lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: [GC]Start with only one planet
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-24-2006, 10:36 AM   #41
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
As long as i figure out what i messed up with the pirates not getting any cash im gonna upload this hehe, seems frustrating to have 2 versions that are nearly identical and not being able to figure out why the recent one doesnt work.
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 02:06 PM   #42
TotalBiscuit
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Necroe
hopping is useless if u dont have the defense to back it up!
I'd have to agree with this. Since No Pirates Mod, my friends and I have played solely choke-point free games and while it's a different style of play, hopping does not work. One of my friends tried it and I mowed him. He took major losses, stunted his growth and lost the game because of it. Just like any empire, over-reach and you will have problems.

TB.

TotalBiscuit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 04:06 PM   #43
Necroe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 55
yea i'd rather let him half the galaxy while i set up defenses for my sector and do hit and runs on his weak links, taking out his stations, taking out a 600 credit station may not be much but if i dont lose anything im the winner!
Necroe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 07:04 PM   #44
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Well guys heres the new campaign, i renamed it to Battlefield Empires since its more than a campaign now, hope you enjoy: http://rapidshare.de/files/14065141/...Beta2.zip.html
---------------------
Done:


-Richer Pirates
-Reduced Artillery Damage
-Space Cap to x1.5 of normal
-Ground cap is 14
-AI uses FOW (UPDATE: Removed due to massive retardeness in making a move)
-Incorporated some changes from MistenTH's Realism Mod1.1(Tougher fighters and capital ships, many other tweaks, all credit to him)
-Pirates use their own AI and build units
-Added more planets that can build capital ships, most important the homeworlds, so now the AI has at least one planet than can build capital ships, hopefully they build more of them
-Pirate Frigates carry fighters
-Calamari Cruisers carry fighters
-No logo movies file(movies.xml)
-Pirate Starbases are strong, their main base is pretty powerful

-Grand campaign where both sides start with a small force and most of the galaxy
is controlled by pirates. To weaken the pirate forces you must destroy their starbases and barracks, they can't build more of them.
-Also look out for their secret homebases in Geonosis and Kamino.


What's left to do:

-Make the pirates build their ground units, right now they can only build pirate infantry
-For some reason they don't build units very fast even thought their units are dead-cheap, still working on how to make them more aggressive
-Add more campaigns to the current idea
-Make the pirates stronger or weaker considering any feedback
-Adjust hyperspace speed so there is slower expansion
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 07:23 PM   #45
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
THANKS! Will let you know how it goes. Have been checking the thread all day waiting for this ready for my "now" work free weekend. I also like the extra changes you have made, which were to be honest unexpected, but definatly needed to make the game more fun. You have obviously done your research on what all the fans want.


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 08:20 PM   #46
Necroe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 55
the realism mod is at 2.0 atm!

is it possible to only use your map..as the rest of the stuff is pretty much in the relaism mod?

except for the horribly unbalancing mon cal's carrying fighters!
Necroe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 08:24 PM   #47
Necroe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 55
i'd like it so u don't start with any real units, unfair advantage when imps start with an ISD!
Necroe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 08:34 PM   #48
Necroe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 55
huge flaw in your newest version...you cant get tech! since u cant see the other planets and theyre covered by pirates u cant get to coruscant to get nebulon b's to take down the pirates!
Necroe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 08:47 PM   #49
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Really? When i played with empire the rebels went from the left and got most planets up to coruscant with ease, if you want you can go to the campaign file and delete the pirate forces in the nearby planets so it makes it easier for you.
As for using the mod with the realism mod, you cant because almost everything is changed, for example the pirates wouldnt build anything.
As for mon cal's being unbalanced, i figure there are way more imperial capital ships than rebel so i gave them something extra. Let me know if the imperials get crushed, i will make their caps stronger if they do.
And as for starting with a ISD, check what forces are around you and tell me you dont need the help.
I will check whats up with the rebel tech flaw but i playtested mostly with empire so sorry for any faults.
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 09:05 PM   #50
Necroe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 55
there seems to be some crazy price reduction going on at dant...assault frig costs 625.
Necroe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 09:13 PM   #51
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Lol theres 50% price reduction on most stuff, i was experimenting on some bonuses for for getting kamino and i left that in, heres a new file that gives only 10% reduction.(to counter that imps start with ISD)
http://rapidshare.de/files/14070855/PLANETS.xml.html

Also if you check the screenshot you will see i got to coruscant for stealing techs in 5 seconds.
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 09:13 PM   #52
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
So far there havent been too many problems. Its pretty challenging. I dont know why, but for one turn I randomly got 40000 credits? Probably just a random glitch. Not complaining though. I was struggling until I got those credits.


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 09:15 PM   #53
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Get this as well, some bug in the frigates.
http://rapidshare.de/files/14071066/...GATES.XML.html
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 09:16 PM   #54
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainRAVE
So far there havent been too many problems. Its pretty challenging. I dont know why, but for one turn I randomly got 40000 credits? Probably just a random glitch. Not complaining though. I was struggling until I got those credits.
Hmm never seen that, who were you playing as? Did you defeat a mission and get that as a reward maybe? Or maybe after capturing a planet?
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 09:27 PM   #55
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Just built a few mining buildings as the imperials and for one turn planets generated a huge number of credits, then they all went back to normal. What does that frigate fix do?


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 09:29 PM   #56
Necroe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 55
i say take the isd out completely, what i did was take EVERYTHING out so there was no land or space forces except u start with a lv 5 station.

luke's lucky shot took an pirate base lv 1 to ALL RED in 1 shot gg :P
Necroe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 09:44 PM   #57
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Hmm rave get the frigate fix, its probly the solution to that.

