lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: how to mod this demo for dummies.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-22-2006, 05:19 PM   #1
shadowsfm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 477
how to mod this demo for dummies.

i suck at writing, but decided there needs to be a guide about this

note: make a copy of the whole demo's folder so that you will always have the original

lets start with how to install chriz mod since some people don't get it.
when downloading his mod it comes in a .rar file. if you can open this file, go to google and look up rar or winrar. there is a readme file, it says put the xml, resource and scripts in to "C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Empire at War Demo\GameData\Data." and the swmod.exe goes one folder level up "C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Empire at War Demo\GameData."

note: swmode.exe only unlocks the Corellian Gunschip, Marauder Cruiser, Assault Frigate MK II, and z95, that is usually locked. so its good to always have that.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

now ill tell you how to change unit your starting units and starting credits, and how to unlock all planets (which come with no maps.)

unless you already are using these mods here, you will need to extract the file from the "C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Empire at War Demo\GameData\Data\config.meg," using a .meg extractor that you can find here somewhere on these boards.

if you use the extractor (which comes with a read me) or have a mod already you can find lots of .xml files. find one thats called "Campaigns_singleplayer" or anything that has these words in it. open with note pad. 90% down this long page, it will say,


<!--**********************************************-->
<!--**********************************************-->
<!--************DEMO CAMPAIGN***-*******************-->
<!--***********************************************-->


you can change starting credits, tech, units here (always good to keep starting tech at 4, unless you have a way to advance.)


<Starting_Credits> Rebel, 20000 </Starting_Credits>
<Starting_Tech_Level> Rebel, 2 </Starting_Tech_Level>
<Max_Tech_Level> Rebel, 4 </Max_Tech_Level>


<!-- HOTH -->

<!-- Rebel Space Forces -->
<Starting_Forces> Rebel, Hoth, Rebel_Star_Base_2 </Starting_Forces>
<Starting_Forces> Rebel, Hoth, Rebel_X-Wing_Squadron </Starting_Forces>
<Starting_Forces> Rebel, Hoth, Rebel_X-Wing_Squadron </Starting_Forces>
<Starting_Forces> Rebel, Hoth, Y-Wing_Squadron </Starting_Forces>
<Starting_Forces> Rebel, Hoth, Y-Wing_Squadron </Starting_Forces>
<Starting_Forces> Rebel, Hoth, Han_Solo_Team </Starting_Forces>

you can also add or delete enemy forces here.

note: find hero list in the "Namedherounits.xml" file

and open all planets

<Planet_Auto_Reveal>FALSE</Planet_Auto_Reveal> (change to true)


to unlock the mon cal ship, open the Spaceunitscapital.xml file.
look for

<SpaceUnit Name="Calamari_Cruiser">
<Required_Planets>MonCalimari, Kuat, Fondor, Sullust</Required_Planets>

change the planets to hoth
<Required_Planets>hoth</Required_Planets>

want to play as the empire? you can.

<AI_Player_Control> Empire, None </AI_Player_Control>
<AI_Player_Control> Pirates, None </AI_Player_Control>
<AI_Player_Control> Rebel, SandboxHuman </AI_Player_Control>


put the top one to "sandboxhuman" and rebels to none (or "basicrebel" to give them an AI.) also you need to open the Factions.xml file, select and cut the empire half of the page, and paste it above the rebel half.

id like to tell how to shorten the title loading screen time, but i don't know how yet

Last edited by shadowsfm; 01-22-2006 at 06:01 PM.
shadowsfm is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2006, 05:20 PM   #2
shadowsfm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 477
i could use help and suggestions and comments.

do i get a sticky
shadowsfm is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2006, 05:28 PM   #3
DanteRenEvo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
same info i posted on the swrebellion forum
DanteRenEvo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > how to mod this demo for dummies.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.