lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: .skin files
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-11-2005, 10:36 AM   #1
KOTOR fan
Rookie
 
KOTOR fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 32
.skin files

How do you open .skin files? Im trying to mod JA but no1 is ever in the JA forums so I figured I would ask here. Do I need to download something to be able to open a .skin file?
KOTOR fan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2005, 10:53 AM   #2
The_Maker
Veteran
 
The_Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 966

...
There is no such thing is a ".skin" file in Kotor(2). If you mean textures the game uses databases called ERFs which contain .tpc files which kotor Tool can convert to tga.

Oh and, this is in the wrong forum bud


The_Maker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2005, 11:05 AM   #3
TheOssusKeeper
Forumite
 
TheOssusKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 534
he means for Jedi Academy... and most if not all the skins are in the .jpg file format inside of the assets packs i.e. assets1pk3 etc.

Edit: there are .skin files with these asset packs also, but honestly i can't remember how to extract and edit them right off hand, it's been a long while since i've done anything with JA...



Last edited by TheOssusKeeper; 09-11-2005 at 11:19 AM.
TheOssusKeeper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2005, 06:03 PM   #4
svösh
 
svösh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 733
Veteran Modder Helpful! Contest winner - Modding 
You open .skin with notepad , modifiy and save it without changing the file extension, One change I have made was making kyle 's collar invisible with [Off*] in jka and [nodraw*] in jko

but like The _maker said “wrong forum

svösh


pixel, poly builder
svösh's kotor mods
svösh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2005, 06:05 PM   #5
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Moving thread from the Kotor forums to the JA forums...
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2005, 06:20 PM   #6
90SK
Universal Figment
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Somewhere...
Posts: 4,385
Current Game: Tetris
Yeah, .skin files contain all the info on where the textures are assigned on a model in JA and JO. While it may look daunting at first, it's relitively simple to edit. You just have to know where everything goes.

For instence,

Quote:
head_face,models/players/atst_pilot/face.png
Refers to the face of the model (head_face). After the comma: that's the actual path. The models folder, then players, then skin (you can change it's name as long as you change all references to it in the skin files and folders and such. Say you're editing a stormtrooper. You would change the folder's name from "stormtrooper" to "your_skin's_name". Then you would do the same in all the .skin files where it makes references to that folder), then the texture (face.png).

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2005, 08:29 PM   #7
KOTOR fan
Rookie
 
KOTOR fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 32
Thanks you guys I modded my Reborn new if u ever see it it has Darth Malak on the front and has writing on the head. You will know it was me.


Obi-Wan-You were the chosen one, you were supposed to bring balance to the force not destroy it!

Anakin-I hate you!!!
KOTOR fan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2005, 08:34 PM   #8
90SK
Universal Figment
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Somewhere...
Posts: 4,385
Current Game: Tetris
Glad to hear it worked out for you!

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2006, 09:11 AM   #9
DonPo
Lurker
 
DonPo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: I AM CANADIAN!
Posts: 1
Hey all!
I have found a few bugs with skins in pk3 files for JA, namely the Nihilus skin,and the Mortis Rand skin,the former did not work;and the latter caused conflicts with some melee settings and console command executes in the multi-player game.
Have re-installed XP and JA numerous times for the sake of smooth gameplay,nevermind about the Nightmare of KotOR 2 and the Patch!!!
Any tips to getting Nihilus to work?
Way too much time on my hands,
DonPo
DonPo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2006, 02:53 PM   #10
Revan05
Rookie
 
Revan05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
how do you actually create your own .skin files?


Peace is a lie
Through passion I gain strength
Through strength I gain power
Through power I gain victory
Through victory my chains are broken
The force will set me free.
www.freewebs.com/revan05
Revan05 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2006, 04:31 PM   #11
90SK
Universal Figment
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Somewhere...
Posts: 4,385
Current Game: Tetris
It's best if you just copy a pre-existing one from the model you're re-skining. Use notepad.


And in the future, try not to bump old threads.

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Skinning > .skin files

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.