lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Diplomacy
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-24-2006, 12:57 PM   #1
Grimscythe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: US
Posts: 25
Diplomacy

I was wondering if there was any way to mod in diplomacy into the game...that would truly make this a killer RTS.
Grimscythe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2006, 01:03 PM   #2
EAWFAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
i know there is some codes for it but are turned off i guess you might be able to but it would take a very long time




www.aosw.petrolution.net --- Ages of Star Wars: Jedi Civil war --- Official website
EAWFAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2006, 01:47 PM   #3
ghost665_uk
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
really?, so diplomacy was cut from the game?, the game would be amazing if diplomacy could be added, hope some of the moders out there are having a look into this possibility!
ghost665_uk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2006, 02:12 PM   #4
EAWFAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
well i dont think it is possible it was cut early by the looks theres only traces of it in planets xml and some units and such there was also a dark side light side variable that was cut by the looks of it




www.aosw.petrolution.net --- Ages of Star Wars: Jedi Civil war --- Official website
EAWFAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2006, 06:13 PM   #5
ghost665_uk
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
thats a shame, would have added a whole new depth to the game, especially this light side dark side idea, sounds interesting. Wonder why they cut it?
ghost665_uk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2006, 11:52 PM   #6
Slocket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 309
For the young dumb 'bigger' audience. It had to past the 12 year old test.

I wish it was more like Rebellion. EAW has become a bit boring.
Slocket is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2006, 11:25 AM   #7
Grimscythe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: US
Posts: 25
I'm sure there's some way of doing it...maybe SAGEKING or Torpid can clue us in

In any case...it might not have to do with the XML even...maybe something you can "feign" diplomacy by editing the LUA's somehow...anyways this is far from my territory, I'm just brainstorming.
Grimscythe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2006, 11:42 AM   #8
ghost665_uk
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
never played Rebellion but i was wanting something like ig2 with eaw instead we got C&C which i guess i should have expected since the C&C team are the ones that produced it. Wish i was a modder but im not so can someone who is have a look and see if its actually possible to have diplomacy in eaw.
ghost665_uk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2006, 12:00 PM   #9
Orao
Junior Member
 
Orao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 266
No it is not possible. You can't reactivate what remains of the diplomacy without editing the exe file which of course is hard to do. It could be possible if somone can decompile the file and then let us have source code access but that is not likely to happen.



EaW: Total Realism
mod....
TR mod team status: TR Advisor, programmer, map maker, Multimedia developer
Orao is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2006, 02:07 PM   #10
EAWFAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
lua is only for AI and story codes and crap and like orao said it isnt possible i dont even think the engine can do it




www.aosw.petrolution.net --- Ages of Star Wars: Jedi Civil war --- Official website
EAWFAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2006, 04:04 PM   #11
Grimscythe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: US
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orao
No it is not possible. You can't reactivate what remains of the diplomacy without editing the exe file which of course is hard to do. It could be possible if somone can decompile the file and then let us have source code access but that is not likely to happen.
What's so difficult about decompiling the .exe file?

@EAWFAN: I realize that the LUA is for AI and Story, that's why i said it may be possible to FEIGN diplomacy by making the AI react a certain way, or change their diplomatic stance to you depending on what you do. For example, if the Empire were to use the DS to destroy a planet, certain indigenous people would become hostile to the Empire regardless of their previous stance.
Grimscythe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2006, 04:43 PM   #12
Orao
Junior Member
 
Orao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 266
Well ytr it and find it by your self. It is like doing reverse engineering on the aiplane's radar. When you don't know what is what and which variable is doing what you can always decompile it but you are not sure that it works.

Just try to write decompiler for eaw exe file and see by you self.



EaW: Total Realism
mod....
TR mod team status: TR Advisor, programmer, map maker, Multimedia developer
Orao is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2006, 12:56 AM   #13
Grimscythe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: US
Posts: 25
Well...I've got Microsoft Visual Studio 2005...I believe that has a decompiler...I'll see what I can do then.
Grimscythe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2006, 04:12 AM   #14
DarthMaulUK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Let me just add that the communities cries for a game with diplomacy are not going unheard but any such addition probably won't come to Empire at War - but the futre - who knows.

DMUK
  you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > Diplomacy

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.