lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: A question regarding the map editor
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-12-2006, 06:47 PM   #1
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Question A question regarding the map editor

There is one thing I was wondering about concerning the map editor/mod tools that I haven't been able to find an answer to. Will you be able to make new planets in the galactic overview map as well? I take it that the map editor is primarily aimed at creating new tactical maps (at least that's how most people talk about it) but I would like to make my own galactic map as well. Create new planets, assign new space/ground maps to them, give the planets special abilities/bonuses and so on. Will this be possible?
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2006, 08:47 PM   #2
Darth Plagus
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 28
As far as i can tell, it should...maybe not in the detail that you have suggested but on the galactic conquest screen there is an option for custom maps (im pretty sure anyways) So it seems logical that something of this nature would be allowed. I sincerely hope it isnt just "you pick what planets you want to be allowed" b/c that would be pointless.

Having said that.....We [I atleast] still have no 'real' information about the patch, map editor, mod tools, etc etc. So there really doesnt seem like theres any way to answer the question until the notes or editor itself are released. :-/
Darth Plagus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2006, 10:30 PM   #3
EAWFAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
no one except the devs and lucasarts knows what we can do with the map editor i would think that the things you listed will be possible to make




www.aosw.petrolution.net --- Ages of Star Wars: Jedi Civil war --- Official website
EAWFAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2006, 01:33 AM   #4
Wildcat'
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 108
I'm pretty sure you'll be able to actually create tactical maps because one of the devs referred to it as a "terrain generator" (at least I think he did) which means it is a tool for tactical combat (actual ingame 3D fighting - not Galactic Map) map creation.



Wildcat' is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2006, 10:54 AM   #5
paws1111
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
Its probebly only a turrain map editor . Why you might ask? becase galactic map is handeld through xml editing of course its posible that they would include it itsunlikly becas from a coders perspective its quite easy

but if ur real lucky maby some 1 can create a user galatic map editer for thos who dont want to code it wouldent be too hard a program that takes quordinats from a draged an droped planet and writes them in xml format to a file
paws1111 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2006, 11:18 AM   #6
popcorn2008
Little Green Friend
 
popcorn2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 1,239
Okay let me straighten this out for you guys:

The map editor will only allow the creation of Land/Space maps. In order to make new galatic maps, you have to edit the .XML files. Technically you will be able to add new planets to galatic conquest modes but you will have to edit the .XML to do so.

If you want more information on how to add planets to the galatic view, I would suggest making a thread in the modding section.


> Lucas Forums Moderator
> Petroglyph Forums Moderator
> Unofficial Petroglyph Fan Forums Global Moderator
popcorn2008 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2006, 02:59 PM   #7
Darth Plagus
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 28
if the editor is only able to create ground/space combat maps, then why is there an option for custom maps when you are selecting the galactic conquest map to use....IF the only way to edit the galactic conquest maps is to change the XML files...this wouldnt be a custom map, it would just replace one of the existing maps...so is this "option" an error or could popcorn be wrong? IT just seems a little confusing to me :-/
Darth Plagus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2006, 12:43 PM   #8
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Plagus
if the editor is only able to create ground/space combat maps, then why is there an option for custom maps when you are selecting the galactic conquest map to use....IF the only way to edit the galactic conquest maps is to change the XML files...this wouldnt be a custom map, it would just replace one of the existing maps...so is this "option" an error or could popcorn be wrong? IT just seems a little confusing to me :-/
I'm not sure how the coders set it up since I'm not on the patch team, but it's likely there so that you can make your own custom Galactic Conquest campaigns by creating a new Campaign XML file. Adding new planets to the Planets.XML file falls under the category of Mod not custom map, since it would require modifying two or more XML files. Not that you can't do that, it's just a little bit more work.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2006, 01:34 PM   #9
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Will there be more Conquest maps released before the expansion? Like with the 1.04 patch? It would be nice to have some fresh maps to play while waiting for FoC.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2006, 02:51 PM   #10
Orao
Junior Member
 
Orao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 266
Hy Torpid. For Total Realism mod we made up to 8 different Galactic conquest modes. They are functionnal in single player and multiplayer mode.

As far as maps are concerned in the file called planets.xml you have two enteries for each planet description.

1. Space tactical map

2. Ground tactical map

So all we have to do is to create new map and to indicate to the game in Plantes.xml file which map to use. New maps should be placed in art folder.

We tryed it by using the skirmish map and it worked (note on skirmish maps base and space station had to be built from scratch so I'm hope that in editor we will be able to indicate that the map is specialy designed for GC and thus will force it to use construction from galaxy overview).



EaW: Total Realism
mod....
TR mod team status: TR Advisor, programmer, map maker, Multimedia developer
Orao is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Galactic Discussion > A question regarding the map editor

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.