lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Freeze on loss of connection...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-30-2005, 05:29 AM   #1
tmccort
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Unhappy Freeze on loss of connection...

Every so often when I'm playing multiplayer a flashing icon in the lower right tells me that I have lost my connection or something. However when this happens the game seems to stop listening for ANY input, including the ESC key, meaning that I can't bring up the menu to exit the game and instead have to CTRL-ALT-DEL and end the process.

Now the strange part is that the sound and animations still work (The spinning CP thing for example)... So the game isn't really frozen, so why doesn't the ESC key work?
tmccort is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-30-2005, 09:01 PM   #2
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
The flashing icon is display when your game ping is getting high. The game is not connecting with the server in a timely manner and may have lag. When there is extensive lag with a server, sometimes it seems the computer freezes when it really doesn't. In reality, it is waiting for game data from the server and has gotton so behind, it is not paying attention to your input. I think this is what may be happening. It it stays in this state from 2 minutes, then the computer is most likely frozen.

Turning down your graphics settings may help if its just lag, but if your computer is freezing, hopefully the coming patch will solve it.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2006, 09:05 AM   #3
tmccort
Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
If it's lag, fine, but at least let me exit the game or try to start a new one...

Having a loss of internet connection make the game not respond to ANY commands or input is absolutely crazy!
tmccort is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2006, 01:11 AM   #4
evilputtyman
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
I'm experiencing this problem as well actually. I've tried turning down all the graphics and turning off the sound but none of them seem to work. I've also tried disabling my firewall to see that if that anything but apparenlty it doesn't. So far I really have no clue as to why my swbf 2 is crashing. Hopefully lucasarts will solve this problem with the upcoming patch.
evilputtyman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2006, 02:28 PM   #5
PHaNToM_21
Lurker
 
PHaNToM_21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Well at least I know I'm not the only one with this problem.

Fortunately, it doesnt happen all the time to me but often enough to becoming really annoying.

Like some of you, after the game froze up I'd have to crtl alt del to shut the program down and reboot, but I've found that if I just disconnect the DSL cable from computer the game will reset itself after a few seconds and a message box will pop up stating that I lost connection with the online servers and to try again. At that point I just re-log on to the online server.

It's not a solution to the problem, but it makes it easier to get back to playing after the game freezes as soon as possible.

And I guess it makes it easier for me since my DSL cable is plugged into my wireless router right next to my monitor.
PHaNToM_21 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2006, 11:00 AM   #6
PHaNToM_21
Lurker
 
PHaNToM_21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Ok I read the Help files that come with the game and in it they (the game developers) already foresaw some people may run across this particular problem.

These are some tips they recommmended:

1. Disable any programs that may be running in the background (while playing)
2. Disable your screensaver options (while playing)
3. Have a webpage open already connected to the internet.
4. Check your firewall settings and insure that the game isnt being blocked by your securtiy program.
5. Choose game servers with the lowest ping rating.
6. Choose game servers that are PC dedicated.


There were some other tips in the Help sections of BF2 but I can't remember them all.

Anyways, I went ahead and followed the steps they suggested and VIOLA! I had no freeze up problems at all last night. There was still a little lag problem but I never froze up again.

I went as far as logging onto a server with a large amount of users and was still able to continue onto the next missions without freezing up.


PHaNToM_21 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2006, 05:47 PM   #7
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Reason for step number 3: Your internet settings might be set to auto-disconnect when not in use for a prolonged period of time. Leaving a page open may help your computer in determining that you are still using the internet connection.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront II > Tech Help > Freeze on loss of connection...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:48 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.