lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Can I Flip-Flop Between Patched And Patchless?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-14-2006, 11:38 PM   #1
Flowing Force
Rookie
 
Flowing Force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Between you, me, the tree, the rock... EVERYWHERE.
Posts: 89
Can I Flip-Flop Between Patched And Patchless?

I'd like to have a patchless BF2 as well as a BF2 + patch installed, so I can flip between them and play whatever one I want to at any given time.

I'm looking for the easiest way to do this.

Should I "copy" my patchless BF2 game, so that I have two of them-- one left as is, the other to have the patch? Should I make a "backup" of my game? Is there even a difference between "copying" and "backing up"? How do I make a backup?

Any help at this would be great. Thanks.
Flowing Force is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 04:34 PM   #2
biny
Rookie
 
biny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 170
You could install the game in twice in different locations, but that would take up a lot of space. I can't help with copying and backing up because I don't know either.

Why do you want to be able to play it "patchless".


"I reject your reality, and substitue my own!"
-Adam Savage, Mythbuster Extraordiniare.

"A proof is a proof. What kind of a proof? It's a proof. A proof is a proof. And when you have a good proof, it's because it's proven."
-Jean Chretien, former Prime Minister of Canada.

NOBODY EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION!!!!!





biny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 08:16 PM   #3
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
You can try a program which tracks changes during installation ( like Total Uninstall ). Run it when you install the patch. When you want to play v1 of SWBF2, use Total Uninstall to undo the changes the patch made. When you want to play v1.1 again, reinstall the patch. I think this is the safest way for your system.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2006, 12:25 AM   #4
Flowing Force
Rookie
 
Flowing Force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Between you, me, the tree, the rock... EVERYWHERE.
Posts: 89
Biny-- Thanks for the tip... I was figuring that there may have been an easier way of duplicating it since the material is already in my computer. The reason why I'd want to play the OTHER way is because I actually haven't tried the patch yet. I've heard ample warning that the patch has brought a host of issues to many players, and since I play BF1 more than BF2, I figured I'd keep my BF2 in it's original form for a while longer. I'm NOW curious enough to consider taking the plunge into the patch, and seeing for myself what it'll bring.

Another reason why I asked how to make a backup is so I can finally use mods... I've been warned by many to make a backup of my game first, but I do not know how to do this.

ANYONE KNOW HOW TO MAKE A BACKUP?

Zerted-- Thanks for the tip about 'Total Uninstall'.

One reason why I wanted to freely switch between the two was ALSO for BF1-- which I actually play MORE of than BF2. Since I've now realized that the other patch options for BF1 are completely pathetic for online multiplay, I may just be simple and play BF2 with the patch exclusively. I'm keeping your tip for future reference, though... Thanks.
Flowing Force is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 01:01 PM   #5
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
To backup something, just COPY it into a different folder. You don't need to backup anything for just adding maps. You put those in the addon folder. If you have to change a game file, then you should back it up.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 03:18 PM   #6
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
well, its a small game, relative to your HDD space, just copy the stuff into another folder before you install.
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront II > General Discussion > Can I Flip-Flop Between Patched And Patchless?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.