lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Module Editor Won't Save or Build.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-14-2006, 01:41 PM   #1
goldberry
Forumite
 
goldberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London, Enfield
Posts: 610
Module Editor Won't Save or Build.

Ok, I've been working on a private mod for a while now, and without any problems. I opened up my mod in the module editor to build the .mod file to test it. That's all I did today- tried to build the .mod file. It gave me the following message:

Quote:
See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at kotor_tool.clsGFF.WriteFile(String path, String filetype)
at kotor_tool.frmModule_Editor.miSave_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at kotor_tool.frmModule_Editor.BuildModFile()
at kotor_tool.frmModule_Editor.miBuildModFile_Click(O bject sender, EventArgs e)

<snip>

When this happened, the .git file for the mod was reduced from 16kb to just over 1kb. I used Norton Goback to return th .git file and try again, but the same thing happened.

Waddyou think, Fred?

Last edited by Fred Tetra; 02-15-2006 at 09:21 AM.
goldberry is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2006, 09:25 AM   #2
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldberry
Ok, I've been working on a private mod for a while now, and without any problems. I opened up my mod in the module editor to build the .mod file to test it. That's all I did today- tried to build the .mod file. It gave me the following message:

(stack trace)


When this happened, the .git file for the mod was reduced from 16kb to just over 1kb. I used Norton Goback to return th .git file and try again, but the same thing happened.

Waddyou think, Fred?
Have you ever edited the .git, .are, or .ifo files by hand? It is possible that you entered a value that is out-of-range for a field in one of those files. Is the error consistently reproducable?


Kotor Tool Developer
http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/

"You want to help everyone who asks for aid, answer all of their questions, write that crucial bit of code for which they're searching, and be the hero who saves the day (and their job), but there comes a point when you realize that sleep is sometimes necessary."
—Stephen Toub

Visit the Kotor Tool Forum
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2006, 01:14 PM   #3
goldberry
Forumite
 
goldberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London, Enfield
Posts: 610
Never, EVER have I edited any one of these files by hand.

And this error won't stop appearing!

Here is a link to the zipped up folder: http://www.geocities.com/goldberry2006/001CCS.zip

I realise you're busy, but could you please help me get to the bottom of the problem ASAP?

Just to clarify, everything from your site is up to date, so I have all of the new KOTOR tool and stuff.
goldberry is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2006, 01:24 PM   #4
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
I'll take a look at it for you... but it will cost you some Jelly Babies.

EDIT: The problem is that the .git file is corrupted. If you delete the merchant (store) and re-add it, this should fix the problem.

There's no way to know what caused the corruption without being able to reproduce the exact steps needed to create a corrupt file, but most likely it is due to a bug in either the module editor or the GFF code.

Another way you can try to fix these things is to open the file in K-GFF, then save it back out. Because it parses the file in a different manner, it may be able to "fix" the problem by re-writing the file based on the structures contained therein. An indication that this has occurred is when the file size drops after you save the file back out.

Attached is the built mod file (001ccs.zip) and a fixed .git file (001ebo.zip). You will probably want to check the position/orientation of the store.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 001ccs.zip (29.5 KB, 90 views)
File Type: zip 001ebo.zip (3.7 KB, 104 views)


Kotor Tool Developer
http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/

"You want to help everyone who asks for aid, answer all of their questions, write that crucial bit of code for which they're searching, and be the hero who saves the day (and their job), but there comes a point when you realize that sleep is sometimes necessary."
—Stephen Toub

Visit the Kotor Tool Forum

Last edited by Fred Tetra; 02-15-2006 at 02:05 PM.
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2006, 03:32 PM   #5
goldberry
Forumite
 
goldberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London, Enfield
Posts: 610
Thanks, I'll try.

EDIT: It worked. Thank you.
goldberry is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-15-2006, 03:37 PM   #6
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldberry
Thanks, I'll try.

EDIT: It worked. Thank you.
Now, about those Jelly Babies....


Kotor Tool Developer
http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/

"You want to help everyone who asks for aid, answer all of their questions, write that crucial bit of code for which they're searching, and be the hero who saves the day (and their job), but there comes a point when you realize that sleep is sometimes necessary."
—Stephen Toub

Visit the Kotor Tool Forum
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > KotOR Tool > Module Editor Won't Save or Build.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.