lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar
View Poll Results: How long after the release of Windows Vista will you upgrade?
I'm beta testing 6 5.00%
Immediately 9 7.50%
Within 6 months 15 12.50%
Within a year 35 29.17%
Never, If I can avoid it 45 37.50%
I use a Mac or run Linux 10 8.33%
Voters: 120. You may not vote on this poll


Thread: Windows Vista?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-14-2006, 07:04 PM   #1
matt--
Network Un-exploder
 
matt--'s Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 3,573
LFN Staff Member Notable contributor 
Windows Vista?

How long after the release date of Windows Vista will you upgrade (if at all)?


LFNetwork and LucasForums.com
matt at lfnetwork dot com
matt-- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 07:18 PM   #2
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,434
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
Well hopefully never. I run Ubuntu Linux, and I'd like to get an iBook or one of the new MacBooks sometime. So unless I am ever, for some reason, required to upgrade, I don't plan on it. I only started running Linux last year, so by the time Vista is stable, I'll be Linux-savy enough to not need to run windows except for games, which XP can handle.


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 07:48 PM   #3
Commander Obi-Wan
Gold Standard
 
Commander Obi-Wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,363
Current Game: BioShock 2
Forum Veteran 
Maybe within 6 months....


Commander Obi-Wan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 09:46 PM   #4
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,647
Current Game: Forza 5
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
well, everything is going to depend on if Microsoft will release DX 10 for XP. if not, then i'll probably get it somewhere down the line (definately well after its initial bug-filled release). in that case, i'll probably run a duel boot: Linux for just about everything and Vista for gaming.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2006, 10:44 PM   #5
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(.)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
I'm beta testing it. But I'll definitely get it to see games that use the (fully) programmable shaders and new DX stuff. Also I can't wait to see things like C# 3.0 and the new Windows API.

@Darth Moeller-
New games that use DX10 won't be able to run on Windows XP, unless Microsoft releases DX10 for XP, which they probably won't.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 01:19 AM   #6
Char Ell
Force Enlightened
 
Char Ell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,368
Current Game: The Old Republic
LFN Staff Member Folder extraordinaire Forum Veteran 
My current thoughts are to upgrade about a year after Windows Vista is released. I don't see any pressing need to upgrade before then unless, as others have mentioned, I need to have DirectX 10 for some reason. But I don't really foresee that happening.


Want to battle against cancer and other chronic diseases? Join Team LFN!


Char Ell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 08:16 AM   #7
jon_hill987
Senior Member
 
jon_hill987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Gloucester (UK)
Posts: 1,989
Current Game: BRINK
Forum Veteran 
I intend to buy a propper copy of XP SP2 (rather than the OEM version) just before vista comes out and to use it as long as I can.

I like XP, it works (as well as any version of windows ever can). untill it dosn't do everything I want i will keep using it.

I don't like the idea of the extra memory vista uses that could be put to far better use blasting aliens.
jon_hill987 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 08:30 AM   #8
Reclaimer
Loves Keira Knightley.
 
Reclaimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ...
Posts: 1,661
I said Immediately. Why? So I can upgrade that baby to a REAL gaming computer!


philla は陰茎のハハのwat の名前をであるそのlmfao のゲイの名前吸う
Reclaimer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 08:34 AM   #9
TSR
Hoist the colours!
 
TSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lincoln, England, UK
Posts: 2,777
Current Game: Rift
Forum Veteran LF Jester Helpful! 
whenever my school get it. then i can steal it.
i win.


British By Birth. English By The Grace Of God

Dulce et Decorum Est Pro Patria Mori
Let Mercy Come
TSR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 08:51 AM   #10
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Probably within a year... hopefully there will be a revision or Service Pack available by then (I rarely ever by first rev editions)... I've always got my Mac or my XP Pro OS as backup in case anything goes bonkers


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 01:51 PM   #11
master_skywalke
Junior Member
 
master_skywalke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In the O-OT Star Wars Universe
Posts: 258
Can't wait until its release!!!!!! It sucks that I can't download the February CTP because I spend all my bandwith at downloading OCPmovies Star Wars Classic Edition :P

master_skywalke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 08:18 PM   #12
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,214
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Probably within six months, although perhaps moving towards a year. It'll take at least that long for the majority of applications to make the move, and games will probably continue to come out based around XP for a similar length of time.

Any longer and it'd be cyber suicide to hold on as any new software is likely to be native to Vista; especially everyday programs for me such as Photoshop and whatnot which I'd imagine have programming teams who simply cannot wait to get their teeth into the Vista era of software and hardware (graphics card-powered operating system, dual/triple/quad-processing, etc).


