lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: JK:JA Connection Assistance
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-14-2006, 01:29 PM   #1
Graviej
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Question JK:JA Connection Assistance

Greetings Jedi warriors,

I'm wondering if someone would be able to assist me with a small problem.

I've got a small personal dedicated server set up (working great), but I have some friends that are trying to connect from the same location and they can't seem to play at the same time. Basic set up is Cable Modem in connected to an Airport router, one is hardwired, one is using wireless. They can connect individually, but when they both try at the same time they cannot. I figure this has something to do with them getting the same real ip from the cable modem, but I was wondering if there was anyway around this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
Gravie
Graviej is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2006, 08:30 PM   #2
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
well since i can only assume an Airport router is wireless, both people would be getting their ip's from the router itself. if one person is connected outside the router, they will have to use an external ip to connect as well as you'll have to open the ports to allow incoming/outgoing information from the server.

im no server wizz, but i would guess its something to do with the settings on the router (provided that both are behind the router). perhaps you could email the company and see if they have any input on your prediciment.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2006, 02:26 PM   #3
Graviej
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks for the response acdc*. I think you are absolutly correct about them having the same "real" ip. Now, how to fix it. in reality.. it's their problem. I'm up and running fine. haha

thanks again,
Gravie
Graviej is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Technical Help > JK:JA Connection Assistance

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.