lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar
View Poll Results: What company is behind your video card?
ati 48 42.86%
nvidia 64 57.14%
Voters: 112. You may not vote on this poll


Thread: ati v. nvidia
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-05-2006, 12:05 PM   #1
matt--
Network Un-exploder
 
matt--'s Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 3,573
LFN Staff Member Notable contributor 
ati v. nvidia

What company is behind your video card?


LFNetwork and LucasForums.com
matt at lfnetwork dot com
matt-- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2006, 12:17 PM   #2
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
nVidia baby!... Dual DVI, Dual SLI 6800 Ultras... wooooooooooo

Hoping to upgrade at a later date, but haven't ran into any problems thus far... that and just saw the quad dual link QUADRO FX5500 SDI (specialty) card.. whoah...

ChAiNz likey..


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2006, 01:03 PM   #3
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
nVIDIA always! Go 6800LE! Although i cant use anymore cause my CPU fried...




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2006, 04:08 PM   #4
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
well, its Nvidia by necessity and not by choice. i was really wanting ATI to release an AGP compatable board based on the X1900, but since they've quit developing products for the AGP bus, i had to "settle" with an Nvidia GF 7800 GS (via BFG Tech).

don't get me wrong, i love how powerful my card is. its just that i wanted the capabilities of the X1900 which allows you to use both HDR lighting and Anti-Aliasing at the same time. plus the extra pixel processors really help things out. and i say that not because i'm always looking for the latest and greatest but rather because i don't plan on upgrading my computer (or buying a new one) for at least a year, probably 2.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2006, 06:07 PM   #5
Commander Obi-Wan
Gold Standard
 
Commander Obi-Wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,363
Current Game: BioShock 2
Forum Veteran 
I am pretty sure it's Nvidia...so Nvidia it is.


Commander Obi-Wan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2006, 06:23 PM   #6
Samnmax221
I never Kipled
 
Samnmax221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My hovercraft is full of eels
Posts: 5,784
Current Game: Sex with women
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Nvidia even though they broke up 3do
Samnmax221 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2006, 09:52 PM   #7
RoxStar
Moderator
 
RoxStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,411
Current Game: Everything Zelda
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
nVidia 6600 ftw

RoxStar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2006, 10:00 PM   #8
Samuel Dravis
 
Samuel Dravis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,973
ATi. I have a Radeon 9800 Pro on my old computer, and a Radeon X800 AiW on my main gaming computer.

My lappy has Intel graphics. >.>


"Words are deeds." - Wittgenstein
Samuel Dravis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2006, 10:00 PM   #9
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(.)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
7800 GTX 512s in SLI mode. I hate not being able to play Oblivion without HDR and AA switched on though.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-05-2006, 10:33 PM   #10
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,431
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
I'm an nVidia fanboy. I only have a TI 4200 right now but I'd really like to upgrade to a 6800 or even a 7800 soon. Actually I really just need a new computer.


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2006, 12:24 AM   #11
JohnLocke
Rookie
 
JohnLocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The island
Posts: 126
I have an ATI 9600SE
Weak by today's standard. But I've never understood the idea of shadow improvement. In BF, if I turn shadows off, Dark Troopers become readily visible in areas where there would be shadows. Or any enemy for that matter. Shadows only hinder your ability to see enemies. AND turning them off improves performance.
JohnLocke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2006, 05:47 AM   #12
TheMichal
Rookie
 
TheMichal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Warsaw
Posts: 48
nVidia of course. Galaxy 6600GT 2xDVI -> EaW looks awesome!

TheMichal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2006, 07:02 AM   #13
zodiakRUS1
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
my nVidia


zodiakRUS1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-06-2006, 12:29 PM   #14
popcorn2008
Little Green Friend
 
popcorn2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 1,239
I use ATI, but I really don't have much of a prefrence.


> Lucas Forums Moderator
> Petroglyph Forums Moderator
> Unofficial Petroglyph Fan Forums Global Moderator
popcorn2008 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2006, 12:02 PM   #15
Reclaimer
Loves Keira Knightley.
 
Reclaimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ...
Posts: 1,661
ATI for the record!!!


philla は陰茎のハハのwat の名前をであるそのlmfao のゲイの名前吸う
Reclaimer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2006, 05:17 PM   #16
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Currently, nVidia is behind my card, but I'm moving over to ATI soon because I'm not that impressed by the quality of the card that they boasted.



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2006, 01:49 PM   #17
wuyanxu
Rookie
 
wuyanxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 71
nVidia because i've always bought their product and my first impression of ATI is that its Linux's drivers are hard to install when my friend had trouble installing it on his laptop.

go nVidia!!!
wuyanxu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2006, 02:11 PM   #18
Lord_MalaKdoggk
Rookie
 
Lord_MalaKdoggk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
ATI

...and I'm still pissed that LA refused my support request because my video card wasn't in the 'supported' list. Guess what - I finished BOTH K1 and K2 with below minimum spec'd video card and without incident (was a missing cutscene file from K2)



'Never tell me the odds'
Lord_MalaKdoggk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2006, 03:20 PM   #19
matt--
Network Un-exploder
 
matt--'s Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 3,573
LFN Staff Member Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuyanxu
nVidia because i've always bought their product and my first impression of ATI is that its Linux's drivers are hard to install when my friend had trouble installing it on his laptop.

go nVidia!!!
It's true that ATI seems less supportive of linux drivers than nVidia. Late last year they released a driver incompatible with recently released kernel versions. I had to spend a good chunk of my day writing a patch for it.

nVidia on the otherhand has support for pretty much all of their card's functions (correct me if I'm wrong). Where as ATI typically doesn't have drivers for ATI staples, like TV-in on the All-in-Wonder line.

Sadly I didn't have a say in the specs of my new laptop - it has an ATI chip in it. I'm just lucky I've had experience dealing with their issues on my other boxes.

Matt


LFNetwork and LucasForums.com
matt at lfnetwork dot com
matt-- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2006, 10:58 AM   #20
BongoBob
Good Eye, Sniper
 
BongoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Camper Velourium
Posts: 6,391
Current Game: BC2, FFXIII
The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
I have an XFX nVidia 6600GT overclocked from 500mhz core/1000mhz memory to 550mhz core/1100mhz memory. Runs Half Life 2 on my outdated AMD Athlon XP 2000+ and 384MB RAM with almost no problems whatsoever (it goes to about 5-10 fps for the first 5-6 seconds after it loads, and then goes to 30+fps, but that's just because of my low amount of ram).


BongoBob is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2006, 03:12 AM   #21
DarthDeceptus
Rookie
 
DarthDeceptus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nar Shaddaa - Smugling, as usual...
Posts: 28
ATI X800, and a Slackware Linux. The ATI works fine on my Linux.


Jabba doesn't have time for smugglers who drop their pants at the first sign of an Imperial Cruiser.
DarthDeceptus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2006, 06:00 AM   #22
Canderous_ordo1
Rookie
 
Canderous_ordo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: sydney
Posts: 200
i use ati video card for gaming and dvd but for just normal things its nvidia so guess i use a bit of both


IM HERE IF YOU WANT SOMETHING DONE RIGHT

A TRUE WARRIOR IS ONE THAT CAN BEAT IT DOWN EVERY TIME IT RAISES ITS HEAD
Canderous_ordo1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2006, 04:07 PM   #23
Dark Sad Shadow
^Forum Haunter^
 
Dark Sad Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Stalk "The night", if that's your wish, Yet, if you find my grave, I won't be there, There are thousands of places left for my despair.
Posts: 3,212
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Nvidia! Gforce 6600!!

i had an Ati!

but nvidia its a lot better



Dark Sad Shadow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2006, 11:59 AM   #24
Niner_777
[RC-1270]
 
Niner_777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Desert canyons of Praesitlyn
Posts: 1,491
I'm pretty sure I have nvidia.