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 08:39 PM   #13
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
I think there's a sizeable gap between "1 Year" and "Never". Most people I know probably run about 3-5 years behind the times when it comes to operating systems.

Cybersuicide? Maybe in some circles far removed from my own (Industrial Programmer/Systems Engineer).


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 09:29 PM   #14
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,214
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
I should clarify that what I said was strictly relative to myself.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 10:06 PM   #15
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(.)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hai Wan
I need to have DirectX 10 for some reason. But I don't really foresee that happening.
That reason is graphics my friend. DX10 is supposed to be (most likely will be) incredible graphics-wise.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 02:56 AM   #16
Samnmax221
I never Kipled
 
Samnmax221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My hovercraft is full of eels
Posts: 5,784
Current Game: Sex with women
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Within 6 months or first major patch, XP really pisses me off and is just too vulnerable, plus I'd like to take advantage of one of those nice proccesors AMD is making.
Samnmax221 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 11:38 AM   #17
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
I'm just gonna get a new computer, since not many XP programs will work with Vista. I want to keep my XP for a while.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 11:58 AM   #18
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,295
I don't have any need for Vista right now. As long as XP allows me to do what I want/need to do, I won't switch to Vista. I guess that places me somewhere in between 1 year and "never"
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 01:26 PM   #19
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
I will never buy software from Microsoft. I get its software for free through my college (not stealing like venom_tyrant), so when I'm out of school, no Windows for me. I'll stick with Windows 2003 as long as possible and I still use Windows 3.11 every few months . Unless Windows goes open source...



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 01:58 PM   #20
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,214
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Psycho.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 02:28 PM   #21
wuyanxu
Rookie
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Moeller
Well hopefully never. I run Ubuntu Linux, and I'd like to get an iBook or one of the new MacBooks sometime. So unless I am ever, for some reason, required to upgrade, I don't plan on it. I only started running Linux last year, so by the time Vista is stable, I'll be Linux-savy enough to not need to run windows except for games, which XP can handle.
my friend gave me Ubuntu linux, it's not a good one, why not use the free verson of Red Hat or SuSE?? those are both great Linuxes.

i chose with in 6 month because Halo2's gonna be on there, and i love Halo games on PC (on xbox, it's horrible)
wuyanxu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 03:30 PM   #22
Samnmax221
I never Kipled
 
Samnmax221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My hovercraft is full of eels
Posts: 5,784
Current Game: Sex with women
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
I will however keep this around for the older applications, just like the old pentuim 2 I eep for the really old crap
Samnmax221 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 07:24 PM   #23
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(.)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuyanxu
my friend gave me Ubuntu linux, it's not a good one, why not use the free verson of Red Hat or SuSE?? those are both great Linuxes.

i chose with in 6 month because Halo2's gonna be on there, and i love Halo games on PC (on xbox, it's horrible)
SuSe OSS 10.0- http://en.opensuse.org/Welcome_to_openSUSE.org
Red Hat Free (you mean Fedora Core )- https://www.redhat.com/fedora/

Gentoo is en excellent distribution as well, and it's definitely the fastest distrobution I've used. You can get it at: http://www.gentoo.org/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth333
I don't have any need for Vista right now. As long as XP allows me to do what I want/need to do, I won't switch to Vista. I guess that places me somewhere in between 1 year and "never"
KotOR 3 might come out for Vista...



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 08:42 PM   #24
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,434
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuyanxu
my friend gave me Ubuntu linux, it's not a good one, why not use the free verson of Red Hat or SuSE?? those are both great Linuxes.
Ubuntu > *


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 04:50 PM   #25
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(.)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
KDE > Gnome



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 11:37 PM   #26
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,434
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
I've never used KDE, so I don't know what it's like, but I like Gnome very well.


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 05:53 AM   #27
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,329
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
you'd be foolish to buy it before the inevitable service packs...

Screw this new crap, that's my thought. I'll seek alterantives if I can't use an earlier better-for-me version of windows (I like 2kpro) anymore for some reason.

One of these days I've got to stop being lazy and install Mandrake or Redhat on my multi-boot...


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 06:12 AM   #28
wuyanxu
Rookie
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac7142
KDE > Gnome
totally agree, if you've used SuSE, then there's no doubt that KDE is better (well, the feel of interface-wise)

yeah, it's Fedora Core, just forgot how to spell it. (i can't spell to save my life)
wuyanxu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 12:44 PM   #29
Darth Phantom
Rookie
 
Darth Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 23
Never, if possible.


