lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: need some help with model(just some doubts)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-03-2006, 09:15 PM   #1
Yadiel
Rookie
 
Yadiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 60
need some help with model(just some doubts)

ok ok, hope someone can help me here.

Well first i'll tell u what im trying to do; Im doing a space hero unit, I already have the model, skins, the meshgloss.fx and the BlobStencilMasked.fx (im still looking for the falcon engine effect, cause im going to use it).

Ok now my doubt is how many models do I have to do???
I've been looking in the meg files, and found this(my unit is going to be something like the falcon thats why i took those as an example):

rv_mfalcon.alo
rv_mfalcon_backwards_d.alo
rv_mfalcon_backwards.alo
rv_mfalcon_d.alo
rv_mfalcon_land.alo

I don't really understand what are all those models, are those only different camera views,front and back, destroyed front and destroyed back??

What about animations, I only found the ala for landing, what about the turns and rest of the movements?

Last question, I read somewhere that i should save my model's skin in a dds format, is that right???? i've always used .tga extention (if i have to use the .dds then how do i make 3dsm read them =( i't totally lost here)

I'm a real noob with this, hope someone could help me.

thx in advance.
Yadiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-04-2006, 12:05 PM   #2
hiho_boy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: carpinteria
Posts: 20
1st of all
the falcon engine effect is an alamo proxy object.. Dont remember which name it is.. its problably PE_FALCONENGINES

How many models..
only 1 model
the other ones are problably for missions when the falcon is on the ground at all times..
Animations..
Only landing
all other motions in space are done via its speed and space locomotor behavior
model skin can be either DDS or TGA
I would recommend DDS .. get ALL the DDS tools from nvidia's site.. and 3ds reads it as well.. they have all the plug ins necicary



Edit
I gotta recheck the engines later but im guessing its an array of a few enines rather than one long one..



RoR Modeler skinner and coder
www.swgbex.com = EaW mod tutorials.. more comming soon :P
Total Realism mod Lead Modeler/animator
"-Modding God-"
hiho_boy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-04-2006, 04:57 PM   #3
Yadiel
Rookie
 
Yadiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 60
I tried with the PE_Lambdashutle, linked it to a bone and everything, but i see nothing =(
well my mayor problem now is that when i drag the material with the mesh_gloss over my model and export it to alo format, and then open it with the aloviewer .03 there's my model but without skin =(

im useing the .fxo (i have the 3dsm 8) insted the .fx or .fxh.

Any idea on why i can't see my model's skin??
Yadiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-05-2006, 09:37 AM   #4
hiho_boy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: carpinteria
Posts: 20
Is the skin in gamedata/data/art/textures/ ?



RoR Modeler skinner and coder
www.swgbex.com = EaW mod tutorials.. more comming soon :P
Total Realism mod Lead Modeler/animator
"-Modding God-"
hiho_boy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-05-2006, 11:14 AM   #5
Yadiel
Rookie
 
Yadiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 60
this is what im doing (resolution is horrible, sowy did this at 3 am =()
http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/3...missing8qb.gif

im useing the .fxo instead the .fx or .fxh, may be this is my problem, but i have no idea how to use the .fxo with the .fx, tryied just changeint the include in the .fx but then my 3d studio crashed =(. useing version 8

this is what i have as a final result =(

http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/772/viewer8ya.gif

help pls =(

and any ideas on how to do the MFalcon engines??

i followed this tutorials www.swgbex.com
Yadiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-05-2006, 01:02 PM   #6
Yadiel
Rookie
 
Yadiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 60
ok i solved this, now i just need to figure how to make the backwards models and how to add the shadow mesh.
Yadiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > need some help with model(just some doubts)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:39 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.