lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Multiplayer Connection Issues
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-16-2006, 03:42 PM   #1
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Multiplayer Connection Issues

Post here if you're haivng connection issues.

I've logged in about 50 times, with 10 of those times successful for more than 30 seconds, and I've played a total of 1 game online. I am extremely pissed there is no direct IP option, because GameSpy blows.

I've modified my router settings for GameSpy, and that didn't do anything, so I've reset it to what I had before. I really hope this gets fixed soon, and I wish they would add a direct IP connection option.
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 04:23 PM   #2
mdk4711
Lurker
 
mdk4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Same here.

I played the game once online without any problem, no extra configuration of Empire at War itself, my machine, or the router.
But now it is not working anymore.

I've forwarded all the Ports for Gamespy and Empire at War - it did not help.

Any suggestions?
mdk4711 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 04:46 PM   #3
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Well, I managed to join a second game, but when I got in the game room, all the slots were blank, but I could still communicate with the host, and select Empire. We started the game pretty fast, but then got a lovely Out of Sync error and had to disconnect.

I'm still trying to successfully stay logged in. I get this lovely screen after clicking "Custom Match."
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 07:46 PM   #4
Andy819
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 53
Multiplayer Help

http://www.picshosted.com/v/12903/untitled.bmp
yea, Anyone help me, oh and It worked the first time I tried than stoped :S


Edit:Change Screenie links





Total War
Andy819 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 08:27 PM   #5
Clefo
Here In Babylon
 
Clefo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 2,986
Pretty much the same problem Phreak is having is plaguing me now


Clefo- Master of Nothing

"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true."
Clefo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 09:17 AM   #6
Perp
Rookie
 
Perp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Very very frustrating. I must have tried 50 times before just giving up and trying out single player skirmish.

I did get on once, added a buddy, but quickly noticed a few things-

-The max size the 1v1 channel seemed to hold was 73 or so...
-A lot of people where complaining that they were not able to get a game to successfully launch.

I am coming over from Dawn of War, another Gamespy hosted game, and if we are stuck with them I suggest they follow the DoW model. Dawn of War has lots of channels that hold around 100 players at any one time. As a channel gets full you get placed in another channel.

This maybe where the breakdown was last night, I only noticed one channel populating, and as it maxed out around 73 or so, no one else could connect.

I miss the times of Tribes 2, where a game would come with its own servers, clan pages, clan tag system, forums, etc. That game could handle any amount of people and had so many community features bundled with it... But I degress


Perp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 11:24 AM   #7
Steelhed
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
Yeah, but lets not forget Tribes2 launch..ROFL Just messin round... Even though Tribes2's launch and first couple months were abismal, it turned out to be one of my favorites of all time..
Steelhed is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 11:39 AM   #8
Apocalypse|TFL
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 130
Having same problems, can't stay logged in for more than a few seconds.... any idea how to fix this?


Apocalypse|TFL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 11:56 AM   #9
Lindsey
Junior Member
 
Lindsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Posts: 340
its a known issue and they're working on fixing it.

I have the same issue so I share your pain
Lindsey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 12:15 PM   #10
enterman
Rookie
 
enterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarWarsPhreak
Well, I managed to join a second game, but when I got in the game room, all the slots were blank, but I could still communicate with the host, and select Empire. We started the game pretty fast, but then got a lovely Out of Sync error and had to disconnect.

I'm still trying to successfully stay logged in. I get this lovely screen after clicking "Custom Match."
I get that message ALOT however I have been able to play 2 matchs online but ive alos gotten alot of connection errors like everyone else.
enterman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 12:58 PM   #11
Andy819
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 53
Lets use something else than Gamespy it SUCKS!





