lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Black Screen After Telos
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-08-2006, 09:39 AM   #1
Calza
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Unhappy Black Screen After Telos

Just after i leave the polar capes in Telos, It comes up with a loading screen but it freezes near the centre, When i go to auto save it loads to the ship but the screen it black, i mean completely black, the computer isn't frozen or anything, If i click start i can see everything, but when i go back its black, whats wrong and how can i fix it?

Calza is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2006, 09:55 AM   #2
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Sounds like a nasty game glitch happened, hopefully you have a save from earlier on that you can revert to. If you don't then you likely have to start over.

That's why Obsidian Entertainment put in the hint during loading area transitions to "Save often, and in different slots."

Edit: I usually have several saves for each planet, one at first landing, several for various plot points during the world, and one just before leaving. When the game 'hiccups' you have some ability to retry it without having to play the whole planet again or having to start over.

@ Welcome to the madhouse... er'... forums!


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2006, 11:17 AM   #3
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
hmm, are you trying to play the game on the original Xbox or the 360??

i've heard some complaints (albeit not on these forums) that running Kotor 2 on a 360 tends to be a bit unstable compared to the original Xbox.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2006, 11:59 AM   #4
Calza
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
i am playing on PC
Calza is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2006, 12:00 PM   #5
Calza
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
is their some sort of bug fixing thing i can download?
Calza is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2006, 12:01 PM   #6
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calza
i am playing on PC
Then the Xbox help forum isn't the place to have posted this thread.

Moving to the Workbench... the answer I gave above still would apply though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calza
is their some sort of bug fixing thing i can download?
Have you downloaded the patch? If not then you might try that.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2006, 05:01 AM   #7
Calza
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
yeh i did, did nothing

i dont use any mods or anything at all guys, and i play pc, so i dont see whats wrong with it

Last edited by RedHawke; 05-09-2006 at 06:29 AM. Reason: Moved text from deleted posts in other thread... so we can have all the info in one place.
Calza is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2006, 06:22 AM   #8
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Well, being that it has now been established you are playing on a PC, and are using no mods, then posting your PC's specs as indicated in this thread might be of some help to the others who are better qualified to help you figure out what might be happening.

It still sounds like a loading glitch of some sort to me. If it happens everytime with your particular savegame then it is either your savegame has become corrupted or if it happens with all your saves the game installation itself might have become corrupted.

Edit: I also deleted your last post from the other similar thread you have been posting in and added the content to your above post, for the sake of keeping all your info in one place to make it easier for you to get some help. *Crosses Fingers*


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by RedHawke; 05-09-2006 at 06:39 AM.
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2007, 02:37 PM   #9
Irian
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 23
Just a little detail, as I stumbled over this thread while searching a solution for my girlfriend, who has a similar problem (after leacing Telos, the screen becomes black):

There seems to be a bug, if you first free your friends and then fight against the handmaidens.

At least, this was it for my girlfriend, she tried it again, this time the other way round and bingo, no black screen any more.
Irian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Black Screen After Telos

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.