lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Vid card help please
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-06-2000, 11:04 PM   #41
Taarkin
Lazy Perfectionist
 
Taarkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Alaska: Eskimo muder capital of the world
Posts: 1,138
Post

If it makes anyone feel better, my current PC is 166mhz.

------------------
Was I supposed to eat the heads too? 'Cause I took nooo prisioners!

Once again, evil is defeated through the use of decorative agricultural technology!

Official forum Psychic
Taarkin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2000, 12:00 AM   #42
K_Kinnison
Grey Lensman
 
K_Kinnison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 3,735
Forum Veteran Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! 
Post

ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH JUST WONT WORK!!!!!! *starts going "wookie" on his comuter*
K_Kinnison is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2000, 12:02 AM   #43
JR2000Z
Ass-hole Extaordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: SOL system
Posts: 4,170
Post

Alright GUNNER,give us yer computer specs.
JR2000Z is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2000, 12:05 AM   #44
Andromeda
 
Andromeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Butler, PA
Posts: 329
Post

*laughs* K_K you're funny

and for all the rest of you, can you say it's all greek to me? i think the computer i'm on now (my parents) is like a 200mHz, and mine upstairs is i think a 400mHz, and it has 64mb of RAM, and 2 gigs of somethin else, but i dont' know what that's about all i know about em...my computer upstairs doesn't even have a modem right now it has an ethernet card, but that does me no good at home...

------------------
If you live to be a hundred, i hope i live to be a hundred minus one so i never have to live without you!
SkirtPower@hotmail.com

Official Forum Chick
Andromeda is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2000, 04:23 AM   #45
GUNNER
Forums Juggernaut
 
GUNNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Skywalker Ranch
Posts: 8,343
Current Game: Half-Life Episode 2
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Post

Well , lets see....

I have a PIII 700 overclocked to 933mhz(turned up the FSB to 133)MSI slocket and Golden orb cooler ,an Abit BE6 mobo, 128mg Mushkin PC133 CAS2 Rev 1.5 with Mosel Vitalic chips ,32mg Geforce GTS2, two WD 13.6gig 7200RPM ultra/dma HDDs,Diamond mx300 sound card,creative 52x cd-rom,intel 10/100pro nic,netgear 10/100 nic, Addtronics case w/5 fans. cambridge sound works FPS2000 speakers, 19 inch sylvania monitor.
Almost forgot, I "rounded" all my IDE and floppy ribbon cables too, the ATA/66 was to small to do, and the wrapped them in red wire loom.

the wife has a PIII 550 katmai , 128mg corsair PC100,voodoo 3 2000, HP burner, WD 10gig HDD, SB live sound, intel 10/100pro nic,17 inch sylvania.

Got me a P200 also. and SETI also runs on my parents PIII 600.

Thants about it, except the wife just got a new Dell PIII 800 lap top. It from her work ,so no seti.

[This message has been edited by GUNNER (edited December 07, 2000).]
GUNNER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 12:20 AM   #46
Taarkin
Lazy Perfectionist
 
Taarkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Alaska: Eskimo muder capital of the world
Posts: 1,138
Post

Although my chances of getting that new computer are dwindling, I think I should be prepared anyway. Nameley, how to set it up. Is there a faster way to copy stuff over besides painstakingly coplying each little thing onto a disk and then onto the new PC?

------------------
Was I supposed to eat the heads too? 'Cause I took nooo prisioners!

Once again, evil is defeated through the use of decorative agricultural technology!

Official forum Psychic
Taarkin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 03:37 AM   #47
Poor Bastard
 
Poor Bastard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: nope
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally posted by Taarkin:
Is there a faster way to copy stuff over besides painstakingly coplying each little thing onto a disk and then onto the new PC?
Painstakingly upload each little thing to the NET and then download it all again.

