the Star Maps due to the impression he left in the Force when he first found the Star Maps.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2005, 04:12 PM   #33
Rain128
Rookie
 
Rain128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the hall on your left, fifth door on your right...
Posts: 81
then we have some inconsistinces in the game, carth points out that they didnt choose that battle it was forced apon them...

and sending one ship into a sith fleet is suiside... and a waste of resources...

there was someone at your post, you have a 3 man rotation you dont have all 3 standing there post at one time ... 1 dose the work and the other 2 stand there with there thumbs up there butt??
Rain128 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Game Discussion > Republic Newsfeed > illogical parts to KOTOR

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.