lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: problems with tsl installer!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-15-2006, 11:52 AM   #1
L0rdReV@n88
Junior Member
 
L0rdReV@n88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: inside my private quarters above the ISD Chimera
Posts: 470
problems with tsl installer!

ok ive had problems using two different compiliers the first was with the selectable Carth and items done by cjt0202, Princess Artemis. and then yesterday i got Kreia's Assorted Robe Collection by ChAiNz.2da (and others).
what happens on both of them is it continues the install up until it begins to compile a script the first one i think. and it freezes right there and says it not responding.i click the folder SWkotor2 in my hard drive not the override like the installer says.then when i quite i know it somewhat worked because lines were added to some of the .2das that werenot there before the install. has anyone had this happen before or simular problems


"All thoughts are worth listening to, whether later judged to be of value or not."
-Thrawn
"When I roll up in Kashyyyk, I roll three Jedi's deep"
-mc chris
L0rdReV@n88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 12:04 PM   #2
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Are you installing directly from the .rar file or are you dropping the contents of the archive onto your desktop (or folder)?


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 12:13 PM   #3
L0rdReV@n88
Junior Member
 
L0rdReV@n88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: inside my private quarters above the ISD Chimera
Posts: 470
why i didnt have to that before im doing from my jump drive. but i can try that


"All thoughts are worth listening to, whether later judged to be of value or not."
-Thrawn
"When I roll up in Kashyyyk, I roll three Jedi's deep"
-mc chris
L0rdReV@n88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 12:28 PM   #4
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Try what? hehehe...

I was asking to make sure you weren't trying to install from the .rar itself

Here's the notes in my readme.. is this what you are doing?

Quote:
open the .rar file & drag-n-drop the folder "Kreias Assorted Robes" onto your desktop (or folder of your choice). DO NOT PLACE THE FOLDER IN YOUR OVERRIDE DIRECTORY.

Next, open the folder and run the installer application named "KreiasRobes_Installer.exe" that came with this mod. This will update the necessary game files and install the Mod into your game.


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 12:32 PM   #5
L0rdReV@n88
Junior Member
 
L0rdReV@n88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: inside my private quarters above the ISD Chimera
Posts: 470
ah sorry about that but i didnt have to do that with the old few installers ive done it straight from my jump drive before. today ill try it and i thank you very much if it works.but why would it change my .2das and not compile the scripts?


"All thoughts are worth listening to, whether later judged to be of value or not."
-Thrawn
"When I roll up in Kashyyyk, I roll three Jedi's deep"
-mc chris
L0rdReV@n88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 12:49 PM   #6
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
my guess is perhaps because of nwnnsscomp.exe and not the installer itself.. but of course I might very well be wrong...

The version of nwnnsscomp.exe in my mod is the exact one I use for all of my compiling, however the TSL Patcher asks that I also place the "nwscript.nss" in the folder (which I don't use in my Compile Dump folder at home)... I think it's required for HazardX's version...

I hope I didn't put the wrong one in there.. but I tested it on my machine to make sure it would work (it did)... but you never know.

Try it the way I quoted, and if it's still buggering, we'll go from there


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 03:36 PM   #7
L0rdReV@n88
Junior Member
 
L0rdReV@n88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: inside my private quarters above the ISD Chimera
Posts: 470
ok ChAiNz.2da it worked after i put it on the desktop and had to make a folder for the carth items though but both work fine


"All thoughts are worth listening to, whether later judged to be of value or not."
-Thrawn
"When I roll up in Kashyyyk, I roll three Jedi's deep"
-mc chris
L0rdReV@n88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 03:39 PM   #8
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
*whew* hehehe... I was worried there for a moment

Glad to see it worked!


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 04:42 PM   #9
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChAiNz.2da
my guess is perhaps because of nwnnsscomp.exe and not the installer itself.. but of course I might very well be wrong...

The version of nwnnsscomp.exe in my mod is the exact one I use for all of my compiling, however the TSL Patcher asks that I also place the "nwscript.nss" in the folder (which I don't use in my Compile Dump folder at home)... I think it's required for HazardX's version...
The TSLPatcher itself does not use nwscript.nss in any way, so if your compiler does not require that file there is no need to put it in the tslpatchdata folder along with the compiler. The only thing the TSLPatcher does is modify the NSS files as necessary, run nwnnsscomp.exe to compile them and move the resulting NCS files to the override folder or specified ERF-format file.

However, if your version of nwnnsscomp.exe uses the nwscript.nss from the game's own data files, remember that the nwscript.nss file in (at least some) non-US versions of the game is broken. If you don't provide a fixed file, and make sure the compiler uses that one instead of the one in the game data, the install will fail if someone with a non-US game tries to run it.

For debugging what nwnnsscomp.exe is doing, TSLPatcher 1.2.5 and later will display the shell output text from the compiler in the progress log if you set the Log Level to 4.


Last edited by stoffe -mkb-; 03-15-2006 at 07:12 PM.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 06:19 PM   #10
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
aahhh.. that clarifies it, thanks stoffe!

Well, since I don't doubt your instructions, I had decided to play it safe and put the (corrected) .nss in there anyways.. so methinks I'll continue to do so.

I was just worried that since I had compiled some of my source scripts with mine at home (that doesn't use the .nss) that it may have some way buggered the mod.. *whew* Nice to know that wasn't the case...

But the play it safe method seems to cover all bases

I'll try to remember to set the Log Level to "4" next time.. I wasn't sure what all it entailed so the Kreia Installer is set at Level "3" currently.. (I used WIP v1.2.6a). Since everything had tested A-OK on my end.. I hoped it would on others' end as well.. which turned out it did after a little trial & error *whew revisited*


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2006, 07:16 PM   #11
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChAiNz.2da
I'll try to remember to set the Log Level to "4" next time.. I wasn't sure what all it entailed so the Kreia Installer is set at Level "3" currently.. (I used WIP v1.2.6a).
LogLevel 4 is the "Debug feedback" log level that shows in more detail (blue-colored text in the progress log) what the patcher is doing. This can be useful when you are testing the installer. But you should probably set it to 3 (Normal feedback) for the "release" version of the mod to avoid confusing people who don't know what all that extra info means.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2006, 07:36 AM   #12
L0rdReV@n88
Junior Member
 
L0rdReV@n88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: inside my private quarters above the ISD Chimera
Posts: 470
thanks ChAiNz.2da and stoffe -mkb- I really like the kreia pack its realy cool and the installer is an awsome program although its confusing. im beggining to understand it. but its much better than compiling yourself


"All thoughts are worth listening to, whether later judged to be of value or not."
-Thrawn
"When I roll up in Kashyyyk, I roll three Jedi's deep"
-mc chris
L0rdReV@n88 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > problems with tsl installer!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.