lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Star Commander
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-09-2006, 05:59 PM   #1
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
Star Commander

Finally thought of a better name then Space Battles...
Anyway, this is pretty much version 2.0 of my SB mod. Here is what it does:

VERSION 2.01 - DOWNLOAD HERE

VERSION 2.01 for EaW Mod Manager - DOWNLOAD HERE

* Add a new building (Asteroid Mining Facility).
* Raise the number of ships in battle to 40 for all factions sides.
* Cuts all build times in half.
* Adds a hanger to the Mon Calamari Cruiser, Nebulon-B Frigate, Alliance Assault Cruiser, and the Pirate Frigate.
* TIE Scouts are buildable with a level one space station.
* Add Kamino to the Galactic Conflict map.
* Changes the lasers in game to be faster and look better.
* Add Kyle Katarn and Mara Jade to the game.
* Lets you build the Construction Ship, which will build Defensive Satellites while in game!
* You don't build Fighters any more.
* New Infantry (Bothans, Wookies, and Imperial Royal Guards).

There's some more, but I can't think of it all. But as I said when I first posted my mod, I wanted new ships and I got them. I would just say take out the campaigns xml file, but then you don't get Pirates or Kyle or Mara.

As soon as the map tools are out I'll be making huge space maps that will take a lot of strategy to win in, since I hope to make normal stations 1) be built when you are the invader with the Space Builder, and 2) all space stations will be able to build units while in tactical battle. And hopefully make the AI realize it can do both these things, since they will be able to build more stations while in battle as well. I will also have, instead of the normal land battles, you just have infantry (hopefully more then just 1-3 types) and instead of going into a ground battle you will land on a space station of some sort and invade it. Infantry will hide in rooms, waiting for the enemy to be foolish enough to walk by. Heroes will lead your army to the command deck. You could have a technitian come in and set up a quick turret, or a healing station.

KNOWN BUGS:
If you are building a satellite and the ship is destroyed near the beginning, it will freak out and get an exception. I'll see about fixing it soon.

When I was playing, I had landed all my units and was about to attack, I suddenly got the We Are Defeated message pop up. Only happened once.

Any input would be great.



Last edited by Three60; 03-19-2006 at 12:34 PM.
Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2006, 04:56 PM   #2
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
Hey, when I release this, could someone at least test it? Even if you don't want to keep it, just to check some things.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-10-2006, 05:01 PM   #3
EAWFAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
i could test i dont make mods any more (school work).




www.aosw.petrolution.net --- Ages of Star Wars: Jedi Civil war --- Official website
EAWFAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 06:26 AM   #4
Isair
Rookie
 
Isair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown Space
Posts: 98
It's been a while since I lasted posted here, but I could probably help test it for you as well.
Isair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 08:09 AM   #5
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
Thanks.
Okay, I didn't get to put in everything, but here is one change from the list up there. You only build fighters if you are the Pirates. They have 4 kinds of fighters, so you build them. You can download it here.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 10:44 AM   #6
GhOsT-Jedi
Rookie
 
GhOsT-Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Past the outer rims of the universe training my sith armies.
Posts: 159
I like the idea of having a fight within the space station, but rather that will be aloud, I don't know.






GhOsT-Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 03:43 PM   #7
Isair
Rookie
 
Isair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown Space
Posts: 98
Alright I'll get to testing soon and let you know what I think.
Isair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 04:43 PM   #8
Darth_Extas
Junior Member
 
Darth_Extas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: On the Eclipse destroying anything in my way
Posts: 497
I am curious if the virago is in this?



Sig made by Princess Lyla

http://gh.ffshrine.org?r=20872

The Sith will always be around as long as there is hate in the Galaxy.

