lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Projecting black light?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-20-2005, 02:27 PM   #1
Lathain Valtiel
Ex-Angel
 
Lathain Valtiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 929
LFN Staff Member 
Projecting black light?

While it's not necessarily mapping related, I thought whoever frequents this section would know best...

Is it possible to get something to project black-colored light?


Kurgan's Meatgrinder (JA Server: 72.5.248.212:29070)

Player tested, Valtiel approved.

Valtiel approved downloads for Meatgrinder: http://strategy.jediknight.net/jka/downloads.shtml
Lathain Valtiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2005, 01:47 AM   #2
Lindsey
Junior Member
 
Lindsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Posts: 340
make a light and give it a negative value

e.g -600
Lindsey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2005, 11:45 AM   #3
Lathain Valtiel
Ex-Angel
 
Lathain Valtiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 929
LFN Staff Member 
I see... Time to go to Razor then. Thank you though.

(I'm trying to get a black lightsaber to project the black light it's supposed to project. Thought I was messing up somewhere.)


Kurgan's Meatgrinder (JA Server: 72.5.248.212:29070)

Player tested, Valtiel approved.

Valtiel approved downloads for Meatgrinder: http://strategy.jediknight.net/jka/downloads.shtml
Lathain Valtiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2005, 04:45 PM   #4
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
wow, thanks for tip. I'll fix that right now.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2005, 08:42 PM   #5
Lathain Valtiel
Ex-Angel
 
Lathain Valtiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 929
LFN Staff Member 
Correction, as it appears that doesn't work. How depressing.


Kurgan's Meatgrinder (JA Server: 72.5.248.212:29070)

Player tested, Valtiel approved.

Valtiel approved downloads for Meatgrinder: http://strategy.jediknight.net/jka/downloads.shtml
Lathain Valtiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2005, 08:45 PM   #6
Tesla(DF)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Under my laptop
Posts: 256
use a PNG file for the glow, put black on transparency, and give the shader the right lines.


Codename: Tesla
Assignment: Recreate, and enhance Dtention.
Tesla(DF) is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2005, 12:37 AM   #7
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Unfortunately, the light doesn't work like that. The actual projected light is just a sphere of light that is set by a radius and a RGB color value. Black (0, 0, 0) doesn't display anything.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2005, 08:37 AM   #8
Tesla(DF)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Under my laptop
Posts: 256
If he wants a black lightsaber he should decompile the JA+ MOD they have one that works and glows. It doesn't take away light, it just glows black. And if he wants to take away light in a map I do believe that -600 would do the trick.


Codename: Tesla
Assignment: Recreate, and enhance Dtention.
Tesla(DF) is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2005, 09:49 AM   #9
Lathain Valtiel
Ex-Angel
 
Lathain Valtiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 929
LFN Staff Member 
...We use the exact same saber, namely from TCK, though OJP uses one I modified for better looks.

By project that light', I mean that circle that shows up when Dynamic Lights is on. That doesn't show up on Slider's saber either. Oh well.


Kurgan's Meatgrinder (JA Server: 72.5.248.212:29070)

Player tested, Valtiel approved.

Valtiel approved downloads for Meatgrinder: http://strategy.jediknight.net/jka/downloads.shtml

Last edited by Lathain Valtiel; 12-22-2005 at 10:01 AM.
Lathain Valtiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2005, 10:04 PM   #10
MDN14
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 159
why dont you use 1 1 1 for the color? Thats pretty close to black and it would probably show up.
MDN14 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2005, 01:22 AM   #11
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Uh, that shows as white ingame. I asked Lath and he didn't want that. *Shrug*


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2005, 12:27 PM   #12
MDN14
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 159
oh ya, I forgot that JA uses a maximum of 1 instead of 255. you could try 0.000001 0.000001 0.000001
MDN14 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2005, 05:19 PM   #13
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Already tried that. lower values just make the light more transparent.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-30-2005, 07:18 PM   #14
Ranius
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
must there always be 7 digits? or can that be shortened up?
Ranius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-30-2005, 10:09 PM   #15
MDN14
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 159
I think 7 is the maximum it can be on the right side of the zero, but yes it can be shortened.
MDN14 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2006, 12:47 PM   #16
Ranius
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
...actually...have you tried putting a minus sign infront the value? it works in radiant and maybe it would work here aswell... like "-1 -1 -1"
Ranius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2006, 04:33 PM   #17
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
We tried that and it doesn't seem to work.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2006, 01:15 AM   #18
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,697
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
i think the negative values only work in radiant because they are just setup to subtract from the overall static light value at that point on the lightgrid when q3map2 compiles it.

it doesnt suprise me at all that the dynamic light calculated on the fly by the engine is done differently.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Projecting black light?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:55 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.