lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Simple Robes .uti Edit
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-16-2006, 04:58 PM   #1
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,414
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Simple Robes .uti Edit

I was wondering if someone here could edit the .uti files for the Jedi Robes (excluding the Zeison Sha robes) so that Bao-Dur can equip them. I have the mod that sets his model so that he can wear them, but the uti files for the items won't let me equip them to him. I would do this myself, but I can't get KOTOR Tool working. I really only want the Jedi Knight Robes right now, but the whole set would be much appreciated.

If this mod already exists, could someone please post a link? Thanks in advance!
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 07:53 PM   #2
Alkonium
To Mend and Defend
 
Alkonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Divinity's Reach
Posts: 3,882
Current Game: Guild Wars 2
Roleplayer Forum Veteran 
Well, there isn't a Bao-Dur Model for the robes, mainly because of his arm, so some .2da editing is also necessary.

Alkonium is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 08:02 PM   #3
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,414
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
I have a .2da file that adds the model. The problem is, the items themselves are made to be unwearable by Bao-Dur, as stated in the item description. It would just be a simple matter of editing the uti files, removing this... inconvenience.

EDIT: The 2da file that I have actually replaces his body's model with that of the male PC. Couldn't his model be edited so that he can wear the robes?

Last edited by The Doctor; 02-16-2006 at 08:25 PM.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 08:37 PM   #4
Nodakrattler
Junior Member
 
Nodakrattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Where it gets cold and snows and stuff
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Doctor
I have a .2da file that adds the model. The problem is, the items themselves are made to be unwearable by Bao-Dur, as stated in the item description. It would just be a simple matter of editing the uti files, removing this... inconvenience.

EDIT: The 2da file that I have actually replaces his body's model with that of the male PC. Couldn't his model be edited so that he can wear the robes?
I beleive it's possible, but would most likely require making a whole new body for Bao-Dur, and as I understand it his arm adds in a large problem with it being animated itself.(That flickering blue light and all).


Through this world we fight for good or for evil it does not matter. In the end all that really matters is that we choose and go forth.
Nodakrattler is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 08:50 PM   #5
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,414
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Well then, I'll use the model that I have - it replaces his body with that of the male PC.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 09:39 PM   #6
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
The Bao-Dur robe wearing restriction isn't set in the uti files it is set in baseitems.2da, if I'm not mistaken, look there to remove the restriction.

Though you need to make sure you have a model specified in appearance.2da for him to actually wear the robes.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 10:01 PM   #7
Nodakrattler
Junior Member
 
Nodakrattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Where it gets cold and snows and stuff
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHawke
The Bao-Dur robe wearing restriction isn't set in the uti files it is set in baseitems.2da, if I'm not mistaken, look there to remove the restriction.
I was hopeing to say you were wrong, but I looked through several .uti's and didn't find any properties set to restrict Bao-Dur from wearing robes. I also wasn't able to find any thing in the baseitems.2da myself.

So I think this raises a good question: What tells the game that Bao-Dur can't wear robes or Zeinson Sha Armor?


Through this world we fight for good or for evil it does not matter. In the end all that really matters is that we choose and go forth.
Nodakrattler is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 10:33 PM   #8
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodakrattler
So I think this raises a good question: What tells the game that Bao-Dur can't wear robes or Zeinson Sha Armor?
Well see Bao-Dur can wear Revan Robes, and in baseitems.2da the denysubrace cell for Revan Armor is 0x00000000, while it seems the other Robes/ZS Armor have a denysubrace of 0x00000002.

My suggestion would be to try to change the denysubrace cells on the 2 Jedi robes (35, 36) and ZS Armor (102) colums to 0x00000000 save it to override and then go in the game and see if Bao can wear them now. Just make sure Bao has a body model set for those items in appearance.2da.

Just a guess but that is what I think is controlling this.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 10:48 PM   #9
Nodakrattler
Junior Member
 
Nodakrattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Where it gets cold and snows and stuff
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHawke
Well see Bao-Dur can wear Revan Robes, and in baseitems.2da the denysubrace cell for Revan Armor is 0x00000000, while it seems the other Robes/ZS Armor have a denysubrace of 0x00000002.