Darth Phantom is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 04:19 PM   #30
Samnmax221
I never Kipled
 
Samnmax221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My hovercraft is full of eels
Posts: 5,784
Current Game: Sex with women
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Really want a computer with Vista after seeing screens from Flight Simulator X
Samnmax221 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2006, 12:42 AM   #31
Jae Onasi
Antiquis temporibus, nati tibi similes in rupibus ventosissimis exponebantur ad necem
 
Jae Onasi's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10,916
Current Game: Guild Wars 2, VtMB, TOR
Alderaan News Holopics contributor Helpful! LucasCast staff Veteran Fan Fic Author 
I'll probably get Vista with my next laptop. Upgrading an OS on a laptop is a pain. One of the MS guys finally had me uninstall SP2 after we determined that it just wasn't going to work on my current laptop.


From MST3K's spoof of "Hercules Unchained"--heard as Roman medic soldiers carry off an unconscious Greek Hercules on a 1950's Army green canvas stretcher: "Hi, we're IX-I-I. Did somebody dial IX-I-I?"

Read The Adventures of Jolee Bindo and see the amazing Peep Surgery
Story WIP: The Dragonfighters
My blog: Confessions of a Geeky Mom--Latest post: Security Alerts!
Love Star Trek AND gaming? Check out Lotus Fleet.

Jae Onasi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2006, 12:45 PM   #32
manoman81
Forumite
 
manoman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In the office of the Teleconferencing gods!!!!!!
Posts: 694
I'm going to try and hold out for as long as possible. There's too many negatives. There's too much integrated in for no reason. From what I read, it seems too system intense for no reason. XP pro is working just fine for me.


This is just my opinion....
manoman81 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2006, 01:36 PM   #33
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,647
Current Game: Forza 5
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
well, if you're just going to use Vista for gaming (like i am), then this article may prove to be quite interesting.

in a nutshell: the XP OS can't support the upcoming DX10, but since most of the next gen PC titles are designed for DX9, you won't have to upgrade to Vista right away. especially since the DX10 graphics boards are still in the development stage.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2006, 01:56 PM   #34
wuyanxu
Rookie
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 71
Quote:
From a user standpoint, the average person won't notice the difference, because things will just work the way they are supposed to. Connecting to other computers, locally or over the Internet, will be easier, faster, and hopefully more secure.
yeah, right.... what i want to know is whether it can connect to Linux to transfer files without having to install other stuff.
wuyanxu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2006, 02:58 PM   #35
Commander Obi-Wan
Gold Standard
 
Commander Obi-Wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,363
Current Game: BioShock 2
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingerhs
well, if you're just going to use Vista for gaming.
Yeah, that's te main reason why I am getting it.


Commander Obi-Wan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2006, 03:31 PM   #36
JediMaster12
Dum Spiramus Tuebimur
 
JediMaster12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Buried in books...literally
Posts: 5,933
Current Game: Assassin's Creed
LFN Staff Member Veteran Fan Fic Author Contest winner - Fan Fiction Forum Veteran 
I would wait and see. I have XP right now and it's been doing fine for me for getting what I need to do. Also I'll wait to see if there are potential problems that I could avoid. Kind of like when buying an XBox or the 360

JediMaster12 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-21-2006, 12:35 PM   #37
jedispy
 
jedispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Left side of the coin
Posts: 828
Current Game: Metroid Prime 2
I'm still running Win2K pro, and I'm still smiling. I also am running Free BSD on my other machine. I'm happy with what I got.

Will Vista even support older games? (DOS & other)


Jedispy - SOTE Mod Administrator, server/technical administrator, mod author, forum admin/moderator, web administrator, programmer.
Click to read the latest SOTE MOD news
jedispy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-21-2006, 07:27 PM   #38
Samnmax221
I never Kipled
 
Samnmax221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My hovercraft is full of eels
Posts: 5,784
Current Game: Sex with women
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
I've got a question for anyone who knows anything about Linux, I've heard good things about Xandros OS lately, is it any good in your opinion?
Samnmax221 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2006, 12:02 PM   #39
master_skywalke
Junior Member
 
master_skywalke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In the O-OT Star Wars Universe
Posts: 258
Two days I installed Windows Vista build 5308. THIS IS FREAKING AWESOME!!!!!!!! The UI is way better then previous builds and I only needed to install my Audio drivers, all other hardware was already fully funtional!!!

master_skywalke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2006, 01:07 PM   #40
wuyanxu
Rookie
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by master_skywalke
Two days I installed Windows Vista build 5308. THIS IS FREAKING AWESOME!!!!!!!! The UI is way better then previous builds and I only needed to install my Audio drivers, all other hardware was already fully funtional!!!
what system spec have you got?? i want to test it in VMware, but i don't think my machine can handle it even without VMware.
wuyanxu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > LucasForums Poll > Windows Vista?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.