lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Modding turorial
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-13-2006, 08:48 AM   #1
Seamhainn
Forumite
 
Seamhainn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Taris, during bombardment
Posts: 633
Modding turorial

Hello!

I have absolutely no knowledge about modding, so bear with me if this is a stupid suggestion.

Is it possible to do a step-by-step tutorial for modding?

My idea is as follows:

One starts at say Yavin Station. There are two doors which can't be opened. This mod shall open one door and behind the door is a room with a npc one can talk with.

How can the tutorial be done?

- A savegame infront of the door.

- How can the door be opened.

- How does one make a room behind the door.

- How does one spawn a npc.

- How does one create a dialogue.

The list could go on, but that would be a good starting point.

I know this is a big (no a BIG) challenge for the one who picks it up. But I think many gamers would like to program their ideas, but just don't know where to start.

Thanks!
Seamhainn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 08:54 AM   #2
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: KotOR II
You can't add rooms to Yavin Station. You can't add rooms to other modules full stop. Remove rooms, yes. Add them, no. Layout editing still isn't figured out. And if you want tutorials, I suggest you read the ones in the various sub-boards above 'Modding Requests'



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 09:30 AM   #3
Elven6
Rookie
 
Elven6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 226
Their are some one my site if u want to check it out

Edit: http://www.freewebs.com/kotorstuff/ like I said their are some on my site

Last edited by RedHawke; 03-13-2006 at 10:11 PM.
Elven6 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2006, 09:33 PM   #4
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
The tutorials we have are the above Forums...

General Tutorials & Tools
Skinning & Modeling
2da Editing
Scripting

There is no 'magical' tutorial that will teach everything you need to know, to learn modding this game you will need to start with the tutorials we have and progress from there.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 01:46 AM   #5
Seamhainn
Forumite
 
Seamhainn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Taris, during bombardment
Posts: 633
Thanks again for all your help!!!
Seamhainn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 01:54 AM   #6
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth InSidious
You can't add rooms to Yavin Station. You can't add rooms to other modules full stop. Remove rooms, yes. Add them, no. Layout editing still isn't figured out. And if you want tutorials, I suggest you read the ones in the various sub-boards above 'Modding Requests'
Thats not quite true. By attaching a room from a different module via a module warp script function you can have the appearance of an attached room. For a good example check out Redhawke's Ord Mandell Mod. While Redhawke used a terminal with a dialogue to move from the Ord Mandell base to the Ord Mandell Apartments it would serve the same purpose if he had linked it to a door. When the PC opens a door then clicks on entering it it would move him to the spot you designate within a seperate module.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 08:59 AM   #7
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: KotOR II
But that would be a new module. What Seamhainn seemed to be suggesting was tacking a new room on in the .lyt



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 09:11 AM   #8
Seamhainn
Forumite
 
Seamhainn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Taris, during bombardment
Posts: 633
Not aproblem! I am browsing the turorials I found. I must say... I am a bit overwhelmed :-) .

Take care
Seamhainn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding turorial

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:43 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.