(^Click the pic to reveal my...) | Republic Commando: -]RC[-AjaX
BF2142: -]RC[-Auxidus | www.redcellgaming.com (I really need a userbar, eh. >.<)
Niner_777 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2006, 12:20 PM   #25
Char Ell
Force Enlightened
 
Char Ell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,368
Current Game: The Old Republic
LFN Staff Member Folder extraordinaire Forum Veteran 
NVIDIA 7800 GTX on my gaming PC and NVIDIA GeForce 4 Go on my laptop.

For some reason I've got this notion in my head that NVIDIA cards match up better with Intel processors and ATI cards match up better with AMD processors. And since both my systems are Intel driven I guess that is why I've gone with NVIDIA graphics. Not saying the above is true, just stating my reasoning, faulty though it may be.


Want to battle against cancer and other chronic diseases? Join Team LFN!


Char Ell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-21-2006, 08:25 AM   #26
Ray Jones
[armleglegarmhead]
 
Ray Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: digital
Posts: 8,255
10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! Forum Veteran 
nVidia for me it is.

A GeForce 420 Go w/ 16mb VRAM. X)

It has "shaders are overrated" written on it. XD

But I can patch Wine to trick the games lol


Ray Jones is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-21-2006, 08:42 AM   #27
Peff
Rookie
 
Peff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 83
My computer has ati radeon 9700...


- Don't worry ! There is no sugar... Drink Coka Cola instead
Peff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2006, 02:56 AM   #28
CSI
Aa! Megami-sama!
 
CSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tariki Hongan Temple, City of
Posts: 1,797
Current Game: Frozen Throne
Helpful! 
This is hard to say because I used ATI Radeon 9800 earlier, but now I use Radeon X1300 and nVidia Quadro FX 1400 simulatously.




| Muunilinst 10 | Real Life | Exiled Jedi Weapon Master | Ex-Sith Marauder | Gunslinger |
Killed in a suicide attempt of ramming his own ship, Ravager, onto the surface of Telos IV. --Casualty Report: Order 66
CSI is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-29-2007, 04:40 PM   #29
Samurai DD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 302
ATI Rules!!! I've got a X1950 512MB. I've always preferred it over NVIDIA.
Samurai DD is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2007, 11:45 AM   #30
Jae Onasi
Antiquis temporibus, nati tibi similes in rupibus ventosissimis exponebantur ad necem
 
Jae Onasi's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10,912
Current Game: Guild Wars 2, VtMB, TOR
Alderaan News Holopics contributor Helpful! LucasCast staff Veteran Fan Fic Author 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Jones
nVidia for me it is.

A GeForce 420 Go w/ 16mb VRAM. X)

It
Mine is the 32mb 'upgrade'. It plays Kotor, though, so I'm happy.


From MST3K's spoof of "Hercules Unchained"--heard as Roman medic soldiers carry off an unconscious Greek Hercules on a 1950's Army green canvas stretcher: "Hi, we're IX-I-I. Did somebody dial IX-I-I?"

Read The Adventures of Jolee Bindo and see the amazing Peep Surgery
Story WIP: The Dragonfighters
My blog: Confessions of a Geeky Mom--Latest post: Security Alerts!
Love Star Trek AND gaming? Check out Lotus Fleet.

Jae Onasi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2007, 11:59 PM   #31
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
I always buy Nvidia. I've seen it outperform ATI everytime I've run it on comparable cards side by side for bench testing. Not too mention I have encountered much fewer failures of the chipsets on Nvidia's side.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2007, 11:20 AM   #32
IfritZero
Rookie
 
IfritZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: In a vat
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Jones
nVidia for me it is.

A GeForce 420 Go w/ 16mb VRAM. X)

It has "shaders are overrated" written on it. XD

But I can patch Wine to trick the games lol
I think I have a 64 MB Geforce 4 MX. Underpowered, outdated GeForce cards ftw!
IfritZero is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > LucasForums Poll > ati v. nvidia

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.