lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Mouse or Keyboard
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-30-2005, 11:55 PM   #1
gandiva
Rookie
 
gandiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Heart of Gold
Posts: 75
Question Mouse or Keyboard

I was just wondering if the controls on the keyboard are practical. Of course it would be quicker and faster to learn them but, my fingers stumble quite a lot when I try to use them. My question is: Which one is better? Using the mouse or the keyboard hotkeys?

I was also wondering, if you DO use hotkeys, what changes you made to have the controls easier and simpler. Actually, I like Hotkeys. Sometimes it gets annoying using the mouse all the time. So basically I just wanted to know what settings you changed or would like to recommend for me for the HoyKeys.

Those darn W, S, Z, and C controls!!!!!
gandiva is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2005, 12:01 AM   #2
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,414
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Mouse. Without the mouse, you might as well play it on Xbox.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2005, 04:23 PM   #3
The_Maker
Veteran
 
The_Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 966
I use both...


The_Maker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2005, 09:57 PM   #4
JediKnight707
Or I will choke you...
 
JediKnight707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: On that Blvd. of Broken Dreams
Posts: 1,478
Yeah, both...Why wouldn't you?

JediKnight707 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-01-2006, 02:57 PM   #5
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
both
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-01-2006, 05:15 PM   #6
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,414
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gandiva
Those darn W, S, Z, and C controls!!!!!
Why not change them to the arrow keys? Much easier. Of course, I usually move with the mouse by holding both mouse buttons down and moving it around to turn.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi_Knight_707
Yeah, both...Why wouldn't you?
Because the hotkeys can be hard to remember if you don't make an effort. And if I want to make an effort at something, I'll go back to work, thanks.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-01-2006, 07:56 PM   #7
spinkle
BYOOOOOOOOOOOOON!
 
spinkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ooki na yume, yume...suki desho??
Posts: 499
i used the mouse almost exclusively for kotor 1 until i got to the point where i severely strained the muscles in my right hand from holding down both mouse buttons to move. (hella painful)

i used the keyboard movement keys and the mouse for menu selection for most of my kotor 2 games, but after a while i re-strained my right hand and started having to play using the keyboard exclusively. it took me a little while to adjust to that, but after a while it felt a lot more efficient than using the mouse at all. however i had to switch up between just keyboard and some mousework to keep from straining my left hand.


<jmac7142> Most relationships exist despite being built on lies though. <El Sitherino>Yeah, and they usually involve freaky weird sex or money.
spinkle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-01-2006, 10:47 PM   #8
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,431
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
I solely use the mouse.


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-01-2006, 11:12 PM   #9
Soogz
Forumite
 
Soogz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 506
Current Game: Fifa 09
both. Keyboard to manuver, mouse to look around.


Soogz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2006, 12:00 AM   #10
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Doctor
Because the hotkeys can be hard to remember if you don't make an effort. And if I want to make an effort at something, I'll go back to work, thanks.
Uh! Wow man, just wow! Your memory is this bad at your age?

Remembering some hotkeys for a game relates to work for you?

J/K Doc! ... Or Not!

Note to self: Apparently living in a phone booth is really, really bad for your physical and mental health!

On-Topic: I use both keyboard and mouse.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2006, 12:05 AM   #11
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,414
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
I am about 900 years old, so forgive me if my memory is getting a little bit weak. Still better than that of any human. Can I help it that I contain more knowledge than the rest of my people combined? Excuse me if I forget a few things every once in a while. Besides, I already have to remember how to do space-time calculations... it's rediculously complicated. Far to much so for your comprehension

[Influence Failure] 900 years old? You are just a child, when compared to one over a Million years old! First Ones FTW! -RH

You really like that edit post button, don't ya RH
Anyway, I already got a warning about spam, so I'm gonna stop now.

Last edited by The Doctor; 01-02-2006 at 01:30 PM.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2006, 02:25 AM   #12
Jae Onasi
Antiquis temporibus, nati tibi similes in rupibus ventosissimis exponebantur ad necem
 
Jae Onasi's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10,912
Current Game: Guild Wars 2, VtMB, TOR
Alderaan News Holopics contributor Helpful! LucasCast staff Veteran Fan Fic Author 
I use the movement keys to walk/turn around (and every so often the 'flourish' key because my kids think it's beyond cool and very fun to see Jedis wave their ls around), mouse for everything else.


From MST3K's spoof of "Hercules Unchained"--heard as Roman medic soldiers carry off an unconscious Greek Hercules on a 1950's Army green canvas stretcher: "Hi, we're IX-I-I. Did somebody dial IX-I-I?"

Read The Adventures of Jolee Bindo and see the amazing Peep Surgery
Story WIP: The Dragonfighters
My blog: Confessions of a Geeky Mom--Latest post: Security Alerts!
Love Star Trek AND gaming? Check out Lotus Fleet.

Jae Onasi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2006, 02:30 AM   #13
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
I find mouse useful for walking and targetting but rely mostly on the keyboard for the rest.
To each his own I guess

(Personnally, I think the keyboard+mouse setup is better then the XBox controller.)


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2006, 03:51 AM   #14
Melly
Junior Member
 
Melly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fixing things with Bao-Dur...
Posts: 274
I use both as well, but I rekeyed the keyboard hotkeys.


"They may not call you a Jedi anymore, but believe me you are. It's not the sort of thing you just stop being. You're stuck with it. Just like you're stuck being the General."
~Bao-Dur, The Sith Lords
Melly is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2006, 10:53 PM   #15
Vibro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 264
I move with the Q, W, E & S controls and my mouse is for skipping prologue generally.
Vibro is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2006, 06:15 PM   #16
FR0ST
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
I use the WASD keys for moving only because I have this problem holding both mouse buttons down. I don't know why. I just involuntarily let go.
FR0ST is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 02:13 AM   #17
Carthaholic
Rookie
 
Carthaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: A galaxy far, far away...
Posts: 92
Both is really the most effective way to play the game IMO. I use the keyboard (WASD) for walking, turning, saving/loading, pausing and I also constantly use the 'X' button to wave my ligthsabers. I use the mouse to look around, target enemies/npcs, select dialogues, skip cutscenes and access menus.


[Force Persuade] You want to visit my art gallery... HERE!!!

- Carthaholic
Changed pic to link. Please find a sig pic that is in line with our sig rules, 500X120 and 80kb max for all combined images, Forum Rules. ~ SWK Staff
Carthaholic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 06:25 AM   #18
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carthaholic
Both is really the most effective way to play the game IMO. I use the keyboard (WASD) for walking, turning, saving/loading, pausing and I also constantly use the 'X' button to wave my ligthsabers. I use the mouse to look around, target enemies/npcs, select dialogues, skip cutscenes and access menus.
Couldn't have said it better myself Same here.. except sometimes I'll use the keyboard HotKeys for item activation or combat (when I can remember to.. hehehe)...


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 12:22 PM   #19
Vaelastraz
Veteran
 
Vaelastraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: City 17. It's safer.
Posts: 851
I use both.
WASD to go around like in every game and mouse for look around and targeting and almost everything else. As you have a timestop in Kotor IMO it isnt necessary to use hotkeys, but gerally in every non-rpg i use hotkeys.
Vaelastraz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Game Discussion > Republic Newsfeed > Mouse or Keyboard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:30 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.