lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Question: Stealing Tech?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-27-2006, 12:22 PM   #1
abcdow
Rookie
 
abcdow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 68
Question: Stealing Tech?

As soon as the game indicated I could steal Tech from the Imperials, I took those Droids out and stole all I could. It got me to Level 3. Now the steal slot no longer appears, despite getting reminders from the game that I can steal Tech.

I am playing the campaign game and have completed all missions up to and including Atzerri, and intend on conquering the planet before I rescue Han Solo. I have also conquered every planet available so far except Bestine and Endor. I would really like some more Tech as the air speeders and Mon Cal Star Cruisers would really have come in handy during some battles against very difficult foes such as Imperial class Star Destroyers, AT-AT's, and Level 5 Space Stations.

When will I be able to use those Droids again for the steal option?
When will the steal option return?

(Sorry, for any spoilers, I didn't know how to hide things)

Thanks, abcdow
abcdow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2006, 12:26 PM   #2
gswift
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lenexa, Kansas (suburb of Kansas City)
Posts: 264
Yeah, there seems to be a problem with that reminder. I was playing a campaign game where the reminder started popping up after I had already reached maximum tech and conquered most of the galaxy. And it kept repeating till the end of the game.

Edit: This was with version 1.03, so shouldn't this be moved to the 1.03 patch problem thread above?


Gary Swift (aka gswift)
Lenexa, Kansas USA

You can try to monkey-proof your program, but you'll never monkey-proof the monkey.

Last edited by gswift; 03-27-2006 at 01:04 PM.
gswift is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2006, 12:50 PM   #3
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,431
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by abcdow
(Sorry, for any spoilers, I didn't know how to hide things)
Just FYI, the spoiler tags are [ spoiler]blahblahblah[ /spoiler] (without the spaces)

spoiler:
it looks like this like this


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2006, 02:24 PM   #4
wuyanxu
Rookie
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 71
i had that problem as well. just ignore it.
wuyanxu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2006, 03:21 PM   #5
popcorn2008
Little Green Friend
 
popcorn2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 1,239
It's because the droid hints pop up at random times, and are random in order as well.


> Lucas Forums Moderator
> Petroglyph Forums Moderator
> Unofficial Petroglyph Fan Forums Global Moderator
popcorn2008 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2006, 04:47 PM   #6
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
You can also turn those hints off by clicking on the droid's head and unchecking the "enable droid hints" box. Unfortunately, the setting on this option is on by default and is reset every time you begin a new game.

The campaign missions set limits on the tech level you can achieve in each mission.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-28-2006, 11:01 AM   #7
conmanguyler
Rookie
 
conmanguyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 82
u have to advance further in the game if you want to get more technology, if you cant get the assualt speeder or the awing, then that is because u havent completed enough missions


CG
"Hokey religions and ancient weapons are no match
for a good blaster at your side kid" - Han Solo

[SoL]ĞĦŢĤŴĶ
conmanguyler is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-28-2006, 11:56 AM   #8
wuyanxu
Rookie
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 71
so when do i get the Mon Calmila (SP?) cruiser? i totally love that cruiser in Galactic conquest mode
wuyanxu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-28-2006, 01:44 PM   #9
ScorLibran
Rookie
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuyanxu
so when do i get the Mon Calmila (SP?) cruiser? i totally love that cruiser in Galactic conquest mode
That's a tech-level-4 unit. So you won't get it until around mission 10 or 11 in the campaign. Unfortunately.

Unlike in a conquest game, in which they can steal right up to tech-level-5, 3PO and R2 only steal tech in a campaign game up to I think level-3...after that it's up to the campaign itself to "reward" you with tech advances.

Probably to maintain game balance. I don't think the campaign would be ready for you to have Mon Cals by mission 8.
ScorLibran is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-28-2006, 09:29 PM   #10
abcdow
Rookie
 
abcdow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScorLibran
That's a tech-level-4 unit. So you won't get it until around mission 10 or 11 in the campaign. Unfortunately.

Unlike in a conquest game, in which they can steal right up to tech-level-5, 3PO and R2 only steal tech in a campaign game up to I think level-3...after that it's up to the campaign itself to "reward" you with tech advances.

Probably to maintain game balance. I don't think the campaign would be ready for you to have Mon Cals by mission 8.
Thanks, for all the replies, however this is the answer I was looking for !!
abcdow
abcdow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-29-2006, 03:34 AM   #11
conmanguyler
Rookie
 
conmanguyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 82
u can only get the mon cal cruisers on the penultimate mission, after u get han and chewie to steal the schematics of that planet they go onto, by themselves!, (i found this mission very hard), then you also get ackbar and home one, this is only if you have taken mon calamari, otherwise you cant have your cruisers.


CG
"Hokey religions and ancient weapons are no match
for a good blaster at your side kid" - Han Solo

[SoL]ĞĦŢĤŴĶ
conmanguyler is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-29-2006, 04:13 AM   #12
wuyanxu
Rookie
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by abcdow
Thanks, for all the replies, however this is the answer I was looking for !!
abcdow
see, you have to ask the right question
wuyanxu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Galactic Discussion > Question: Stealing Tech?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.