Dark Hands of the Empire(Clan Member)
Darth_Extas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 04:47 PM   #9
Isair
Rookie
 
Isair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown Space
Posts: 98
Alright tested it a bit, one thing I noticed is that whenever a battle began that battle announcement music would play....but it would never stop. It would continue the whole battle, not really a bother for me as I couldn't hear it past all the laser fire but it's something to note. I also wasn't able to move ships to certain planets from others, maybe you changed the routes? Do you have the land and space version of the mod ready? As you said you would have two versions and I'd like to test that. Overall though the space only modification was not bad.
Isair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 05:29 PM   #10
Isair
Rookie
 
Isair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown Space
Posts: 98
Some more testing, IPVs seem to be able to use the boost weapon power endlessly with no cooldown. None of my ships seemed to be able to hit the shield generator on stations, some would fire at it but would cause no damage. Some ships didn't even try to fire at it.
Isair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 07:23 PM   #11
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
I noticed the thing about the begin battle music, I'll see what I can do.
Now that this version is out, I'll have version with land battles out by wednesday.
I'll look at the power weapons thing, I didn't even notice that.
I just put the ships in there as they came, but Pirate ships were never meant to be fighting stations. I'll boost them up soon, but for now the Marauder cruiser is the best way.
I don't think I changed anything, what planets were you going to/from?
Yes, the Virago is in this. Right now it has Kyle Katarn for the icon and if it dies it becomes the Moldy Crow when it comes back. But it's in there.
I know that the battle in a space station will be allowed because I will simply put a neutral station in the background of the maps, and set the planets' land battle to be on a map that looks like the inside of the space station.

Thanks for the comments, the version with land will be out on Wednesday.

EDIT: Oops, found out why the AI didn't seem changed, didn't put it in the right place. This will be fixed in the update on Wednesday.



Last edited by Three60; 03-14-2006 at 08:23 AM.
Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 04:52 PM   #12
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
Okay, an update since I haven't posted here much. I'm currently working on adding in the ground as close to as it will be when I can make more maps. Right now I have these units for infantry:
REBELS:
Marine (normal unit)
Plex Soldiers
Those guys with bombs that I can't remember the name of.
Field Commanders
Medics
Wookie Elites
Bothan Warriors
EMPIRE:
Stormtroopers
Missile Soldiers
Scouts, but no speeders
Field Commanders
Medics
Dark Troopers
Imperial Royal Guards
PIRATES:
Marine (normal unit)
Plex Soldiers

If you have any suggestions, let me know. I still need about 4 more units for the Pirates. Remember, only infantry.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 04:10 AM   #13
Jedi_82
Rookie
 
Jedi_82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 52
Nice work! Im really eager to test it ;D

Hope u add vehicles to pirates too?

Last edited by Jedi_82; 03-17-2006 at 04:17 AM. Reason: Question
Jedi_82 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 09:17 AM   #14
Sithman1138
Junior Member
 
Sithman1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 288
2 questions
A-Are you lordboddin66/99(Not sure which) at SWGBH/EAWH?
And
B-Is this the same mod(If above answer is yes)


-Adthrawn of SWGBH
-Sithman1138 of TF.N

^^Sig by Sabretooth^^
ADTHRAWN DESIGN TEAM
Sithman1138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 10:14 AM   #15
MistenTH
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 126
Nice, being able to construct satellites in space. That should be interesting!


EAW: Star Wars Realism v3.0 - a mod that improves the realism, balance & gameplay from the default EAW Space Combat & Space Skirmish. Introduces a FLEET! Deathmatch mode.

http://pff.swrebellion.com/index.php?topic=2763.0
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=161089

EAW: Tactical Command - a Space Skirmish mod that seeks to bring tactics to EAW. Also introduces Scenario play.

http://pff.swrebellion.com/index.php?topic=3136.0
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=162569
MistenTH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 10:32 AM   #16
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sithman1138
2 questions
A-Are you lordboddin66/99(Not sure which) at SWGBH/EAWH?
And
B-Is this the same mod(If above answer is yes)
A - No.
B - No.

