lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Mod chip and XBOX modding.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-07-2006, 08:15 PM   #1
moranos
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Mod chip and XBOX modding.

Hokay, here's the thing. I heard about something called a "mod chip." I am assuming this is action replay or gameshark or something of that sort. This is all to mod on xbox. I know it's possible, and I'd like to do it. There are some things i'd like to try. But first I need to know what a mod chip is, if I need an ftp program and exactly what to do with it all. Any ideas?
moranos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2006, 09:08 PM   #2
mjpb3
Forumite
 
mjpb3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Eccentricity
Posts: 632
You don't necessarily NEED a mod chip to mod your XBox if you just want to mod Kotor and/or Kotor 2.

You can do what is called a soft mod. Check over in the XBox Discussions for some reads on how to do a soft mod.

Also, try http://www.xbox-scene.com/xbox-tutorials.php

HTH



.·:*¨¨*:·..·:*¨My Mods¨*:·..·:*¨¨*:·.
Disciple FTW!
There is no canon. There is only Revan.
FYI: I am a girl, and you may call me Janet.
It's all just fun and games until the flying monkeys attack.
mjpb3 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-21-2006, 07:23 AM   #3
reven0123
Rookie
 
reven0123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bolton England
Posts: 180
dont think ill bother modding my xbox im fairly knowledge with consoles and pcs but this goes right over my head.
reven0123 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-21-2006, 09:18 AM   #4
mjpb3
Forumite
 
mjpb3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Eccentricity
Posts: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by reven0123
dont think ill bother modding my xbox im fairly knowledge with consoles and pcs but this goes right over my head.
LOL! It's really not as hard as it seems, just a little technical.

Believe me, if I can mod my XBox, anyone can.



.·:*¨¨*:·..·:*¨My Mods¨*:·..·:*¨¨*:·.
Disciple FTW!
There is no canon. There is only Revan.
FYI: I am a girl, and you may call me Janet.
It's all just fun and games until the flying monkeys attack.
mjpb3 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-04-2006, 01:41 PM   #5
The Source
Rest In Peace
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,304
Contest winner - Modding 
I thought all you need to do is just hook up a network cable between the PC and Xbox, and then try to find the I.P. through Network Neighborhood?
The Source is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-05-2006, 05:34 PM   #6
Xbx_Inthusiast
.Devil's Trap.//
 
Xbx_Inthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,156
Helpful! 
Nope, you have to mod your xbox first before you get to see the xbox's IP. I've modded about 7 xboxs all together and only one has failed. The whole time I used splinter cell (very first, non-platinum hits) and an Action Replay Max. There are boatloads of tutorials at www.se7ensins.com but that site is off and on due to a new server. As well as www.xbox-scene.com . Or, if you have any questions, just ask me. Oh, and for the FTP program, FlashFXP it's a trial but it's a long trial, I've never run out yet .
Xbx_Inthusiast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-05-2006, 06:44 PM   #7
mjpb3
Forumite
 
mjpb3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Eccentricity
Posts: 632
^^^ We used Splinter Cell as well, and I use Window's FTP program to transfer my stuff to our XBox. We also set up our connection with a router and an ethernet cable.



.·:*¨¨*:·..·:*¨My Mods¨*:·..·:*¨¨*:·.
Disciple FTW!
There is no canon. There is only Revan.
FYI: I am a girl, and you may call me Janet.
It's all just fun and games until the flying monkeys attack.
mjpb3 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2006, 11:52 PM   #8
AlBundy
Rookie
 
AlBundy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 87
I read through some tutorials on the links you posted, as well as others, and all this is very confusing, and I dont have nay of the resources needed (splinter cell or that 007game etc) or know anything about this FTP stuff, or cables and what not.

So I was wondering if I could get some help from someone in making a gamesave for TSL? I've been making some tweaked items in KT and i want to play with them on my Xbox...I have an AReplay and if someone could help me put these on a save I would be very grateful.


"In certain extreme situations, the law is inadequate. In order to shame its inadequacy, it is necessary to act outside the law. To pursue natural justice." - The Punisher
AlBundy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2006, 12:19 AM   #9
Xbx_Inthusiast
.Devil's Trap.//
 
Xbx_Inthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,156
Helpful! 
Currently, the only way to have a tweaked game file for XBox would be modding. You can't used KT or KSE to edit save files or anything and expect them to work in the XBox. Both systems (PC and XBox) all have different signatures for save files. And you can't port save files from the PC to the XBox without having a corrupt save. Fortunately, Redhawke is a modder and has some fantastic saves for KOTOR and KOTOR 2 on his personal site, if you havn't been there yet. I highly recommend it.
Xbx_Inthusiast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2006, 03:04 AM   #10
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xbx_Inthusiast
Fortunately, Redhawke is a modder and has some fantastic saves for KOTOR and KOTOR 2 on his personal site, if you havn't been there yet. I highly recommend it.
I do? When did this happen?

I think Xbx_Inthusiast is referring to someone else.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2006, 04:48 AM   #11
Xbx_Inthusiast
.Devil's Trap.//
 
Xbx_Inthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,156
Helpful! 
Really? I must have. Actually, it must have been someone else.. >_> forgot their name.
Xbx_Inthusiast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-22-2006, 08:20 PM   #12
balaco
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
His name is StormSinger and you can find his saves at http://home.alltel.net/jls31/.
balaco is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > Ebon Hawk's Machine Room > Mod chip and XBOX modding.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.