lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Showing the Stormtrooper the door
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-12-2006, 06:52 PM   #1
tennozan
Rookie
 
tennozan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 25
Showing the Stormtrooper the door

Anybody know of a way yet to rid the game of the Stormtrooper who pops in (thanks to little R2D2's projector) and chastises me about letting the Rebels..blah, blah, blah... when a space battle begins?

I've taken to hitting my mute button when he pops up just to muzzle the lad. Anybody?
tennozan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2006, 07:01 PM   #2
GhOsT-Jedi
Rookie
 
GhOsT-Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Past the outer rims of the universe training my sith armies.
Posts: 159
Why is he such a annoyence to you?






GhOsT-Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2006, 07:48 PM   #3
EAWFAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
i dont find him an annoyance what is it are your speakers at 100% ?????




www.aosw.petrolution.net --- Ages of Star Wars: Jedi Civil war --- Official website
EAWFAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 01:47 PM   #4
jedi3112
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 500
I consider the guy an annoyance as well. Same with the Rebel dude. Firts of all they always say the same thing and their lines are absolutely useless. Second, I always though stormies are ground forces that are not in command of an ISD, and also aren't in command of any groundforces. Or for the Rebels, I always though that pilots didn't command ships in te first place and they don't command ground forces either.
jedi3112 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 02:06 PM   #5
tennozan
Rookie
 
tennozan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 25
Yeah, Jedi3112 - I guess that's it - the stormtrooper says the same stuff everytime that really doesn't match the situation often and most importantly -who is this guy to give orders to the fleet anyway? I can imagine him giving his orders in Lord Vader's presence - there would probably follow a strange choking sound...

Anyway, I'd just like to be rid of him - I'm so pleased that some folks like the guy - I'd just as soon see him sent back to the barracks to polish his armor and practice with his issued blaster rifle.
tennozan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 03:05 PM   #6
Rhedd-5
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 75
I wouldn't miss him if he were gone. ^_^

Unfortunately, I have no idea how to remove his bossy butt.

I wonder if dookie23 (great name ^_^) has an answer, since he successfully replaced those little films in his pirate mod.
Rhedd-5 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 03:26 PM   #7
tennozan
Rookie
 
tennozan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 25
Yeah, he probably found out where the little hologram stormtrooper was hiding!

Hey, Dookie23...what quadrant are you in? We've got a little mini-mod for ya to make!
tennozan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 04:50 PM   #8
thedoctor44
Rookie
 
thedoctor44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 48
Please god, get rid of them.

Whenever I launch a battle, I do a quick "scan" of my ships to see their strengths and weaknesses freshly...which is not easy when stormtroopers pop up saying "Bring the Death Star in range of the planet and show this rebel scum the power of this fully operational battlestation!"

Despite the fact I just obliterate the past 5 bases on my way there...they could atleast change his dialoque once in a while...
thedoctor44 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 05:14 PM   #9
EAWFAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
i will look at a few files and try to get rid of him in my mod




www.aosw.petrolution.net --- Ages of Star Wars: Jedi Civil war --- Official website
EAWFAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 08:36 PM   #10
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
If you get it to work, please put it in a mini-mod. This would be great to add to any mod.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 09:43 PM   #11
tennozan
Rookie
 
tennozan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 25
yes by all means - or just tell us where the line is so we can edit him / shut him down...
tennozan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 11:28 PM   #12
Sithman1138
Junior Member
 
Sithman1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 288
I think if you go into one of the xml's with the cinematic or movie or something. Yuo can change the file it uses to a imperial oficer or tarkin. Also you should be able to change the audio too. I don't know much and don't feel like doing it....good luck though!


-Adthrawn of SWGBH
-Sithman1138 of TF.N

^^Sig by Sabretooth^^
ADTHRAWN DESIGN TEAM
Sithman1138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 11:30 PM   #13
EAWFAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
i already tried audio no luck and the movies is a completly diffrent .meg fileso those are out




www.aosw.petrolution.net --- Ages of Star Wars: Jedi Civil war --- Official website
EAWFAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 11:34 PM   #14
Sithman1138
Junior Member
 
Sithman1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 288
Extract the .meg file called cinematic or something like that. The movie files are in bik foprmat...I'll see if it can be replaced. I'll help if I can but...I have alot of stuff to do this month.


-Adthrawn of SWGBH
-Sithman1138 of TF.N

^^Sig by Sabretooth^^
ADTHRAWN DESIGN TEAM
Sithman1138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 11:50 PM   #15
EAWFAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
i have school and lots of test this week and my mod so im already really packed i will try what i can




www.aosw.petrolution.net --- Ages of Star Wars: Jedi Civil war --- Official website
EAWFAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 12:02 AM   #16
Sithman1138
Junior Member
 
Sithman1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 288
Yeah. Tomorrow is my only free day.


-Adthrawn of SWGBH
-Sithman1138 of TF.N

^^Sig by Sabretooth^^
ADTHRAWN DESIGN TEAM
Sithman1138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 12:30 AM   #17
GhOsT-Jedi
Rookie
 
GhOsT-Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Past the outer rims of the universe training my sith armies.
Posts: 159
Think of it this way, The guys were sent ahead as scouts, they are reporting what they have thought would be best. And yes, it's the same line over and over again, but you realise what type of programing and voice acting it would take to get them to say any possible amounts of information to make it correct? I like him, but hey, everyone has the right to their own opion(sp?)






GhOsT-Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 12:39 AM   #18
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
opinion, not opiun.
And again, why would a Stortrooper be a scout for SPACE?