I only go by Three60, or Three060, or Three0060, or even Three00060.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 11:44 AM   #17
Sithman1138
Junior Member
 
Sithman1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 288
Okay, because at eaw.heavengames.com there is also a mod called space comander. I have played this and just thought the other was a update. Good mod though!


-Adthrawn of SWGBH
-Sithman1138 of TF.N

^^Sig by Sabretooth^^
ADTHRAWN DESIGN TEAM
Sithman1138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 02:27 PM   #18
OverlordAngelus
 
OverlordAngelus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 112
Three60, what is the ship that appears in the bottom left of your mod's banner?

It looks like some kind of modified YT-2000.


"The function I perform has been referred to as 'Wanton Slaughter.' I prefer to see it as a means of facilitating communication, resulting in the termination of hostilities" - HK-50
OverlordAngelus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 02:49 PM   #19
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
Prince Xizor
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 02:51 PM   #20
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
How come the game Crashs when this installed
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 02:55 PM   #21
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
Uh... no clue.
The ship is the Merchant Freighter that came with the game, but wasn't used. It is what you use for building satellites.
If you can think of a better name for the mod, that would be great. I'm trying to get a unique name.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 02:57 PM   #22
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
is it a file
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 02:58 PM   #23
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
Satilite constuctor
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 03:00 PM   #24
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
How does this mod work?!
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 03:05 PM   #25
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
Um... you take the XML folder and put it in the Data folder, as well as the ART folder. Then, take out your master text file, and put in mine. It should work.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 03:16 PM   #26
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
in story mod Daarth Vader still gos to the surface of Thyfeera
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 03:39 PM   #27
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
it keeps crashing it an exeception has ocorred
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 04:46 PM   #28
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
When? It would help me more to know when it happens, rather then "It happened." I've only gotten one (oops, forgot to list it), and that's when you are trying to build a satellite and your ship is destroyed. Since the game doesn't come with builders it would crash. That's one reason I want to make larger maps that would require building things before a battle.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 05:56 PM   #29
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
when began building and loading is there anything that would help
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 06:09 PM   #30
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
I'm not sure yet, I'll try to fix it in the next update.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 06:15 PM   #31
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
when will that be and id start now if i were you
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 07:18 PM   #32
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
I already am working on it.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 07:39 PM   #33
Isair
Rookie
 
Isair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Unknown Space
Posts: 98
When is the version with land battles included coming along? I'm just interested to see how it would work out for the pirates, have you figured it out yet? I would guess since they can only build one structure it would give the player access to all of the vehicles and infantry the Black Sun have.
Isair is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 10:20 PM   #34
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
he is helping me right Now Isair and if anyone has a Carreck Class Crusier mod tell me
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 12:18 AM   #35
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
...I can't help multiple people?
Anyway, I'm going to release it as soon as my new infantry are in. I'll just be including the infantry and the buildings that will be in the mod when the mod tools become availible. So there will be no vehicles.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 05:37 PM   #36
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
no at-ats great the enemy can just set up anti infantry turrets
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 05:38 PM   #37
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
please have vechilles anti infantry turrets would tear my units apart
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 08:26 PM   #38
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
I can take out the turrets. I already though of that.
And, please, stop double posting. Just edit your previous post.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-19-2006, 12:30 PM   #39
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
First, sorry for double posting.
Second, Version 2.01 is now availible! Here are some new features:

*Bothans and Wookies used by the Rebellion if you own Bothawui and Kashyyyk respectively.
*Imperial Royal Guards added for Imperials, can only be built on Coruscant.
*You can only build Mon Calamari Cruisers at Mon Calamari, and Star Destroyers only at Kuat.
*Ground Battles are back in for just infantry.

DOWNLOAD 2.01 Beta here!
DOWNLOAD 2.01 Beta using the EaW Mod Manager here!

NOTE: I'm right now just testing the new units and changes to the Empire and Rebellion. The Pirates are not playable.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-19-2006, 02:04 PM   #40
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
your double posting
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > Star Commander

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:24 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.