lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Is the AI cheating already?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-25-2006, 01:34 PM   #1
Wiz33
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Is the AI cheating already?

I was playing one of the mods and I can see the Imperial expanding at a much faster rate than I do. Then I happen to intercept one of their fleet (we arrived at the planet about the same time) and all it had is an imperial shuttle. Is that all it take for the AI to take over a planet?
Wiz33 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2006, 02:32 PM   #2
Jan Gaarni
Grand Moff
 
Jan Gaarni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5,806
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Yes, and so it is for you.

Basically, all you have to do is send a trooper to every neutral planet, land him, then send him off to the next planet.
Rins and repeat.

Meanwhile, build some forces to secure some of the planets you have "captured". You won't be able to secure every planet you capture, so choose the most relevant for you first.




Empire At War Moderator
&
SWGalaxies Moderator

- What we do in life, echoes in eternity!
- May the pants be with you!

A smile is the shortest distance between people - Victor Borge!


Custom Avatar by Wraith 8
Jan Gaarni is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2006, 03:37 PM   #3
Dirk Pitt
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: On the Bridge of the Executor(im one of the guys doin nothin on the controls)
Posts: 125
Plus ai is a processor and can give multiple orders at one time where you can only give one.
Dirk Pitt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2006, 04:30 PM   #4
Gnrl_Tempest
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
There is also the chance that you went into the space map that has that tutorial shuttle. I find that that map is horrible, since it makes people start in the wrong spot, and the forces are also wrong.

I find the AI usually spreads out with a proper force, instead of the human idea of spending a lone unit to take over a planet..
Gnrl_Tempest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2006, 01:16 PM   #5
Goldenshadow
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
You probably won't be able to do this in the full game since you'll need a sizeable army to defeat pirate factions. These freebie planets will be limited to the ones which favor your side.
Goldenshadow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2006, 05:02 PM   #6
Gnrl_Tempest
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
ya, doesnt make much sense that a single squad of stormtroopers can take over an entire world lol
Gnrl_Tempest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2006, 07:43 AM   #7
Apocalypse|TFL
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 130
Easiest way (I've found so far) to secure a planet at the beginning of the game;

Land a troop to capture then build a light factory and keep going to advanced factory. As far as the demo goes plus the mods i've used this gives you a great defense in the early game. Example;

You capped a planet and built all the factories and move on. The planet gets attacked. You start with vehicles from all factories. i.e. Empire, you'll start with 4 at-st 3 heavy tanks (forget what they are called) and one at-at. More than enough to defend against an early opponent seeing as the at-at can also drop 2 troops to cap the checkpoints. It's easy, affordable and it will work for the early portion of the game. After you get more setup and your opponent does you'll have to make better defenses of course.
Apocalypse|TFL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Prepare For Ground Assault! > Is the AI cheating already?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.