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 10:38 AM   #19
tennozan
Rookie
 
tennozan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 25
OK, it is only my opinion and I know that some folks like the scrappy little stormtrooper giving his orders to the Imperial Fleet but I'm all for simply removing him from his "post". Last I heard Moff Tarkin was looking for him - something about scrubbing down the garbage bins for his impudence.

It would be greatly appreciated if one of you mod maniacs could tinker with this and either replace him with someone in a snappy looking Imperial fleet uniform or just stop him from appearing at all.

I think this game is the bomb - but every time this guy pops up I cringe.
tennozan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 10:53 AM   #20
Tal Odo-ki
Junior Member
 
Tal Odo-ki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Not in a galaxy far, far away ...
Posts: 265
I'd like to see the Rebel counterpart vanish too.
Tal Odo-ki is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 11:18 AM   #21
jedi3112
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 500
Oh, the situations I can imagine with this guy.

After Luke and Han take care of the 2 stomies.

Fleet Commander: Let's attack all Imperial outposts, because TK421 tells us so.

Or if the guy is suicidal

Stormy: BTW, nice slippers Tarkin (for Tarkins pink slippers if you didn't know)

Stormy: Oh, and while we're at it we could kill Padmé as well, it seems she's still alive. What idiot would want her anyway (in the presence of Vader)

Stormy: Force lightning who would want to use that, the power wouldn't even hurt me. Only softies use Force Lightning (in the presence of the Emperor)
jedi3112 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 01:41 PM   #22
Orao
Junior Member
 
Orao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 266
In groundinfantry.xml filze you have this entery : Dialogue Stormtrooper. Try putting it in comment and see what happens.



EaW: Total Realism
mod....
TR mod team status: TR Advisor, programmer, map maker, Multimedia developer
Orao is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 02:29 PM   #23
tennozan
Rookie
 
tennozan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 25
Orao- is this something you have tried or have a reasonable expectation of working? I really don't want to tinker with something untried here - or turn my ISD's into giant hot dog factories or something.

You see, I'm definitely the end-user here - encouraging real modders as I go. My efforts at modding any game usually cause blue screens of death and things of that sort. Not good stuff.



Probably C3PO right before Lord Vader force crushed him...

tennozan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 02:44 PM   #24
Tal Odo-ki
Junior Member
 
Tal Odo-ki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Not in a galaxy far, far away ...
Posts: 265
I suspect that Orao's suggestion will result in the stormtrooper unit in ground combat no longer speaking (when given an order), which is probably not what people desire.
Tal Odo-ki is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 03:36 PM   #25
tennozan
Rookie
 
tennozan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 25
Nope - that feature I like. Anyway, if one of you pixel manipulators comes up with a way to shut the little Stormtrooper (who thinks he's a fleet commander) down just let us know.
tennozan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 04:35 PM   #26
Orao
Junior Member
 
Orao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 266
It is definetly this entery but you cant just delate it like that.

<GroundInfantry Name="Dialogue_Stormtrooper">
<Variant_Of_Existing_Type>Stormtrooper</Variant_Of_Existing_Type>
<Behavior>HINT</Behavior>
<Create_Team>No</Create_Team>
</GroundInfantry>



EaW: Total Realism
mod....
TR mod team status: TR Advisor, programmer, map maker, Multimedia developer
Orao is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 04:45 PM   #27
Mike.nl
Rookie
 
Mike.nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 52
There's another (easier?) way.
The stormtrooper and its dialogue are just a single .BIK file and several .MP3 files. Same goes for his Rebel counterpart.
Since the game first looks for these files on the disk before looking in the .MEG files (this search order is used for all game files), it's a simple matter of creating those files on disk, but without content. It was just a matter of figuring out which files it were (about 15 minutes work).
So, I did this and I made a nice little ZIP for y'all.

So, just download this: http://alpha1.dyns.net/eaw/downloads/shutup.zip, unzip in the GameData\Data directory and they should both be gone. From land and space combat.

If one of them still shows up somewhere though, let me know and say what he said so I can look up the appropriate file and add it to the ZIP.
Mike.nl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 06:44 PM   #28
tennozan
Rookie
 
tennozan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 25
Haven't tried it yet but THANK YOU SIR in advance!

I shall conquer a few planets in your honor tonight!

JD
tennozan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 12:08 AM   #29
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
IT worked! Thank you so much!


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 12:49 AM   #30
Rhedd-5
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 75
Rockin'.
Rhedd-5 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 11:47 AM   #31
tennozan
Rookie
 
tennozan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 25
Just decipered this message:

From Lord Darth Vader to Fleet Commander: I have the Stormtrooper with me - I have promised him a very close view of our Rancor feeding at the pits on Nal Hutta. Very close indeed. He will no longer trouble you and your efforts to focus our attacks on eliminating the rebel traitors.


Thanks again - Mike.nl!
tennozan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 01:30 PM   #32
Mike.nl
Rookie
 
Mike.nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 52
I'm afraid I don't understand.
Do you want that line removed as well? It seems like an occasional line; that wouldn't be an annoyance, would it?
And also: I can't find that line. When exactly did you hear it?

So: could you be a bit more specific?
Mike.nl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 02:29 PM   #33
Tal Odo-ki
Junior Member
 
Tal Odo-ki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Not in a galaxy far, far away ...
Posts: 265
Mike, he was pretending to be Vader, pleased that the stormtrooper is no longer a nuisance. It's not a line from the game.

PS - thanks, a LOT! Well done!
Tal Odo-ki is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 04:45 PM   #34
Mike.nl
Rookie
 
Mike.nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 52
Oh silly me
I was still in modding-mode and completely missed the humour there.
Then again, that line was pretty convincing as an in-game line.

And I'm just glad to be of service
Mike.nl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > Showing the Stormtrooper the door

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.