My suggestion would be to try to change the denysubrace cells on the 2 Jedi robes (35, 36) and ZS Armor (102) colums to 0x00000000 save it to override and then go in the game and see if Bao can wear them now. Just make sure Bao has a body model set for those items in appearance.2da.

Just a guess but that is what I think is controlling this.
Though that is a good theory I'm going to disagree, and here's why. All other armours and masks have 0x00000002 set in the denysubrace cell as well. I think this is used to tell the game that wookie's can't equip these items.

I tried looking through some of the other item .2da files but haven't turned up much yet. I'll keep looking and see if I can figure it out unless someone beats me to the punch.


Through this world we fight for good or for evil it does not matter. In the end all that really matters is that we choose and go forth.
Nodakrattler is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2006, 11:54 PM   #10
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodakrattler
Though that is a good theory I'm going to disagree, and here's why. All other armours and masks have 0x00000002 set in the denysubrace cell as well. I think this is used to tell the game that wookie's can't equip these items.
As far as I know this behavior is hardcoded for line 35, 36, 37 and 102 in baseitems.2da and doesn't depend on any particular setting on those lines.

If I remember correctly the BD-restriction "disappears" if you copy one of those lines, paste it as a new line without changing anything, and point your robe UTI to the new line, which seems to suggest this is the case.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 01:00 AM   #11
Nodakrattler
Junior Member
 
Nodakrattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Where it gets cold and snows and stuff
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoffe -mkb-
As far as I know this behavior is hardcoded for line 35, 36, 37 and 102 in baseitems.2da and doesn't depend on any particular setting on those lines.

If I remember correctly the BD-restriction "disappears" if you copy one of those lines, paste it as a new line without changing anything, and point your robe UTI to the new line, which seems to suggest this is the case.
So what you're saying is, in order to make robes equipable for Bao-Dur all the robes need to be given a new baseitem row to read?

Well atleast there's a way to get around atleast one thing that's hardcoded.


Through this world we fight for good or for evil it does not matter. In the end all that really matters is that we choose and go forth.
Nodakrattler is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 01:43 AM   #12
Master Dakari
Rookie
 
Master Dakari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jedi Temple on a hidden planet
Posts: 131
If someone had the time and willpower to do this, it would be a greatly appreciated mod...

I would go in a do it myself...but I don't know what the heck you guys are talking about. Plus, I'm not really acquainted with uploading stuff to the web.

Master Dakari is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 02:20 PM   #13
Shem
Master of the Force
 
Shem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,900
Current Game: Variations of games
10 year veteran! Veteran Modder Notable contributor Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Dakari
If someone had the time and willpower to do this, it would be a greatly appreciated mod...
Just remember whoever decides to do this that the models will have to be modified or Bao-Dur's head will float above his torso if that isn't changed.


Interested in hosting a your KOTOR or TSL mod at FileFront? Send your mod HERE and we'll validate it as soon as we can! FileFront is a good way to get publicity for your mod as we get 1000's of visitors everyday. Is my LucasForum PM box full again? If you really need to reach me, PM me at YouTube under the username: Shem L -- Watch my KOTOR videos! Download my mods from FileFront!

Shem is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2006, 05:15 PM   #14
Master Dakari
Rookie
 
Master Dakari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jedi Temple on a hidden planet
Posts: 131
Why in the world did they change Bao-Dur's body model? Why didn't they just use the same body model as all the other male models, but change the one arm? I guess they just wanted to be complicated...

Master Dakari is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 09:27 AM   #15
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,414
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shem
Just remember whoever decides to do this that the models will have to be modified or Bao-Dur's head will float above his torso if that isn't changed.
Actually, this happens with the new .2da file I have now... but not when he's wearing normal clothing or armour, just when he's in, uhm... well, you know.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > Simple Robes .uti Edit

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.