------------------
You know one thing that will really make a Jedi mad? Just run up and kick him in the ass...
Poor Bastard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 04:09 AM   #48
Nute Gunray
This is Really Expensive
 
Nute Gunray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Alexandria VA
Posts: 9,119
Current Game: Forza Horizon
10 year veteran! 
one word: network

------------------

I'm convinced solar energy is a Communist conspiracy

[This message has been edited by Nute Gunray (edited December 08, 2000).]
Nute Gunray is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 05:18 AM   #49
Keyan Farlander
Jedi Master
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 6,883
Forum Veteran 10 year veteran! 
Post

Get a tape drive. That gotta be the best way. Unless you only have a few hundred megs of stuff - you might want to go with a zip drive in that case.
Keyan Farlander is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 06:45 AM   #50
Zargon
old beyond my years
 
Zargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Urbana, Il
Posts: 5,691
10 year veteran! 
CD-R
Zargon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 12:27 PM   #51
Nute Gunray
This is Really Expensive
 
Nute Gunray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Alexandria VA
Posts: 9,119
Current Game: Forza Horizon
10 year veteran! 
Network and then hide all your <s>PR0N</s> files behind numerous passwords

------------------

I'm convinced solar energy is a Communist conspiracy
Nute Gunray is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 02:24 PM   #52
Admiral Zaarin
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Recearch Station Obsidian
Posts: 718
Post

What about DCCing?
Admiral Zaarin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 06:30 PM   #53
The Duke
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers
What a load of wankers

AnD We AlL FaLl DoWn
DoN'T AsK 4 ThE ObViOuS
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 07:47 PM   #54
K_Kinnison
Grey Lensman
 
K_Kinnison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 3,735
Forum Veteran Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! 
Angry

Anyone want a $150.00 potato chip?

E-mailed the computer Tech support ppl ,they told me to disabel something.. which i did, and when i told them it did not work they said I was wrong it should work. what happened to the customer is allways right? dam fricking SOB basterds

E-mailed 3dfx.. no reply, dam ingranful mother sucking pimp smegheads with smeg up thier butt from getting it from the smeggging smegged smegheads of their dads
K_Kinnison is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 08:44 PM   #55
Poor Bastard
 
Poor Bastard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: nope
Posts: 629
This thread is pure comedy...

------------------
You know one thing that will really make a Jedi mad? Just run up and kick him in the ass...
Poor Bastard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 09:01 PM   #56
JR2000Z
Ass-hole Extaordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: SOL system
Posts: 4,170
You guys think that you all great and rich huh?I have my own computer that will cruch your hopes.

66 mgz
Sound blaster Pro
Windows 3.1
AND a disk drive

I'd better stop now so you guys wont beat me due to servere jelousy.
JR2000Z is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 10:59 PM   #57
K_Kinnison
Grey Lensman
 
K_Kinnison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 3,735
Forum Veteran Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! 
Post

I GOT YA BeAT!!!

let me get the dust off of it first...

TRS-80 Tandy Color computer I
64k Ram
60 Key keyboard
Analog joystick with 1 button.
Cassette player (how i load programs)
13 inch Color TV
K_Kinnison is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 11:23 PM   #58
Admiral
Ruler of Valhalla
 
Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 5,359
Roleplayer 
Post

so I have a system that is older then I am.

------------------
"Dulce bellum inexpertis."
(Sweet is war to those who have never experinced it.) Roman Proverb
Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2000, 11:40 PM   #59
Nute Gunray
This is Really Expensive
 
Nute Gunray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Alexandria VA
Posts: 9,119
Current Game: Forza Horizon
10 year veteran! 
Quote:
Originally posted by K_Kinnison:
I GOT YA BeAT!!!

let me get the dust off of it first...

TRS-80 Tandy Color computer I
64k Ram
60 Key keyboard
Analog joystick with 1 button.
Cassette player (how i load programs)
13 inch Color TV
I've got a Tandy 1000rs under my bed. It's got 512k RAM. In your FACE.


------------------

I'm convinced solar energy is a Communist conspiracy
Nute Gunray is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2000, 02:12 AM   #60
JR2000Z
Ass-hole Extaordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: SOL system
Posts: 4,170
Unhappy

I never win.
JR2000Z is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2000, 03:07 PM   #61
JR2000Z
Ass-hole Extaordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: SOL system
Posts: 4,170
Arrow

Or loose.
JR2000Z is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2000, 03:07 PM   #62
JR2000Z
Ass-hole Extaordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: SOL system
Posts: 4,170
Arrow

Or loose.
JR2000Z is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2000, 03:10 PM   #63
Taarkin
Lazy Perfectionist
 
Taarkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Alaska: Eskimo muder capital of the world
Posts: 1,138
Wink

Or double post

------------------
Was I supposed to eat the heads too? 'Cause I took nooo prisioners!

