lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Getting ANY of the files to work on XP
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-22-2006, 03:11 PM   #1
tomtommyboy
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Getting ANY of the files to work on XP

Hey everyone

I'm new on this thread so sorry if this sort of thing has been posted before...

...but I've searched the web and can't find any relevant details. I have a GRIM FANDANGO CD (one disc, not 2 as seems to be the norm discussed on some forums) which doesn't autorun when I put it in my DVD drive on my PC. When I open up the files to explore on the CD I have one executable file, "AUTOSTUB". NOTHING I do can make it run, including all the 'compatibility' settings etc., and I'm stuck at such an early stage that any patches are irrelevant. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
tomtommyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-22-2006, 03:49 PM   #2
Joshi
Registered Amuser
 
Joshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wherever the wind takes me... or failing that the nearest cinema.
Posts: 7,196
LFN Staff Member 
Well, technically you should have two Disc's. How exactly did you obtain this copy of Grim Fandango?

Joshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-22-2006, 05:07 PM   #3
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,202
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Yeah, it sounds a bit dodgy. Having one disk in itself is probably not too odd, assuming that it's the DVD version which was released later on as far as I'm aware. However, the contents of it certainly don't sound very healthy!

Is it definitely a boxed, legitimate copy? I've never heard of a DVD's contents just vanishing like that.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-20-2007, 12:05 AM   #4
XxTombRaiderxX
Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
The CD Which has only one executable file named autostub is the second one, so i guess that you don't have the CD I, but the CD II, and the setup is in the first one....I think there's a CD missing...

EDIT: I didn't realised that the post was so old! forgive me....
XxTombRaiderxX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-20-2007, 12:54 AM   #5
Samnmax221
I never Kipled
 
Samnmax221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My hovercraft is full of eels
Posts: 5,784
Current Game: Sex with women
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxTombRaiderxX
forgive me....
Never.
Samnmax221 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Grim Fandango Discussion > General Forums > Glottis' Garage > Getting ANY of the files to work on XP

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.