Total War
Andy819 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 01:01 PM   #12
Admiral Sith
Junior Member
 
Admiral Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 375
If we had a choice we would



"It may be that the old astrologers had the truth exactly reversed, when they believed that the stars controlled the destinies of men. The time may come when men control the destinies of stars." -Arthur C. Clarke

"Ideals are like stars: you will not succeed in touching them with your hands, but like the seafaring man on the ocean desert of waters, you choose them as your guides, and following them, you reach your destiny." -Carl Schurz
Admiral Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 03:28 PM   #13
alex124
Rookie
 
alex124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
The online problems

im having trouble connecting online but it does say in news that there is a problem and it will be fixed soon has anyone else had this problem


alex124 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 03:40 PM   #14
Breiti
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 29
i cant connect online too.

which news say what ?
Breiti is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 03:43 PM   #15
alex124
Rookie
 
alex124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
the first one says that some pepole cant connect to the server and that they are fixing the issue as quickly as possible


alex124 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 03:52 PM   #16
Kasan Moor
Rookie
 
Kasan Moor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SSD Executor
Posts: 43
/signed


Lieutenant Kasan Moor from the 128. TIE-Interceptor squadron!
Kasan Moor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 04:34 PM   #17
Deathtrip
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Same

Same goes for me ...lets hope for a patch soon i wanna play with my friend
Deathtrip is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 06:39 PM   #18
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Now I'm getting some runtime exception error or something. I can send this _Except log the pop-up told me if a Petro Dev is reading and would like to see it.
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 06:58 PM   #19
crazyyyhorse1
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
ive only played sucessfully once but tryed 10 times

i disabled all my firewalls
when i got in to the welcome screen i went to options and waited for every thing in the network thing to stop showing searching then i talked to the guy i was playin against and made sure he had the patch and thank god it worked

hope this might actually help someone but i doubt it
crazyyyhorse1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 08:54 PM   #20
Kasan Moor
Rookie
 
Kasan Moor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SSD Executor
Posts: 43
There is no need to change network options or PC components, just sit back and wait is all we can do because Gamespy has problems.


Lieutenant Kasan Moor from the 128. TIE-Interceptor squadron!
Kasan Moor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 09:02 PM   #21
popcorn2008
Little Green Friend
 
popcorn2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 1,239
I have the exact same problem as well! Though I got to play twice, now everytime I try to get on Im kicked off. Its real disapointing as I really would like to play multiplayer online.


> Lucas Forums Moderator
> Petroglyph Forums Moderator
> Unofficial Petroglyph Fan Forums Global Moderator
popcorn2008 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 09:03 PM   #22
Kasan Moor
Rookie
 
Kasan Moor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SSD Executor
Posts: 43
hey lucasarts just released patch 1.02 who resolve the disconnecting issue!

http://forums.lucasarts.com/thread.j...17481&#2517481


Lieutenant Kasan Moor from the 128. TIE-Interceptor squadron!
Kasan Moor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 09:08 PM   #23
KTR
Rookie
 
KTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 58
new patch works great! see ya online!
KTR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 10:50 PM   #24
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Yep, logged in on the first try and made it to the custom match lobby.
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 11:19 PM   #25
augrunt
Rookie
 
augrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 192
It's still screwed, and is not fixed. Many are still experiencing the problems... like me.
augrunt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2006, 03:12 PM   #26
Texxxxx
Lurker
 
Texxxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Still having trouble connecting to a custom match ...*except*...for campaign...that mode seems to be working well. It is only 1v1 and the connection issues are much simplified.

Thx for going to the effort to post a guide, augrunt, I'm sure people will find it helpful, but it really doesn't seem to make much difference. I have been through the settings and previously did everything that you mentioned, and I tend to agree that something is bugy, because I get the same exact results with or without port forwarding.

I still believe that different lobbies for different regions would be a start at solving this problem...it seems related to people being unable to connect to people with high pings...especially people that try to connect to a game when their ping is shown as '?' in the 'looking for a game' screen.
Texxxxx is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Tech Centre > Multiplayer Connection Issues

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:46 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.