Once again, evil is defeated through the use of decorative agricultural technology!

Official forum Psychic
Taarkin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2000, 03:59 PM   #64
Admiral Alistair
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

K_K....... You open up control panel, the system icon in there, the devices tab then, then left click and select properties on your old video card. In the old card settings select "disable hardware" thats what hewlett-packard told me after I had figured it out on my own... also in you BIOS you will want to find your PCI card settings and be sure to enable the PCI as a masterbus slot or something to that effect, sorry I can't be more in depth about the BIOS its just that every BIOS company designs their BIOS differently.... I believe to access your BIOS you must hit the F1 or delete key when your comp starts up

------------------
OMEGA_ALISTAIR
admiral_alistair@hotmail.com
OMEGA Commander
OMEGA Chief Engineering Office
http://omega.clanpages.com
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2000, 06:58 PM   #65
K_Kinnison
Grey Lensman
 
K_Kinnison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 3,735
Forum Veteran Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! 
Post

okay... im calling to 3dfx support

"esitmated hold time 33 minutes and 16 seconds"

OMG!!!!
K_Kinnison is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2000, 07:06 PM   #66
Nute Gunray
This is Really Expensive
 
Nute Gunray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Alexandria VA
Posts: 9,119
Current Game: Forza Horizon
10 year veteran! 
I called AOL's tech support once, the ONLY time I ever contacted tech support. They said I was going to be waiting for over 6 hours I got help in 56 minutes. Apparently everyone else stopped waiting...

------------------

I have a life, but I feel mostly dead.
Nute Gunray is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2000, 07:36 PM   #67
Taarkin
Lazy Perfectionist
 
Taarkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Alaska: Eskimo muder capital of the world
Posts: 1,138
Post

The only time I called tech suppor was Hasbro because the Spider Man toy I brought didn't work. They never called back

Taarkin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2000, 07:44 PM   #68
Poor Bastard
 
Poor Bastard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: nope
Posts: 629
HAHA.

------------------
You know one thing that will really make a Jedi mad? Just run up and kick him in the ass...
Poor Bastard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2000, 10:29 PM   #69
K_Kinnison
Grey Lensman
 
K_Kinnison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 3,735
Forum Veteran Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! 
Post

Well i fianlly got it fixed.. Fortunatly the guy i talked to foramlly worked for the scanner company I have a scanner for.. the KEYBUGCHECKEX error was specific for the scanner.

Un-plgged the scanner nad everythign worked just fine.

Now i got to find out why it wont give me resolution above 800x600
K_Kinnison is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2000, 03:21 AM   #70
JR2000Z
Ass-hole Extaordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: SOL system
Posts: 4,170
Post

Even I couldnt figure that out.
I had a cool Spiderman that I got at 7th grade.I tried to keep it mint condition but I opened it and played with it.Then I broke it.
JR2000Z is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2000, 01:49 PM   #71
K_Kinnison
Grey Lensman
 
K_Kinnison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 3,735
Forum Veteran Hot Topic Starter 10 year veteran! 
Post

anyone else use VOoDOo?
K_Kinnison is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2000, 04:17 PM   #72
Rogue Nine
*static*
 
Rogue Nine's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 14,654
Current Game: Bravely Default
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LF Jester 
My cousin got himself a Voodoo 5. Pretty durn sweet if you ask me.
Rogue Nine is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2000, 05:58 PM   #73
JR2000Z
Ass-hole Extaordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: SOL system
Posts: 4,170
I have a Voodoo2 Banshee.Should I upgrade to a Voodoo 5?
JR2000Z is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2000, 06:06 PM   #74
Rogue Nine
*static*
 
Rogue Nine's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 14,654
Current Game: Bravely Default
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Thumbs up

I'd say go ahead. Those graphics are nice. Makes me wish I could afford it.
Rogue Nine is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > XWingAlliance.net > 1. XwingAlliance > XWA Community Center > Vid card help please

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.