lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Cant switch teams/color
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-18-2006, 11:53 AM   #1
darkthunder
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Cant switch teams/color

I've got a completely unmodified EaW, version 1.02. For some reason both when I join games (through Custom Match) or hosting my own, i'm always stuck on Rebellion side (and cant switch to Empire). I try switching to Empire, it reverts me back to Rebellion. And my color is always yellow, when I try to change color it reverts it back to yellow.

Bug, or setting?
darkthunder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 03:40 PM   #2
Athanasios
Forumite
 
Athanasios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 561
I think it's the options you have in Skirmish mode. The computer tries to give you the faction and colour you play on skirmish when playing online.
Athanasios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 08:20 PM   #3
darkthunder
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
I just installed the game, updated to 1.02, created an online account and went in on Custom Match to play with some friends. I haven't played skirmish or campaign at all, just multiplayer. So honestly, wtf is going on? Unmodded, clean install, patched to 1.02... and cant switch team or color in multiplayer.
darkthunder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 08:32 PM   #4
popcorn2008
Little Green Friend
 
popcorn2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 1,239
Make sure that you didnt push the Accept button. You have to make changes before doing that.

Otherwise you may just be expierencing a bug.


> Lucas Forums Moderator
> Petroglyph Forums Moderator
> Unofficial Petroglyph Fan Forums Global Moderator
popcorn2008 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-18-2006, 10:43 PM   #5
Jmaster3265
Forumite
 
Jmaster3265's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkthunder
I've got a completely unmodified EaW, version 1.02. For some reason both when I join games (through Custom Match) or hosting my own, i'm always stuck on Rebellion side (and cant switch to Empire). I try switching to Empire, it reverts me back to Rebellion. And my color is always yellow, when I try to change color it reverts it back to yellow.

Bug, or setting?

Well i can answer your question on the color. Here is what i have found out, if someone is already a color you want you need to rapidly click to get that color. It is kind of like your kicking them off. So for ex: say you want blue, but someone already has it. Click blue over and over and over until you get it.


Jmaster3265 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-19-2006, 09:23 AM   #6
darkthunder
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Ok... let me clarify:

- No, i have not pressed ready prior to trying to switch teams/color
- I've tried switching to ANY color, and it reverts me back to the same color I had when I joined the server. Even if said color is unused.

What good is a Tech Support forum, when the powers that be dont support? :P
darkthunder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-19-2006, 09:52 AM   #7
popcorn2008
Little Green Friend
 
popcorn2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 1,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkthunder
What good is a Tech Support forum, when the powers that be dont support? :P
Well the more clarification you can give to us, the more we can help you out.

Help us out by answering these questions:
- Does this error happen everytime you go to play online?
- Have you ever installed a mod? Even if you deleted it.

Try this, go to single player and skirmish battle. Can you change your settings there? If you can change them to what you want, start the skirmish battle then quit it. Afterwards, try to join an online game and see if that works.

Also I believe there is a color option in the custom match lobby in the top right. There is one in the LAN lobby anyway. Try changing your color there. Report back with your findings.


> Lucas Forums Moderator
> Petroglyph Forums Moderator
> Unofficial Petroglyph Fan Forums Global Moderator
popcorn2008 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2006, 05:24 PM   #8
Arifel
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
I had this problem too before. It was solved by creating a new account. I'm guessing that this may have been caused by mismatching account name and gamespy nickname.
Arifel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Tech Centre > Cant switch teams/color

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.