Necroe: Hmmm you took the base so easy? Try the bases in geonosis or kamino, are they easy?
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 10:01 PM   #58
DarkLord1981
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
I personally don't like the realism mod.
DarkLord1981 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2006, 10:17 PM   #59
Necroe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 55
traitor!


realism for the sw universe

much better fighters aren't useless for example :P
Necroe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-25-2006, 10:17 AM   #60
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
Ok, so I played quite alot of this mod last night. The pirates are far too strong, they ended up pushing me back far enough so that the rebels could finish me off. Also, space battles can be a bit too large at times with all the pirates. My PC slows down, and there arent many faster PCs out there, so something is definatly up. Just a few balance issues I guess, otherwise, the pirates make the game more interesting.


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-25-2006, 11:39 AM   #61
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Yeah i wanted them stronger but not strong enough to push you back hehe, i will see what i can do to make them fewer in numbers. By the way if you go to DIFFICULTYADJUSTMENTS.XML find the <Damage_Multiplier>1.3</Damage_Multiplier> tab on the <Difficulty_Adjustment Name="Normal_Pirate"> section and make that something like 0.6 it will make you take half the damage in normal difficulty.
As for big battles i think it will happens in planets with starbases(?).
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-25-2006, 11:48 AM   #62
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
I worked out where i was getting so many credits from. Its when i build a pirate ship. For some reason I get about 20000 credits a turn. Wouldnt actually be a bad thing if i could have a larger population cap because the pirates clearly have just as much money aswell.


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-25-2006, 11:59 AM   #63
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Yup thats why i told you to get the frigate file fix, the pirates need that cash.
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-25-2006, 07:10 PM   #64
CaptainRAVE
Jedi Rave
 
CaptainRAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,272
The only problem is that while the pirates have these ships their getting insane numbers of credits aswell. Its making the pirates very annoying.


The force will betray you to me.
CaptainRAVE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2006, 03:55 AM   #65
magicwolf
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 14
haha chalenging is good..but not too much of it though =P
magicwolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2006, 05:04 AM   #66
Jay1717
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Any other mirrors other then rapidshare?
Jay1717 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2006, 05:36 AM   #67
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
No i didnt upload it anywhere else, any ideas?
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2006, 06:55 AM   #68
Jay1717
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Filefront (EaW Ultimate Files) FileCloud, Fileshack, Lucas Files
Jay1717 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-28-2006, 05:20 AM   #69
magicwolf
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 14
so tom how the mod going? good?
magicwolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-28-2006, 05:25 AM   #70
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Well i dont have much time to do anything with it, but ill try finishing the pirates.
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-28-2006, 07:55 AM   #71
magicwolf
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 14
hey tom..really thx u for the hard work u being putting in this mod..i really look forward to getting this mod to the best..

May The FOrce Be With You....Tom Servo

anyway want people to help u beta test can put up here..we will be more glad to help u ^ ^
magicwolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-28-2006, 04:12 PM   #72
Big_Bubbaloola
Lurker
 
Big_Bubbaloola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bubbaville
Posts: 6
First of all, long time viewer first time poster

Second, way to go Tom Servo, The pint's on me mate! Keep up the good work fella.

And three (and this is where I get embarassed) I downloaded XML's and unzipped the files into the correct folder, but when starting the game where do I find your mod and what is it called in game? I'm a dumb git I know but someone please humour me!!!
Big_Bubbaloola is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-28-2006, 04:41 PM   #73
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
It automatically loads. Instead of loading from the config.meg we got them from we get it from data/xml/filename.xml. Any mod using XML folder or the ART folder work this way.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2006, 10:55 PM   #74
magicwolf
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 14
haha till now i sitll a bit confuse abt xml files lol
magicwolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-02-2006, 12:09 AM   #75
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
Hey, Tom Servo, how do you get the fighters into the ships? I tried some things, but nothing worked. How did you do it?

EDIT: nvm, I downloaded your mod and found it. I was missing the SPAWN_SQUADRONS thing in the space behavior.



Last edited by Three60; 03-02-2006 at 12:27 AM.
Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-03-2006, 09:53 AM   #76
Big_Bubbaloola
Lurker
 
Big_Bubbaloola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bubbaville
Posts: 6
Clever old me figured out what was wrong. When unzipped all the xml's are dumped in the Battlefield Empire folder and they needed to be directly in the xml folder. Woo Hoo!

The mode btw Tom is very good, but boy do the Rebels seem to build ships quick!
Big_Bubbaloola is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2006, 12:11 AM   #77
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Bubbaloola
Clever old me figured out what was wrong. When unzipped all the xml's are dumped in the Battlefield Empire folder and they needed to be directly in the xml folder. Woo Hoo!

The mode btw Tom is very good, but boy do the Rebels seem to build ships quick!
Yeah about that, get the other 2 files in this page because they fix the fact that the rebels get cheaper stuff at their homeplanet.
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2006, 12:40 PM   #78
Big_Bubbaloola
Lurker
 
Big_Bubbaloola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bubbaville
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Servo
Yeah about that, get the other 2 files in this page because they fix the fact that the rebels get cheaper stuff at their homeplanet.

Thsnks matey will give it a go.
Big_Bubbaloola is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-06-2006, 08:22 AM   #79
magicwolf
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 14
so is this mod going to be better or it is as good as it is?
magicwolf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2006, 01:53 PM   #80
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Beta 3

Hello guys, i sat down today and made some new additions.
-----------------------------
Beta 3 Changes:

-Fixed bug with pirate frigates
-Fixed bug with Dantooine production boost
-Empire now starts with no ISD
-Pirates should be easier to take down now
-Pirates can build Pirate PLEXs, skiffs and swamp speeders
-Pirates have slower hyperspace speeds
-The weak corvettes should be a bit better now

Download Beta 3
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > [GC]Start with only one planet

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.